We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ravenala Attitude

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ravenala Attitude
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

875 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 548: English reviews
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

3 of us stayed here for 3 days all inclusive in jan 2017. This hotel is set on beautiful grounds but is massive. There were no lifts to get our luggage between floors so we had to carry them up the stairs which is fine if you are able bodied but not so good if you are not. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thehappycouple346
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Everything worked out how it should!Rooms were clean and tidy. Food was tasty and there was a lot of choises. Loved J-Tabas' streetfood at lunchtime! Special thanks to paying attention for the childrens activities and food. There is nice pool and playground for the children. Hotel has also great gym with good air-condition! I recommend couch Jesson's abs-class!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoHie
Management response:

Good morning, Thanks for your kind review of the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your holidays and appreciated the facilities of the fitness centre, kids club, rooms and restaurant. I appreciate your recommendation on Jesson - Thank you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you for your next holidays where we can propose another restaurant this...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We have just returned from an all inclusive family holiday to celebrate our daughter's 40th birthday from 1-10 January. We were a family of 10 comprising 6 adults and 4 children aged 9, 2 six year olds and one just under 3 years old. The hotel is very well presented with lots of beautiful areas to relax and enjoy the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PBHorsham
Management response:

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Horsham, Thank you for this glowing review of your recent stay at the resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and appreciate your kind comments about the hotel layout, the kids club and sport activities. The Family Members wanted to ensure that the birthday party of your daughter is a success...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My partner and I came here in November 2016! There was a few minor flaws such as dirty table cloths, cold food but the staff couldn't do enough to rectify anything wrong. The staff were absolutely brilliant! There was a waiter on the beach who was absolutely fantastic! He would always make sure we had a drink! The water sports...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abbie J
Management response:

Dear Abbie, Thank you for these heartwarming comments about your recent holidays at the resort. We were glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially the welcoming of our Family Members, service at the bar and water sports. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the Thai cuisine and you must certainly come back this year to enjoy the...

Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed at Ravenala for 9 nights in September. On arrival to the resort we were greeted with a welcome drink and cool towel and the check in process was smooth. Our room was spacious and had a beautiful sea view. We ate dinner in the buffet restaurant on the first night and there was a good selection of international...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily K
Management response:

Dear Emily, Thank you for this glowing review of your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay, especially the hotel design and its fantastic views, as well as the Otentik Mauritian food and the selection of sushi. The Family Members were all delighted to assist you during your holidays. Thank you for your recommendations which are greatly...

Odense, Denmark
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As holidays go this was one of our best. From checking in to leaving the staff could not do enough for you. Amazing foods and drink for xmas & new year and was quiet taken with the pool disco. Day to day was great, Ashvin would sort us out with table & coffee etc, Lunch usually by the beach (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ScottishIrv
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for this kind review of your recent experience at the resort. I am glad that you enjoyed your holidays with us, specially with regards to the food and beverage service during Christmas and New Year, the water sports and your dinner at Riviera. I have already shared your kind comments to Ashvin and Vaiti – thank...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Mr. Singh, Mr. Rakesh of Moziak Restaurant and Mr. Jay from O'Beach restaurant are amazing chefs who took great care of our meals and made sure our food is prepared as we have requested. We are strict vegetarians and do not eat onion or garlic. Mr. Singh made punjabi curry and Hakka Noodles like a pro. Mr. Jay especially treated...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewelthief22
Management response:

Good afternoon, Thank you for this great review. I have passed on your comments to all our Family Members and specially to Chef Singh, Rakesh, Jay who were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Ravenala Attitude. We were glad that you enjoyed your holidays, especially the Otentik Mauritian vegetarian cuisine, the pools and water sports as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Returned from a 10 night stay during Christmas and New Years. Overall, we really enjoyed ourselves at the Ravenala Attitude, and our children (4 and 7 years) had an amazing time, although there are some aspects which could be improved. What sets this resort apart from others we have visited is their kids club. The resort has a separate kids...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank H1T3N
Management response:

Good morning, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and for this constructive review of your recent stay. Your kind comments about the kids club, water sport activities, food service, spa as well as the gym were warmly received by our teams. We will certainly pass on your appreciation to the family members : Laura, Kathy, Kreshan, Rakhes, Chef...

bucharest
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We spent 5 nights at this hotel between 7th and 12th of January. The worse issue was our room which was at ground floor 15 minutes far from restaurant, reception, beach etc. having around on the corridor from time to time rats and of course rattraps. Behind the room was the road....so..nothing exotique.....To go and come back from breakfast and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marian c
HAMPSHIRE ENGLAND
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Tucked away on the North west side in a sheltered bay this hotel was a great find. I have to admit we were a little apprehensive due to a fair amount of negative feed back after booking this resort, but we are delighted to say this was totally unfounded. We arrived at lunchtime on Dec 28th swiftly booked in and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 5-BROWNS
Management response:

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Browns, Thank you for having taken the time to review your recent experience at The Ravenala Attitude and it was a pleasure meeting you. We are really happy that we participated in making you enjoy your holidays in Mauritius. It is a pleasure for us to note that you've appreciated the room, the management cocktail, the...

1,196 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1155)
Viewed
Dining (104)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (193)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (122)
Viewed
View from Room (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (579)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balaclava
16.0 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
2,107 reviews
17.2 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,052 reviews
0.3 km away
Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
InterContinental Mauritius Resort Balaclava Fort
1.5 km away
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
Le Meridien Ile Maurice
#5 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
2,762 reviews
0.5 km away
The Oberoi, Mauritius
The Oberoi, Mauritius
#1 of 8 in Pointe Aux Piments
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ravenala Attitude (ex-La Plantation Hotel) is the first 4* All Suite hotel in Mauritius. After 6 months of major works, a brand new hotel has reopened in October 2015. Along the north-west coast of the island, an address beyond the limits of time… Nicely tucked away between sea and river in the middle of a luxuriant and exotic garden, with a majestic range of mountains in the background… The Ravenala Attitude is a mix of colonial heritage, contemporary design with tropical accents and genuine Mauritian art de vivre. No boundaries between inside and outside, cosy spaces flow into each other harmoniously… Here, indoors and outdoors merge blithely to everyone’s delight… The 272 suites, Couples, Adults and Families, have been entirely renovated. Refined and uncluttered, they are true reminders of the islands’ way of life. Strokes of blue-grey, toile de Jouy fabric, woven rattan bedhead and on the wall, typical scenes of Mauritian life… no limits to exotic dreams... In the adult-only wing, all the suites overlook the Indian Ocean. The plus: our privileged guests, feet buried in the sand, will enjoy their very private restaurant… The hotel offers, for half-board and all inclusive guests, a “Dine Around” experience in 7 of the 10 restaurants. Each restaurant has its own identity found both in the decor and on the plate. At meal time, a choice of destinations to match moods: “seasidy” atmosphere in the lounge-bar and at the beach restaurant at lunch time and in the evenings, “trendy-factory” spirit in the new bar-restaurant, feel like a stopover in Italy or Indo-China or a romantic rendez-vous on “Riviere Citron”? Guests can enjoy a wide range of land and nautical activities (at sea, on the river or in the pools); among many others, “Ayo Le Dodo” mini-club for the kids, a special teens’ hideout, the spacious Spa Attitude and all the Otentik Attitude experiences for a total immersion in the local culture. Holidays at The Ravenala Attitude have a taste of far-away lands… a voyage within the voyage... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ravenala Attitude

Address: Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius (Formerly La Plantation Hotel)
Region: Mauritius > Pamplemousses District > Balaclava
Price Range: RM535 - RM1,279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ravenala Attitude 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ravenala Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Plantation Hotel Balaclava
La Plantation Resort And Spa
La Plantation Balaclava
La Plantation Mauritius
The Ravenala Attitude Mauritius/Balaclava
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Balaclava
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Balaclava
#4 Luxury Hotel in Balaclava
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ravenala Attitude staff and other travellers.
152 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (152)

Questions? Get answers from The Ravenala Attitude staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a ground floor room near the main building if you have mobility issued”
 of 5 bubbles Thehappycouple346, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose garden facing room for a quite night.”
 of 5 bubbles jewelthief22, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“families ask for nearer the kids club”
 of 5 bubbles H1T3N, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms with start with 11”
 of 5 bubbles marianc436, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Adults only wing if travelling as a couple is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles 5-BROWNS, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay