We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Kisiwa House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kisiwa House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kisiwa House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We splashed out on a Junior Suite but it was a waste of money. In a different part of the building, the suite had a local byway along three sides of it meaning that people and motorbikes were passing noisily by at all hours. It looked good on arrival, but closer examination showed that it wasn't possible to get round...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JandD78
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your views with us, your views help us to improve our services. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotels breakfast service charm and position. The stone town is among the worlds few living historical cities ( A UNESCO world heritage site) and has narrow alley ways and streets and its charms is its...

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 13 January 2017

The hotel is nice and charming / romantic, with old decoration. The rooms are quite large and the bathroom of our room even very large. Proximity of the facing houses, but this is the charm of the old town. Everything (boutiques, restaurants, etc) on a walking distance. Breakfast upon request with nice fruits and juices, served on the last floor's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderfully review for us, unfortunately sometimes the wifi issue is out of our hands as we are also dependent on our service provider. We wish you and your family the very best for the new year. Akida and the Kisiwa Team.

Reviewed 2 January 2017

A lovely hotel, very friendly staff. Breakfast was good and all served promptly. A few of the waiters were a little too chatty but not really a problem. Hotel was very clean and well run. Rooms were spacious. Had a good few days here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grenlickarno
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest We thank you for your very kind review, your review will be shared with all the staff at Kisiwa House. Your kind review will motivate our whole team to work harder to make our guest's stay with us memorable. Thank you very much Karibu tena!!! Zanzibar. Akida and the Kisiwa House Team

Houston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

We booked the Sulaima room big enough for all our family through booking.com, we asked to placed two extra beds, we advised we were arriving after 7:00 pm and we needed breakfast early because our flight was at 9 am next day. We called in advance to make sure everything was ok and we had no extra charges for the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aowen5
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Our policy on booking.com regarding extra beds is very clear and this was also made very clear to you on your arrival at our front desk and it is a service our guest have to pay for and it is on the booking.com page and also self explanatory, regarding early breakfast our policy has always been to provide...

Zhuhai, China
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is delightful and the majority of the staff faultless. Particularly wonderful was Samson in the restaurant - he was a star. We had a couple of issues during our two night stay one being a terrible smell in our room coming from the drains and were eventually moved but this was handled relatively painlessly if a little slowly....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RobotChina
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are extremely pleased that you found our hotel delightful and our hotels staff faultless and that you particularly enjoyed the services provided by Samson, we are also pleased that you agree we were able to solve all the minor problems that arose efficiently and quickly. I also deeply saddened that you found my behavior as the resident...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

A nice reception from the staff at Kishwa House. Taxi can't get to front door but not a problem staff helped with bags. This is a small boutique hotel and you need to be ok with stairs as we were on the 2nd floor. Room is a good size and certainly has everything you need. Night service set up the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaniceTuiLee
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at kisiwa house. We hope to have you stay with us again. Thank you. Akida and the Kisiwa Team

Reviewed 20 November 2016

This hotel is very cool and quite. Staff are very helpful, very friendly.The area is close to all attractions in Stone Town City, walking distance no hassle. Sure will stay at this hotel next time i visit znz.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A a
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to write this wonderfully review,we will share it with our team. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us,and we hope to host you again soon. Karibu tena!!!! Akida and the Kisiwa Team

Berkeley, California
Reviewed 3 November 2016

The hotel was beautiful but the service was pretty lacking. When we arrived there was no toilet paper, water or soap in our room. My husband was having an important visa document mailed to the front desk but the person working there was unable to understand when he repeatedly asked about it arriving. We were woken up very early on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HeatherHoelzlein
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor. We apologize for all the shortfalls during your stay, we are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back so that you can experience for yourself that improvements and changes we have made. Akida & Team Kisiwa House.

Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

The interior is nice and all required amenities are available.WiFi works sufficiently and the location is just perfect for visiting stone town. Staff is nice and tries its best to be supportive. However, training of staff does not seem to be a priority for the owners. Hardly any communication between staff which means your arrangements made in the evening will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christoph2708
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review us, your views are valued. We apoligise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay with us. We have taken into consideration your review and are already working to correct all issues you have raised. Thank you Akida & Team Kisiwa House.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and found the staff to be very attentive. The facilities were good, rooms very clean and spacious and it fact nothing really to criticize from the hotel viewpoint. The issue is the noise at night. I had read this on tripadvisor but am somewhat resilient and thought that it would be ok and simply is what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobP553
Kisiwa o, Manager at Kisiwa House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking time to write a review, the stone town of Zanzibar is a historic town of narrow streets and alleyways and this cannot be avoided it is what gives it its unique charm and character and sets our stone town apart from other historical cities,fortunately the construction next door is also soon to be at an...

168 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (157)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stone Town hotels
0.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Zanzibar - Stone Town
0.3 km away
Jafferji House & Spa
Jafferji House & Spa
#12 of 33 in Stone Town
330 reviews
0.3 km away
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
Park Hyatt Zanzibar
#3 of 33 in Stone Town
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
Mizingani Seafront Hotel
#7 of 33 in Stone Town
260 reviews
0.2 km away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#11 of 33 in Stone Town
230 reviews
0.3 km away
Tembo House  Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxurious Boutique hotel in Stone Town, Kisiwa House is noted for its elegant blend of Zanzibar décor and gracious Swahili hospitality.Superbly located on a quiet street in the heart of Zanzibar historical centre within easy walking distance of famous landmarks, museums, antique shops and restaurants. Kisiwa House provides every modern convenience to the business or leisure traveller, promising an unforgettable experience of professional service, superb comfort and unmatched elegance.Get inspired, discover the new and unusual. Enjoy the charm of an old and typical Zanzibar town house. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kisiwa House

Address: 572 Baghani Street | P.O. Box: 609, Stone Town, Zanzibar City, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Zanzibar City > Stone Town
Price Range: RM515 - RM1,268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kisiwa House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kisiwa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kisiwa House Hotel Stone Town
Kisiwa House Stone Town, Zanzibar Island
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stone Town
#7 Family Hotel in Stone Town
#10 Luxury Hotel in Stone Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kisiwa House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kisiwa House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“accessible to all places of interest in Zanzibar. Secure, quiet and best breakfast terrace”
cndunge, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had 2 rooms, in 2 different areas of the hotel and both were great. My guess is that all rooms are great.”
patml2017, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't book the suite. Go for the ordinary rooms.”
JandD78, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Attention to the abrupt and long stairways. Take a glass in the front view hotel for sundown.”
danm0, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Any room will be fine for a short tour”
ao316, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5