We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Genesee Grande Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Genesee Grande Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 406: English reviews
Start your review of The Genesee Grande Hotel
 Click to rate
Syracuse, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed overnight after an event downtown. The bed was so amazing I didn't want to leave. Staff is attentive and friendly. The room was clean and so were common spaces. There is a wonderful shuttle service and hotel restaurant is amazing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate1074
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

kate1074, That is so wonderful to hear that you had had a great experience with us, and even better than that great sleep on top of that. We appreciate the great review and your business. Hope to see you back again soon.

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at The Genesee Grande for a business meeting that was held on the premises. Even though it's an older hotel everything about it is classic but with modern amenities. The room was clean and comfortable. The business meeting room were bright and met our needs quite well. Food was very good (arranged for the group) and the service was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCFHBG
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

LCFHBG. TRULY OUTSTANDING! So glad our staff made you feel welcome and accommodated in every sense of the word. Its great that everything went so well with the business meeting. We appreciate your kind review and your business, hope to see you again in the near future.

New Jersey
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

This is a great hotel located just a few blocks from campus and on a nice day very walkable. Parking is ample and service is excellent. Some rooms are more updated and spacious so aim for an upgrade. Restaurant is very good and there is a nice coffee/breakfast bar off the lobby. Will definitely repeat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nfenne
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

nfenne, Love the review, thank you so much. We can't wait to have you back again, if you haven't signed up yet please look into enrolling in our free loyalty rewards program with Stash Rewards. It rewards our loyal guests with points to redeem at similar unique hotels throughout the country.

The Bay Area
Reviewed 13 January 2017

My experience with the hotel, while brief, was very good. The room was in the building across the street - unfortunately, I was given a 2nd floor room without view (which in my system takes off at least a star). The room was spacious, i liked the feel of the furniture which took me back to the days of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cuckatoo
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

cockatoo, We would like to thank you for the fantastic review, Although you discounted a star from the review based on view we still perceive this as a terrific review considering the city of Syracuse doesn't have much to offer in the terms of scenery nearby. Sounds like you had an amazing time at our restaurant 1060. We certainly appreciate...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I was searching for a hotel in the downtown Syracuse area because my business will bring me there often in the future. I booked the room via HotelsOne.com which supposedly offered a price guarantee if I could find a lower price for this hotel. I found a much lower listed price the day after I booked..... they refused to adjust...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BfloJack
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

BfloJack, We apologize for your experience booking with us through a 3rd party, had you booked directly with us you would have avoided all of this mess. When booking with a 3rd party nothing is guaranteed including the room type; which is the reason they are sold cheaper than booking directly with the hotel. Unfortunately we have no control over...

Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Came into town for a wedding at the hotel and while I'm pleased for the newlyweds, the room I was given seems like a room the Best Western may offer. Wallpaper is starting to peel, the bath tub is probably from 1972 and the room itself is a little small. While I appreciate the history of the building, $150/night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason Michael M
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Jason, So sorry you left with a bad impression of us, we wish we heard about these issues when you checked in so we had an opportunity to look into them and take action towards a resolution that would have benefited all parties involved. If you would like to discuss the matter further I will leave my contact information below....

Reviewed 10 December 2016

We had high expectations of this supposed 4 star hotel. The lobby was inviting and plush and the check in was smooth. Our room was in the "other" building. The heater shot out a burst of cold air before warming and rattled all the time it was on. Room was spacious with somewhat dated furniture. The hair dryer didn't work....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cahill m
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Cahill m, We are very sorry to hear about your experience with us being awoken by the random fire alarm and loud heater. I would like to speak with you in further detail about your experience with us if you have time to chat with me please contact me, I will leave my contact information below. Nick Krenn Front Desk...

Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

I have been here for several medicine conferences now and they always feed us well and have flawless AV so we can focus on the material without distraction. The staff is very attentive. I went up for desert and my lunch plate was gone when I got back. Always plenty of water and comfortable space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rusty R
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Rusty, Its so nice to hear from our guests that attend in-house conferences, we are so glad to have you back each & every time you stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty & so happy to hear you enjoy our in-house dining as well.

New England
Reviewed 13 November 2016

The hotel has a lavish lobby, but the hotel itrself is something else. My room (in the older of the two buildings) was certainly spacious, with a separate section with a work table and lots of floor space. But it was dingy and dilapidated otherwise. Not dirty exactly — the housekeeping seems fine — but full of nicked and rickety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akademik2
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Akademik2, So sorry to hear about your experience while staying as our guest. I would very much like to chat with you more about the issues you faced so I can look into correcting the issues. This is not the impression we hoped you left the hotel with, again we are very sorry and would like to make it right....

Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, beautiful lobby/check in area and a very good exercise room! My one complaint was the furnace/heater in my room. It was very loud every time it cycled on. I was awoke from my sleep several times due to the series of heavy clunks and the loud vibration sound of the heat. I did mention it to the desk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul S
WoodbineManager, Front Office Manager at The Genesee Grande Hotel, responded to this review

Thank You Paul for bringing this issue to our attention, we would like to offer you our apologies for this inconvenience and would like to ensure you that your comments will be documented & resolved promptly. If you have a moment I would like to speak with you personally about these issues if you could please call me or e-mail...

117 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (96)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 km away
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#2 of 31 in Syracuse
500 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Syracuse Erie Blvd/I-690
1.5 km away
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
Jefferson Clinton Hotel
#3 of 31 in Syracuse
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Skyler
Hotel Skyler
#5 of 31 in Syracuse
349 reviews
0.5 km away
Sheraton Syracuse University Hotel & Conference Center
1.3 km away
Marriott Syracuse Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about The Genesee Grande Hotel

Address: 1060 E Genesee St, Syracuse, NY 13210-1809
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Syracuse
Price Range: RM576 - RM988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Genesee Grande Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Genesee Grande Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Syracuse
Genesee Grande Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Natick, Massachusetts
20 hours ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Genesee Grande Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go the Sheraton”
 of 5 bubbles panoramicview2015, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Walls are thin, you can hear all of your neighbors.”
 of 5 bubbles dbx389, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room in main building so you don't have to walk across driveway breezeway”
 of 5 bubbles jefflikestravel, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make friends with the staff, they will take great care of you!”
 of 5 bubbles AmyK2716, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“There are two buildings - Mayflower and Genessee. The Mayflower is tall and may require a longer wait for an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles cherrymoon72, 20 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5