We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Genesee Grande Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Genesee Grande Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

404 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 400: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here for several medicine conferences now and they always feed us well and have flawless AV so we can focus on the material without distraction. The staff is very attentive. I went up for desert and my lunch plate was gone when I got back. Always plenty of water and comfortable space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Rusty, Its so nice to hear from our guests that attend in-house conferences, we are so glad to have you back each & every time you stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty & so happy to hear you enjoy our in-house dining as well.

New England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel has a lavish lobby, but the hotel itrself is something else. My room (in the older of the two buildings) was certainly spacious, with a separate section with a work table and lots of floor space. But it was dingy and dilapidated otherwise. Not dirty exactly — the housekeeping seems fine — but full of nicked and rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akademik2
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Akademik2, So sorry to hear about your experience while staying as our guest. I would very much like to chat with you more about the issues you faced so I can look into correcting the issues. This is not the impression we hoped you left the hotel with, again we are very sorry and would like to make it right....

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, beautiful lobby/check in area and a very good exercise room! My one complaint was the furnace/heater in my room. It was very loud every time it cycled on. I was awoke from my sleep several times due to the series of heavy clunks and the loud vibration sound of the heat. I did mention it to the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Paul for bringing this issue to our attention, we would like to offer you our apologies for this inconvenience and would like to ensure you that your comments will be documented & resolved promptly. If you have a moment I would like to speak with you personally about these issues if you could please call me or e-mail...

Long Island, NY
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Stayed here for Parents Weekend. This is the sister hotel of the Hotel Skyler. However, the two hotels are so different its hard to believe there owned and/or managed by the same company. While the Hotel Skyler has a modern ambiance, this hotel is much older and its rooms are starting to show its age. Unlike Hotel Skyler, this is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank idanaLongIsland_NY
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

IdanaLongIsland_NY, Very sorry Genesee Grande didn't live up to your expectations compared to Hotel Skyler. We will take your comments under consideration for future updates to the hotel. We also have another hotel a few more blocks away called Parkview Hotel that has similar amenities to Hotel Skyler. Although you may not think so we have several guests that walk...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 October 2016

If you don't mind, no valet for cars, no water in the room, no in room movies, inefficient room service,hard pillows, worn sheets (not soft to touch) then this is place for you. Most rooms over look a parking lot.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank panoramicview2015
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

panoramicview2015, We are deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, unfortunately there is not much to offer in downtown Syracuse in terms of hotel room views apart from other buildings & parking lots. We do have several hotel perks you may not have been aware of like complimentary shuttle service, valet service upon request, complimentary Wi-Fi, large...

Albany, New York
Reviewed 26 October 2016

I had stayed here for a business trip lasting one week. The hotel looks great, and seems classy. The 1060 restaurant is nice, staff are friendly and the food is delicious. However, almost every item on the menu is $20 or more for a single entree. There are multiple restaurants within walking distance with similar quality for far less money....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dbx389
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

dbx389, As we are happy you were pleased with our service at the hotel & restaurant we are also sad that you experienced issues with the TV and bed, especially since it had such an impact on you even after you left Syracuse. If you feel up to discussing this further with me I would welcome a chat with you...

Luray, Virginia
Reviewed 21 October 2016

I love staying in downtown Syracuse. Easy walks, great restaurants nearby, and this gem of a hotel. Beautiful public spaces/entry, attentive staff, and comfortable, clean room with the little details that matter--precise thermostat, comfy pillows and duvet, heavy glasses, and lux towels.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cathy20162016
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Cathy20162016, Thank you so much for the amazing review, we are very appreciative that you choice us during your stay in Syracuse & enjoyed everything we had to offer. We sincerely hope you visit us again upon your next trip to town. We recommend you to sign up for our complimentary loyalty rewards program with Stash Rewards were you can...

Union, Kentucky
Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for business trip. Room was very small with no desk but at least it was clean. Dined at hotel restaurant night 2. Food was awful but bartender was friendly and helpful. Ordered the chicken Chardonnay which was extremely tough and bland. Bartender took it back and let me try the lake trout. It was even worse but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miksaint
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

miksaint, We are deeply sorry for everything during your 2 day stay with us in Syracuse. We would like to offer you our apologies for these inconveniences. If you have a moment I would like to speak with you personally about these issues if you could please call me or e-mail me at your earliest convenience. I don't want this...

Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Great location, very close to college and stadium. Right off the highway, very convenient. Few things I didn't like or very inconvenient since i was traveling for work, very poor WiFi service. Later I found out,all the corner room has same issues, even though I informed that I am here for business. No coffee maker, refrigerator and microwave--- even cheap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Md R
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Md R, We are so sorry to hear about our service failure during your trip to Syracuse. We would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, we would like to offer you our apologies for this inconvenience. We appreciate the 4 stars despite the lack of service during your stay, If you have a moment I...

Centreville, Virginia
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I am really torn between 3 and 4 stars. The front desk staff was terrific but there was one day when we had no maid service. The lobby and public areas were nicely decorated but the room itself, while clean and comfortable, had fraying bedspreads, ripped shower curtains, and a very dated feel. There was a kitchen in our unit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5Psi
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

5Psi, We are so glad you enjoyed our front desk service and general amenities, however disheartened to hear about the dated feeling regarding in room décor. I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to our attention, we would like to offer you our deepest apologies for this inconvenience. If you have a moment I would like to...

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
487 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#4 of 31 in Syracuse
342 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
419 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
1.3 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
#10 of 31 in Syracuse
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: RM396 - RM991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go the Sheraton”
 of 5 bubbles panoramicview2015, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, you can hear all of your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles dbx389, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building so you don't have to walk across driveway breezeway”
 of 5 bubbles jefflikestravel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make friends with the staff, they will take great care of you!”
 of 5 bubbles amyjP9151ZT, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are two buildings - Mayflower and Genessee. The Mayflower is tall and may require a longer wait for an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cherrymoon72, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay