We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trumansburg
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We stayed at Black Walnut for a wedding in the Finger Lakes. Jack, the innkeeper, really makes the stay at Black Walnut. From his delicious breakfasts, to the local wine he offered, to the brownies and apples kept in the kitchen (he even sent some with us when we left), he really made our trip! We stayed in the Blue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a pleasure hosting the two of you as you attended a local wedding. Thank you much for your very sweet review!

Greenfield
Reviewed 8 July 2016

Black Walnut is a great historic farmhouse and Jack, the Innkeeper, pays attention to detail and provides those extra touches that you don't get in other B&B's. It is centrally located and convenient to both Seneca and Cayuga lakes and wineries. We loved it and will probably stay again the next time we are in the Finger Lakes region.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L S
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your thoughtful review; I appreciate it!

Bangor, Maine
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I enjoyed my stay at the Black Walnut very much. I was traveling on my own this trip and I felt very safe. The room was comfortable and the meals were excellent. Jack is a great host and an excellent cook. Having him provide a glass of wine and some delicious brownies at the end of the day was unusual...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie M
Old Forge, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Paul and I enjoyed everything about our stay at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast. Jack was so very cordial ensuring that we felt so at home. His breakfast's were outstanding as were his brownies!!!!! Our room accommodations were perfect as well. Paul and I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfast's, Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast is definitely one we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pinkeagles1952
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review; I really appreciate it! Looking forward to seeing you both again soon....maybe a birthday trip? :)

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 11 June 2016

My husband and I recently stayed for three nights, along with another couple, at Black Walnut B&B. The old house, with its idiosyncrasies (such as the occasional slant in the floor) has been wonderfully converted to a B&B, It is simply a lovely place to stay. Jack, our host, made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, and he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
mrizmir, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks to you for your thoughtful review! It was such a pleasure hosting the 4 of you, and I hope you'll have an opportunity to visit again one day :).

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 27 May 2016

I'm not a big B&B user as I find I am oft disappointed in the value of staying in one. Jack and the Black Walnut B&B changed that for me. Wish I had more than one night to stay - it was so great. Jack was a host way before we arrived for our one night stay. He gave trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a sincere pleasure hosting you two on your journey around upstate New York. As you now know, a one night stay in our area barely covers all there is to see and do. I appreciate you choosing the Black Walnut; thanks very much, and please come back!

Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were in the Finger Lakes for a wine tasting weekend with 3 other couples, and we had the place to ourselves. Jack had no problem with us sitting around in our jammies drinking wine and eating his delicious brownies! Breakfasts were a real treat! We'll definitely go back next time we're in the area!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

I enjoy having groups that book every room of the inn; it makes for a very fun weekend for all! Thank you so much for choosing the Black Walnut for your stay!

NJ, United States
Reviewed 10 May 2016

And friendly owner! And the trip advisor asks for at least 200 characters, so here are some more words: Aasdfsadf, asdfasd sadfa sadfasdfasd; asdfasdfas! Sfdfasdf, asdfasf asdfa asdfasdfasdfasd asdfasf.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Turan B
Westmont
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The Black Walnut B&B is one of those places you want to tell everyone about because it is so awesome but not tell anyone so you can save it for yourself. The location was perfect. Close to many attractions on the Cayuga and Seneca Lakes. The atmosphere was casual and welcoming. Jack was knowledgeable, friendly and caring and really does...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leepin309
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

It was a delight hosting your party of 3 on your Mother's Day holiday! Thank you for your thoughtful review; we'll make sure to have French Toast on the menu for your next visit!

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Jack couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Went with 3 other couples so we had the entire house to ourselves. Excellent hot breakfast. Clean rooms & comfy beds. Coffee maker & flat screen tv's in each room. Jack also made great recommendations for dinner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MrIzmir14847, Owner at Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review. We love it when a group books the entire B&B; makes it feel like home! We certainly hope you'll keep us in mind for future trips to our area.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trumansburg
19.8 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Ithaca
26.5 km away
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
Watkins Glen Harbor Hotel
#1 of 9 in Watkins Glen
1,162 reviews
14.7 km away
The Fox and the Grapes Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
Inn at Taughannock
Inn at Taughannock
#5 of 9 in Trumansburg
78 reviews
24.3 km away
La Tourelle Hotel, Bistro, Spa
20.1 km away
The Savannah House Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4278 E Covert Rd, Trumansburg, NY 14847-9719
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Trumansburg
Price Range: RM492 - RM706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Black Walnut Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only know the smallest room (Keuka) - tiny, but well-appointed. Great for one, pretty cozy for two.”
exner2016, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in the Blue Moon suite-beauitful room and bath”
mudleyanne, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms were basically the same, some were just bigger.”
sallyd496, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Open the skylights on a clear night and go to sleep with the constalations. Room was impeccably clean, with just enough creaking and tilting that you would expect from an over 200 year old story.”
jeff-n-dar, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We did leave a tip for the housekeeper.”
LS878, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5