We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Green Acorn Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Green Acorn Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 10: English reviews
Start your review of The Green Acorn Guest House
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We had an excellent stay over at the Green Acorn. As a family with 2 kids there was enough space for them to run around, without bothering any other guests. The rooms were neat and I loved the decor. Staff was professional. Breakfast was better than the Wimpy's!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christa H
KemptonPark
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Sandstone and Iron. Pigeons and crisp morning air. Comfortable accommodation, with a hearty scrumptious breakfast. Cafè Chocolat Theatre is 20 meters from your doorstep, which means that good food, drink and entertainment is litterally on your doorstep. Heaven!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Airvertise
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Firstly i was promised a lovely garden cottage with a little patio with a garden set. the interior was charming light and airy. i ended up in a horrible hot box furnished with rusted pieces of metal. Toilet section had no light and was partitioned off with rusty tin. the door did not cover the doorway. The second bed was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 670gillianr
Green-Acorn-guesthou, Manager at The Green Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Good Day We are sorry to hear of your disappointing stay with us. We certainly hope to fix this for you in the future. We have new management in place and have lifted the standard since April 2016. Extra attention has been given to the maintenance of the Guest House too. Please be sure to pop in again so that...

Boksburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. at the Green Acorn Guest House. This is a clean, cosy establishment, that will cover all your basic needs. Sandra the owner I will give 10/10 for her hospitality, and breakfast everyday were delicious :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Monique683
Green-Acorn-guesthou, Manager at The Green Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. Sandra sure does do a fantastic breakfast and her warm personality is the main key to this business. We hope to see you at The Green Acorn again soon! Keep Well

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 9 December 2015

the lodge has a great rustic appeal to it. we loved the stay and the owner went the extra mile in ensuring we were well taken care of and even suggested items to do around as we were not familiar with the place but just wanted a country escape. The breakfast is a generous healthy serving with fresh home baked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ngoni C
Green-Acorn-guesthou, Manager at The Green Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review. Please be sure to visit us again!

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2014 via mobile

The whole was fully booked including The Green Acorn. But they where very helpful and made a plan. Thanks. Nice place. Xugyjsciigvudtxyctzgxydyzgxhfjvjchchufdudhfufucucycucj kvjcjchxhcjvhcgcjcjcfufudydudhdhdhchcuc

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J-P00071234
Wilderness, South Africa
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Planning a trip to Ficksburg! “Green Acorn Guesthouse”. One should not enter this guesthouse with pre conceived ideas, but open the mind to the adventure of the down to earthliness, upcycling in its most creative form, good value for money and staff waiting to go the extra mile. The owner Sandra, welcomes you with open arms, in a sincere and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Interfacebygoji
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were disappointed with our stay. Having grown up in Ficksburg and armed with local knowledge, we thought that this was a good place to stay. The service was good, but the facility is in urgent need of repairs and renovation. The rustic theme blends into a feeling of neglect and decline. Our room had missing blinds, very sharp metallic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johan B
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Been to B&B across South Africa and abroad and found that this little beauty is for the traveller that is tired of the same old environment that reminds you that you away from home. This quirky place has old themes and gives u a sence of the old periods in our histroy but with modern comforts that you would find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank McAllys
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Green Acorn has adopted a 'tinny' decor idea which is very quaint. We went in a group of over 20 people and they were certainly not ready for the crowd. Some of us had comfortable beds, but others had old matresses which were uncomfortable, some rooms not aired and some with old holey towels. The whole place was in need...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lorna_gibbons

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ficksburg hotels
29.2 km away
Moolmanshoek Private Game Reserve
0.4 km away
Bella Rosa Guest House
Bella Rosa Guest House
#4 of 11 in Ficksburg
13 reviews
0.8 km away
Oregon Cottage
Oregon Cottage
#7 of 11 in Ficksburg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
Gewel Gastehuis Ficksburg
#1 of 11 in Ficksburg
8 reviews
1.1 km away
Woodpecker Guesthouse
Woodpecker Guesthouse
#8 of 11 in Ficksburg
4 reviews
10.1 km away
Springwater Cottages
Springwater Cottages
#1 of 8 in Ficksburg
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Green Acorn Guest House is located in the town of Ficksburg, which lies nestled beneath the craggy Imperani Mountain at the heart of the Free State Highlands. The guest house beckons weary travellers with its ambiance of uniquely decorated guest rooms, filled with eclectic collections of found items combined with the comforts of the latest technology, such as DStv and air-conditioning, typical of the quality and standards associated with The Green Acorn Guest House. The guest house lies at the gateway of Lesotho’s primary tourist destinations, including the Katse Dam and Oxbow Ski Resort. Lesotho is not the only attraction that this region offers the visitor - just to breathe the unpolluted mountain air makes a visit here worth-while. Rest and relax in our Blikkantien Pub, where cosy winter evenings can be savoured around a roaring log fire or enjoy a delicious home-cooked meal from the a la carte menu at the Cafe Chocolat Restaurant. Our friendly staff make sure that our guests’ stay becomes a memorable experience, leaving with a spring in their step and a song in their heart, to return time and time again to rejuvenate both body and mind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Green Acorn Guest House

Address: 7 Fontein Street, Ficksburg 9730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Free State > Ficksburg
Price Range: RM180 - RM238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Green Acorn Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Green Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Green Acorn Guest House staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Acorn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great stay if you want to do a day visit to Katse Dam, Lesotho”
Monique683, 25 Dec 2015 | Read review
1 of 1