We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Mainstay Inn

    579 Hill St, Southampton, NY 11968-5305
    Hotel website
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    30/07/2017 31/07/2017
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in SouthamptonSee available hotels in Southampton
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Southampton Inn
    295 reviews
    #3 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    A Butler's Manor
    377 reviews
    #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
     
    The Hamlet Inn
    66 reviews
    #2 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    Southampton Long Island Hotel
    93 reviews
    #5 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    Overview
    • Excellent65%
    • Very good18%
    • Average6%
    • Poor6%
    • Terrible5%
    Travellers talk about
    “b b” (37 reviews)
    “live in nyc” (2 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Beachfront
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Suites
    Restaurant
    All hotel details
    Offers from Mainstay Inn
    Special Price: 10% of midwk 3 night book
    Southampton Inn
    295 reviews
    #3 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    A Butler's Manor
    377 reviews
    #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
     
    The Hamlet Inn
    66 reviews
    #2 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    Southampton Long Island Hotel
    93 reviews
    #5 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    {"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
    Write a Review
    Reviews (96)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 96 reviews

    Innkeeper's Favourite Review
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    I have been going to the Hamptons for many years so I know the area well. I love Southampton for many reasons. I discovered mainstay last summer, lucky me. I called Elizabeth, she had 1 room available from a last minute cancel; she said "come...More

    Thank Carolyn R
    Response from ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay InnResponded 1 week ago

    Carolyn, it is always wonderful having you stay. See you soon, thank you for the review. Elizabeth Mainstay Southampton NY

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Elizabeth was great to deal with leading up to the reservation. My team was out there for work and we needed a place to rest and relax while we were not working. Beautiful home with lots of space. Great kitchen, and great back yard to...More

    Thank Kevin M
    Response from ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay InnResponded 1 week ago

    Kevin, your always welcomed back! Thanks for the review. ELizabeth

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    This place is on a very road with traffic at all hours going by. The lighting was super faint so you felt like you were in a haunted house. We stayed here with a work trip and all of us decide on night 2 to...More

    Thank Real_Travel_Gatos
    Response from ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay InnResponded 1 week ago

    We are so sorry you were not happy, the house is very old and we like to think of it as charming but it is not for everyone. Elizabeth

    Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

    Room smelled like mildew. Grungy. Not worth it. Much better options available in Southampton. After deciding inhaling mold spores all night was not a good idea, we moved and were so much happier. Don't waste your time and money here unless smells don't bother you.

    Thank zeenabean
    Response from ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay InnResponded 27 August 2016

    We are very sorry that you had an unfortunate stay. This has been a very hot and humid summer and sometimes the humidity just gets the best of us and makes everything unpleasant. Elizabeth Owner

    Reviewed 15 May 2016

    I am a seasoned traveler who loves staying in B&B's. Mainstay is one of my favorites since I live in NYC and it's an easy trip door to door. Elizabeth, the proprietor, is warm, friendly and welcoming. The rooms are uniquely appointed and speak of...More

    Thank kathymorano
    Response from ElizabethMain, Owner at Mainstay InnResponded 16 May 2016

    Kathy, it has always been more than a pleasure to have you stay here at The Mainstay, over the years you have added delight to the breakfast table with your wonderful stories of life in NYC. Please come again soon and jump in the saltwater...More

    Southampton Inn
    295 reviews
    #3 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    A Butler's Manor
    377 reviews
    #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
     
    The Hamlet Inn
    66 reviews
    #2 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    Southampton Long Island Hotel
    93 reviews
    #5 of 8 hotels in Southampton
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Pool
    • Breakfast included
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Breakfast Available
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$175 - US$625 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Location
    • United States >
    • New York >
    • Long Island >
    • Hamptons >
    • Southampton
    • Also Known As
    • Mainstay Inn Southampton, NY - Long Island
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (22)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Pool & Beach (4)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (11)
    Bathroom (3)
    Nearby
    Southampton Inn
    295 reviews
    1.55 km away
     
    Easterner Motel
    64 reviews
    5.54 km away
     
    Southampton Village Motel
    89 reviews
    2.89 km away
     
    The Atlantic
    106 reviews
    3.63 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Plaza Cafe
    116 reviews
    1.59 km away
    Goldberg's Famous Bagels
    30 reviews
    1.33 km away
    Cafe Crust
    29 reviews
    1.34 km away
    Enramada Restaurant
    10 reviews
    1.34 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Cooper's Beach
    260 reviews
    2.42 km away
    Southampton Historical Museum
    23 reviews
    2.13 km away
    Southampton Arts Center
    13 reviews
    1.92 km away
    The Thomas Halsey Homestead
    7 reviews
    2.28 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    C S
    23 December 2014|
    Answer
    Response from ElizabethMain | Property representative |
    THere are not lodging situtations on the ocean here, the only thing I would suggest is Gurneys Resort in Montauk, that would certainly fill the bill. Good luck. Elizabeth Mainstay SOuthampton NY
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "All of the rooms are beautiful. Just depends on how many beds you need..."
    Read review
    "The larger suite on the ground floor."
    Read review
    "Elizbeth serves a wonderful breakfast!"
    Read review
    "Gins room is a large beautiful suite. There is also a sun room at the first floor with entrance to the garden..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing