We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Merville Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Merville Beach Hotel
Merville Beach Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merville Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 868: English reviews
Grand Bay
Reviewed 4 February 2014

A beautiful hotel with a beautiful beach which has all the sports activity as well. Hotel staff was very pleasent and helpful all stay long. Check in and check out was very simple. A special thanks to Mr Kevin for that as we arrived late for check in and extended our stay till pick up time for the flight.Room extension...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loshniban T
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Loshniban, Thank you for choosing Merville Beach for your stay in Mauritius. I am happy to see that our team members have achieved our vision in “Making Each Moment Matter”, particularly Kevin, who is very happy of your appreciation. Until we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our shores, do rest assured of our hospitality at all...

Vacoas
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I was there in OCtober 2013... the hotel had friendly and very helpfull staff. We were greeted and welcomed very well. everyting was nice and good except that the room had a rather unpleasant smell when you first get into the room as well as the corridors. The breakfast menu and dinner menu despite being open buffet had limited choices....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luvyy
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Luvyy, It was a real pleasure having you with us last year. Thank you for your kind words towards the team members who are very happy to learn of your appreciation. We are deeply sorry about the unpleasant smell you experienced in the corridors and the room. This was due to a water leakage of a main pipe onto...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Taking out two days out from our holiday back home in Mauritius and staying with the family at the Merville Beach Hotel was the best thing ever we did .It's a place to be very calm ,cosy,friendly the list keep going on and on .The approach of the staff are amazing well done to the management and i would recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kylash1
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kailash, The whole team joins me to thank you for your very encouraging review in regards to your recent stay at Merville Beach. The whole team and I are indeed very pleased for your appreciation which goes straight to our heart. Until we have the pleasure to welcome you back, do rest assured of my personal attention at all...

Vacoas
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My boyfriend and I spend a romantic weekend there, wow we were blown away by the friendliness of the staff from arrival to the departure. The General manager greeted us during dinner time trying to know if he can be of any help, On the first night I had mint tea after dinner the next day my tea come automatically...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stern1901
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stern, I would like to thank you and your boyfriend for the weekend spent at Merville Beach. The team and I appreciate your encouraging comments for which we feel really touched and motivated to do even better. In our endeavor to continuously Help People Celebrate Life, do rest assured of our hospitality at all times. Yours Sincerely, Tony Duval.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have met plenty of other guests at Merville Beach who have returned more than 10 times, people do not go back unlees they have ben totally satisfied with their stay. I have stayed solo, with my girlfriend and with friends in all types of rooms. If you retire early avoid the rooms overlooking the pool as there is cabaret...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mike W
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike, We were so happy to have you back at Merville beach and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your fidelity during all these years. We cannot wait to see you back for the 11th time and do not hesitate to contact me personally should you need assistance whatsoever. Yours Sincerely, Tony Duval.

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just returned from this Hotel and overall really enjoyed it there. There was some aspects of it that was worthy of 4 stars and some that deserved a 3 star. The location is fantastic, our room overlooked the beach it was a large room with every thing you could want and the beach was beautiful and quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank linda h
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda, I would like to thank you for staying at Merville Beach during your stay in Mauritius. I am delighted to read your very nice comments and is happy to see that you were overwhelmed by the hotel location. Thank you also for praising our team members; particularly Néha to whom I shall pass on your kind remembrance. I...

Durban
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Have just spent a week at the Merville.Great hotel from room to restaurant and general friendliness of staff. Our room was ground floor in the garden a short walk to the beach and the spa where we had some great treatments.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeeDurbs
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ladies, Thank you for the week spent at Merville Beach and for your very nice comment. It was such a pleasure to have you with us and look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Mauritius. Yours Sincerely, Tony Duval.

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

A 1970's 3star hotel offering excellent service, good food and entertainment. We had a ground floor, beachfront room in the Garden Court, which was perfectly located for us. Our room was large with all the usual amenities (air-con, ceiling fan, TV, phones etc) The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath and two handbasins. The only minor point...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sedgtrav1
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Sir, Thank you so much for choosing Merville Beach to spend the end of year festive seasons for which we are glad to hear were greatly appreciated. Your observation about the general decoration of the room has been analysed and will be taken into consideration on our next refurbishment program. The boathouse team is very touched, particularly Faizal, by your...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Where do I start! From start to finish this hotel was fantastic! Cannot fault this hotel! The staff can’t do enough for you, they make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The food is lovely as are the drinks! Must try cocktails are mango Coloda and Miss you's! We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura T
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Laura, I would like to thank you and your husband for staying with us last August on the special occasion of your honeymoon. I am delighted to see that the free upgrade was greatly appreciated as well as the services and facilities offered. We all appreciate your comments for which we feel really touched and motivated to do even...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Relatively small and relaxed hotel with very friendly and service-minded staff. Excellent beach and services, good food all the time. Perfect location close to town. Only problem, the beds in standard room was very hard, might cause problems if you have a bad back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johan A
Tony D, Manager at Merville Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Johan, Thank you for staying at Merville Beach during your stay in Mauritius. I am delighted to see that you were amazed by the hotel location and would like to thank you also for your appreciation towards our team members. I feel really sorry if the bed in the room was uncomfortable but should you have let us know...

2,526 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2117)
Viewed
View from Room (160)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (547)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (160)
Viewed
Dining (81)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (382)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:26
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (750)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (385)
Viewed
Amenities (107)
Viewed
Beach (20)
Viewed
Bungalow (68)
Viewed
Kid's Pool (2)
Viewed
Pool (9)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Spa Pool (9)
Viewed
Superior Room (60)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Baie
0.9 km away
Veranda Grand Baie Hotel & Spa
8.2 km away
LUX* Grand Gaube
LUX* Grand Gaube
#1 of 4 in Grand Gaube
4,049 reviews
1.1 km away
Mauricia Beachcomber Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 km away
Zilwa Attitude
Zilwa Attitude
#1 of 2 in Calodyne
2,102 reviews
3.1 km away
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resort & Spa
Canonnier Beachcomber Golf Resor...
#1 of 6 in Pointe aux Canonniers
3,221 reviews
40.4 km away
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
Hilton Mauritius Resort & Spa
#6 of 17 in Flic En Flac
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Merville Beach Hotel is situated on the north-west corner of Mauritius in Grand Baie, 20 minutes from the capital , Port Louis.All 221 rooms are in the 2 wings stretching from the main building in a slightly elevated position overlooking the bay. All rooms have a magnificent sea view. Direct dialing telephones, Radio, TV-video, Mini-bar, Safe Deposit box, Hair Dryer and Private Bathroom. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merville Beach Hotel

Address: Coast Road, Grand Baie, Mauritius 245121
Region: Mauritius > Riviere du Rempart District > Grand Baie
Price Range: RM192 - RM1,667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Merville Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Merville Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merville Beach Grand Baie
Hotel Merville Beach
Merville Beach Hotel Mauritius/Grand Baie
Merville Beach Mauritius
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Grand Baie
#3 Spa Hotel in Grand Baie
#5 Family Hotel in Grand Baie
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Baie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merville Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
104 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (104)

Questions? Get answers from Merville Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The beachfront rooms aren't full 'beachfront' but they have a view from the patio area and they vary how far from the beach they get.”
 of 5 bubbles Lotusflwr73, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles PaulH841, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Stay on the hotel side of the block, so its not as far to the beach and amenities.”
  • Stunning view from our 1st floor room! Perfect
 of 5 bubbles skistar15, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The partial sea view is pretty awesome.”
 of 5 bubbles Battuta_v2, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Garden rooms are lovely overlooking the sea. Bungalows also lovely but opt for downstairs if you want shade”
 of 5 bubbles Dirkjoy, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay