We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lake House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lake House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Lake House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 151: English reviews
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Travelling to see the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame and never hav ing been in the area we do the usual, check out TripAdvisor for restaurants in the area. When we got to the first one it was closed (on a saturday night) the second one wasn't much to look at but we had sighted a sign saying "Lake...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rick A
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

What a terrific review. You covered virtually every aspect of what we think a customer should be evaluating when choosing a business such as ours. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again

Albany, New York
Reviewed 19 July 2016

We phoned in a sandwich order from out on the lake this past Sunday. We arrived at their dock and walked the grounds up to the back deck and restaurant. It was very easy. We ate sandwiches on the boat. They put in ketchup for the fries and napkins without asking. All of the sandwiches were tasty and fresh, even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I would like to extend on behalf of our entire organization our gratitude for your continued patronage. Your comments regarding our business is most appreciated. We are thrilled that you feel led to share your comments with fellow consumers. Thank you.

Reviewed 9 July 2016

The Lake House and grounds are very well kept and deserve all the accolades that it has received. Cooperstown, NY may be home to the baseball hall of fame, but the Lake House has been there for many, many years and deserves recognition as a jewel in the quaint NY village of Richfield Springs only a few miles away on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ryan c
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I see that you visited our business last week. We appreciate your conveying thoughts with fellow consumers who hopefully might be our future satisfied customers as well. As you probably realize, consumer reviews are the number one determinant for influencing other consumers. Thanks and thanks again for your patronage.

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Please read the negative reviews closely as they mimic our awful experience to a T. - Greeted with owner who said "are you sure you're supposed to be in this hotel?" Entryway is cluttered and there were 2 cats and a dog wandering around. This leads directly into the restaurant; completely unsanitary. It stank of litter box and was only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Katrina S
New York
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The Reuben sandwich was very good. The coleslaw was some of the best I've had. The staff were very, very accommodating to our special, gluten-quests A good selection of beers on teal and specialty brands in the bottle. Good music played as we sat on the deck.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank W
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking some of your valuable time to provide fellow consumers with your rich perspective. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Manlius, New York
Reviewed 12 April 2016

Great place if traveling with pets. The owner was very nice and helpful in directing us to restaurants and other amenities in Cooperstown. Great place in the country to stay while visiting Cooperstown. Overall, we got a great room at a great price and dealt with great people.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank erie c
Cooperstown, New York
Reviewed 9 March 2016 via mobile

Well let's start with the " office seems to be the same as the entrance to the restaurant. But it is so popular around here and the food isn't cheap. Quite often they have live music. So I needed a room and got one for $60. But it smelled since the restaurant is below. It was hot in February in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patriciafurlan
Virginia
Reviewed 6 March 2016

If I could give this place negative stars, I would. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL! The place is filthy, our sheets were dirty (blood & cat urine), shower didn't work, toilet was broken, no hot water, several things in the room were broken. It should be named Misery Hotel. We left and found a different hotel for the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CAGirlInVA
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were disappointed but also shocked by your comments. Are you sure you were at our place? We have a lovely place that people enjoy. Your comments are untrue.

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 21 November 2015

What a wonderful getaway for our whole family! Your lodge was the perfect setting for a perfect holiday week and things simply could not have been better. We enjoyed the rowboats and canoes at the lake house, the Baseball Hall of Fame, Leatherstocking golf course, Farmer's Museum, Main Street in Cooperstown, and Hall of Fame. This was a terrific investment...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank moonlightforge
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting with us. It is always pleasing when our customers elect to write a review so our future customers can see what we are all about… thank you. We appreciate your comments about our pricing, service and products.

Reviewed 6 November 2015

Our family of 6 really enjoyed our one-week stay here. As grandparents we had our own room at the Lake House that was very comfortable. Everything was as advertised-clean,neat and functional and reasonably priced. We ate many of our meals in the restaurant as we did not go to all the games at Dreamspark and had more time to ourselves....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Angus C
Christine C, Owner at The Lake House, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting us. It's always nice to learn that we have exceeded expectations and especially on such an important occasion as was your event. We never lose sight that you, as all consumers, especially now due to the wonders of the web, have a range of options available to them when seeking out a business to meet your...

223 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
0:47
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (64)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richfield Springs
20.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
15.4 km away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
276 reviews
20.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Baseball Hotel
The Baseball Hotel
#1 of 4 in Richfield Springs
36 reviews
9.0 km away
B&B Ranch
B&B Ranch
#1 of 2 in Fly Creek
63 reviews
8.4 km away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Lake House Restaurant and Lodge was built in 1843 and rests on the shores of Canadarago. The lodge and restaurant are a secluded haven for those looking for a place to relax, fish, hunt, and simply get away from city life. Lake House Restaurant and Lodge is host to our ever popular sulfur baths, which is great for your skin and has even proven to heal skin disorders and help relieve arthritis. There is plenty to do out here Richfield Springs, including a short drive to the Baseball Hall of Fame, Cooperstown, or rent out a jet ski and explore Canadarago Lake. We also boast large out seating area, which is perfect for outdoor wedding or concerts. Hurry out to Lake House Restaurant and Lodge and stay awhile. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lake House

Address: 2521 County Highway 22, On Lake Street, Richfield Springs, NY 13439-2723
Region: United States > New York > Richfield Springs
Price Range: RM612 - RM968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Lake House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lake House Hotel Richfield Springs
The Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel Richfield Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Lake House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Easy, pleasant check in.”
388theresaq, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“we didn't stay there only ate”
BethC915, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“None that I could see”
pasrts4046, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The place sucks”
T7075YWdanielo, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the water will enjoy spectacular sunsets over the water and hills!”
ricka279, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5