We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Hotels.comUS$254*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$266*
US$254*
Great Deal
US$265*
US$266*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,680: English reviews
Phoenix
Reviewed 1 week ago

Warm and friendly welcome and all the smiling faces ensured a sweet and lovely first impression. Y. promptly facilitated my check in and took care of the car park and the luggage. Tidy and stylish room. Excellent amenities and great animations (aquagym was so fun). Food was exquisite with excellent service for lunch and dinner. The Jacuzzi was so enjoyable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank asarfaraz2017
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear asarfaraz2017, thank you veru much for your review on tripadvisor. We are proud to hear that you had magic stay with us and as you said, biggest pride comes from our little once as they are always right :-) Looking forward to welcome you all back soon Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have traveled to many destinations in the world, one of the most memorable destination will be Mauritius. It's not just the beautiful beaches, lovely hotel but amazing, warm, friendly people of the hotel which has made our holiday so special. Each and everyone of them, have welcomed us with open arms, their hospitality, service with smile. Starting with Varsha at...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vickygor
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear vickygor, thanks a lot for your stay with us and we are very happy to hear that you fully enjoyed your 28th wedding anniversary with us and every aspect of your stay. Will be looking forward to welcome you back maybe next year? Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed at Intercontinental Resort alongwith my husband and one year old baby. We were there for only one night. Unfortunately things turned sour for us as my baby fell on the stairs in the family room. My advice to the management. Please make your rooms especially family rooms more baby friendly. It is absolutely not safe for couples with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zashaba
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Zashaba, thank you very much for your feedback and I am deeply sorry for any inconvenience you may had with your one year old baby while staying with us. Please be informed that we are well know as one of the best choices on the island, when it come to family travel with our 40 family rooms. All these...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at the Intercontinental in March 2017. We were on a babymoon and due to last minute booking did not have many options of where to stay. The Intercontinental was not our first choice due to the range of reviews on here so we were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel and its amenities when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Muna K
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Muna K, thank you very much for sharing your recent stay experience on social media. We are pleased to hear that despite some reluctance prior booking, we made your stay comfortable and you are recommending our resort to fellow travelers. Yours sincerely Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have not had a very pleasant experience so far. Just spent 10 days at Beachcomber Victoria. Compared to that this stay is really very poor. Food, cleanliness, foul odors and many more was completely below par.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Johan, as per your interaction yesterday with our Front office team, we had rectified your complaint on drain blocked and leakage in bathroom. Last night our engineering team unblocked drain ( shower cap inside ) and replaced toilet shower to new one. Thank you for your patience and hope you will have nice rest of stay with us. Yours...

Ludhiana, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Best hotel to visit Mauritius .... helping staff and such safe place ... my i phone got misplaced due to my own carelessness near beach but they kept it safely in security and handed over mee back ... thnkeww so much for giving us wonderful experience of life our love life started from your place�beautiful place with beautiful people... next...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jainpooja840
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear jainpooja840, thank you very much for sharing feedback from recent stay. We are thrilled to hear that you had fantastic stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you back soon Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went for a weekend at the hotel. Very warm welcome by the staff. Comfortable and spacious room. Nice front view of the sea. Dedicated staff everywhere. Special thanks to Mrs Laura and Miss Nouraina who attended to our every single requests. Food was very nice,large varieties. Special corner for Asian cuisine Would surely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roubina D
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear Roubina D, thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you had a great family time with us. Looking forward to welcome you back soon Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

very nice stay at the hotel. All the personnel are nice and very customer oriented. Great variety of food. The kids club is awesome, the 2 ladies over there are pros. They know how to handle kids. However, only one hiccup was at the boat house. The life jackets need to be renewed. Most of them could not be tied...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nazgul5
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear nazgul5, thank you very much for your nice comments about recent stay. We are proud to hear that you enjoyed food and team service as well as our kids club Planet Trekkers. Thank you very much for your constructive feedback about boat house and I will share this with our Recreation Manager to look for corrections and changes to...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms are nice, service friendly, but food is below standard of such a hotel. Buffet is not special, and bartenders don't know how to make a Bloody Mary??? What the? Beachfront is not the equal of other Mauritian resorts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bizcoach27
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear bizcoach27, thank you for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and service provided by my colleagues. I also already to informed our F&B Manager in regards to your comments of buffet food and Bloody Mary cocktail. Yours sincerely Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

Cookham Dean, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit here and what a pleasant surprise. Simply the most attentive and kind staff ever. Management team of Herbs, Wesley and Nitin absolutely superb - nothing too much trouble and constantly around for their teams I would highly recommend this place. Beach and pool cared for excellently, choice of 4 restaurants, water activities and spa also available. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnothER32
Mauritius_intercon, Director of Sales at InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort, responded to this review

Dear AnothER32, thank you very much for sharing your feedback on tripadvisor as first visitors. It is very rewarding to our entire team to hear such a good comments on your recent experience. We do hope that you will be able to come back soon Jiri Benes Director of Sales & Marketing

3,277 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2525)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (578)
Viewed
View from Room (116)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (493)
Viewed
Dining (143)
Viewed
Room/Suite (314)
Viewed
Bathroom (63)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (803)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (458)
Viewed
Amenities (57)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (68)
Viewed
Family Room (60)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Room (59)
Viewed
Pool (16)
Viewed
Presidential Suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (50)
Viewed
South Pool (11)
Viewed
The Hotel (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (294)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (121)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (67)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
2.8 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,895 reviews
27.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#5 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,284 reviews
1.6 km away
The Ravenala Attitude
The Ravenala Attitude
#4 of 5 in Balaclava
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,399 reviews
1.1 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
1.3 km away
Angsana Balaclava Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort is located on one of the most pristine stretches of beach overlooking Balaclava, Mauritius. Offering 210 well-appointed rooms including 10 presidential suites, 40 family-type, 20 Jacuzzi rooms, 20 Executive rooms with free WiFi and 120 standard rooms. Facilities include: 3 bars, 5 restaurants, 2 swimming pools including one heated pool, 8 massage rooms, a unique private island, Planet Trekkers kids club, recreational activities, tennis court, 4 meeting rooms & 1 ballroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort

Address: Balaclava Fort, Coastal Rd, Balaclava, Mauritius
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: RM867 - RM1,991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Mauritius Resort, Balaclava Fort Hotel Balaclava
Intercontinental Hotel Mauritius
Intercontinental Hotel Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Family Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#5 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and other travellers.
125 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (125)

Questions? Get answers from InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The jacuzzi suite was as good as any in the Maldives”
vickimB4722MJ, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are no lifts. Ground floor rooms are best for families and guests with restricted mobility. Jacuzzi suites are great”
derekh532, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“sea facing rooms are the best”
vickygor, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“look for rooms which are close to all the facilities”
nazgul5, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ground floor rooms are preferable”
vishal1700, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$254* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$265
Expedia.comUS$266
InterContinentalUS$266
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates