We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mont Aux Sources Hotel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

216 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mont Aux Sources Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 174: English reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Great staff compliment, good service and clean establishment...downfall was just checking out and finding another rooms bill attached to ours...on Allaistairs checking it was not for our room..overall ID go back any day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xolani C
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Xolani, Thank you for your great review and taking the time to do so! We are absolutely thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay and we do hope that you will visit us again soon! Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Comfortable rooms, good food and beautiful location. We travelled as a young family and there was plenty to keep the busy and happy especially the close proximity of Pizza Tower restaurant which is just down the road. All rooms and balcony face the mountain and seemed to get very little sun- so it was cold even in the middle of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kaajal R
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kaajal, Thank you for your great review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the good food and beautiful location and views. We do hope that you will visit us in the near future. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We had a great 2 nights stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. The room was spacious and well kept. Dinner buffet was elaborate and delicious. The staff were great and attentive. Overall a great value for money experience!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TshegoTee
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tshego, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We are absolutely ecstatic to see that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff has treated you well. We would love for you to visit us again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Potchefstroom, South Africa
Reviewed 14 April 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night only for a friend's birthday. The gas fireplace was broken, the phone to call reception was broken and the emergency contact number rang through to an answering machine! I wasn't impressed after the fire exploded on us.. apparently the last guests had put wood on the gas fire and broken it but there was no sign up...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank E3460IFlisaw
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay with facilities provided not working, supervisors not on duty and so forth. We have brought this to senior managements attention and they will investigate in the matter. We do...

Johannesburg
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We had a wonderful 2 nights at the hotel. The service was very good and the facilities are excellent. You can start your walks from the hotel and everywhere is well signposted. The tracks are well kept and if you take a guide the assistance is very good. I dont really enjoy a buffet and would have preferred a proper...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pegasus_lady_10
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank your for your great review following your stay! We are absolutely ecstatic to see that you have enjoyed your stay, hikes, food & wine with us. Your suggestions will be given through to senior management as an improvement point. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux...

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Reviewed 11 April 2016

We had a great drive to the Mont Aux Sources area, great roads and the most beautiful views. As you drive onto their premises the hotel seems impressive and beautiful with the rolling hills and mountains in the distance. The chalets are not too close to one another, the gardens very well maintained. The reception area seemed impressive, until we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jeanine v
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jeanine, Thank you for taking the time to review Mont Aux Sources Hotel following your stay. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay, senior management have been brought in to investigate in the matter and to see where we can improve your comments. We do hope that you will afford us...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Nice hotel, book a deluxe room. Breakfast was excellent! Beautiful gardens and pool. Drive 5 minutes to Royal National Park and do some hikes, amazing views of the amphitheatre, try fishing in the dam, have a picnic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDR1234
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your great review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are absolutely ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us! We would love for your to come and visit us again. Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 26 March 2016

Excellent value for money accommodation. Food options were superb. Hosts are friendly and accommodating. Be sure to visit nearby Tower of Pizza for lunch as well! The royal national park is also in close vicinity.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarvas_Venusha
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarvas_Venusha, Thank you for your great review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We are ecstatic to see that you have enjoyed your stay and see it as value for your money. We would love to see you again soon Warm Regards Staff and Management Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

The phrase that best describes mount aux sources is the afrikaans one mooi van ver, ver van mooi. As you drive up towards the hotel your hopes are built up by the beatiful surroundings but as you  enter the building the cracking reception desk is your first clue that you may be disappointed. The room is atrocious on all fronts....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rene B
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rene, Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources Hotel. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Senior Management have been brought in to investigate on the matter stated. We do hope that we will have an opportunity to win back your valued business. Warm Regards...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2016

The situation of the hotel, with spectatular views of the Drakensberg Ampitheatre could not have been bettered : the grounds were also immaculate, but that is about the end of the good news. On both days of our stay, there was no hot water when required for the shower. At dinner, almost all the table clothes were dirty. The restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Geoff23
Hote1Management, Marketing Coordinator at Mont Aux Sources Hotel, responded to this review

Good day Geoff23, Thank you for your honest review following your stay at Mont Aux Sources. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience you may have experienced with you stay. All of the above has been brought to Senior Management's attention and will be looked at. We do hope that you will offer us the opportunity to win back...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (12)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergville
5.0 km away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
33.5 km away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
37.5 km away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
6.9 km away
Alpine Heath Resort
Alpine Heath Resort
#1 of 1 in Jagersrust
424 reviews
34.9 km away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled at the foothills of the majestic Drakensberg Mountains, this landmark property is easily accessible from Johannesburg and Durban. The Mont-Aux-Sources Hotel & Resort borders the renowned Royal Natal National Park and offers magnificent views of the world-famous Amphitheatre. The Drakensberg is home to many world heritage sites and is the second most photographed destination in Southern Africa.Experience the stunning natural beauty, while enjoying the numerous activities, onsite and nearby. Afterwards, enjoy a hearty meal in the restaurant and relax in the comfortable lounge with its inviting log fireplace. The beautifully landscaped grounds add to the tranquil ambience of this popular country retreat. As one of the region’s finest country hotels, it welcomes guests from all over the world, and is known for its warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mont Aux Sources Hotel

Address: D119, The Cavern Road | Northern Drakensberg, Bergville 3350, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Drakensberg Region > Bergville
Price Range: RM346 - RM669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mont Aux Sources Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Mont Aux Sources Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mont Aux Sources Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid completely”
 of 5 bubbles KoroushaC, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room on the top floor, they have a small balcony) and away from the bar.”
 of 5 bubbles europeholidays, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the chalets until renovations are completed. The hotel rooms are fine.”
 of 5 bubbles 68fanij, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Choose downstairs room, doors open on hotel's garden”
 of 5 bubbles MelanieDF, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Chalet number 1”
 of 5 bubbles naeemgoga, 20 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates