We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

At The River Ishasha

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
At The River Ishasha
Add a photo
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of At The River Ishasha
 Click to rate
Uganda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the en-suites - super comfy beds, a lovely hot shower and an amazing view of the river and the forest opposite where monkeys were often playing + so many stunning birds everywhere! Such a peaceful place :) So happy we saw a tree climbing lion, elephants, buffalo, waterbuck and the adorable Genet cat on our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rainbowthrills
Kampala, Uganda
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 nights and the place was great! The staff where friendly and clean and the food was great. The Hotel is really near the park gate, but actually we saw Elephants on our drive to the lodge, plenty of Uganda Kob and the lodge has lots of birds to see! And we saw the Tree Climbing Lions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Masaani
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I enjoyed my stay at The River Ishasha a lot. The staff was friendly and the food nice. I especially enjoyed walking down to the river to look at the wildlife (mostly birds). We spent one night and had a good sleep. Stayed there in Feb 2014.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ulse U
Mannheim, Germany
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 1 might and would have left if we didn't pay in advance. The best was the packed lunch for the next day, the huts are darf, I had a fly nest in my bed, the stuff tries to be friendly, but we didn't enjoy the stay in the lodge. For 190 dollar it is overpriced. The worst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benji1985m
New York City, New York
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We had an excellent experience in @ the river. The bungalows were really cute and ours had a view towards a beach where elephants come to have a bath. The owner, Alex, was there at the time and took us to a night game drive where we saw ~10 lions including one tiny baby! It was all super entertaining and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kaja156
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We had booked three nights at the River Ishasha as part of our stay in Queen Elizabeth National Park, but unfortunately decided to leave At the River after one night. We paid $95 per person, per night full board, making the cost of our stay $190 for the night for a cabin. This was the MOST expensive place we stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NadaKhan1980
Kelly F, Owner at At The River Ishasha, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest response. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I would like to offer a few explanations as to why these issues happened and what we have done to rectify them. 1. You were actually unfortunate as after you booked we in-fact reduced our prices from $95-$75 per person per...

Dallas
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We stayed in an ensuite cottage, with enclosed bathroom. Cottages are elevated, I think because the nearby river overflows. They are airy, a plus for this warm climate. Dining area is up some stairs to tree level, a great viewing point, and even with the birds. There is a birding tour bundled in, though there wasn't much to see due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
Reviewed 20 November 2016

We just stayed as four adults in two self-contained cabins, which seem to be more recent additions. Our deck faced the river. The bathroom was spacious and contained a very nice shower with colored cement finished floor and walls. I enjoyed the ways in which items were recycled and repurposed. We had a wok that served as our sink basin,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara T
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We booked to stay here the night after seeing the gorillas but a longer than expected hike in the morning left us too far to go to make it - I think if we had had a driver we might have been OK but self driving we were nervous about doing the whole thing in the dark. The owners were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoseT611
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 29 October 2016

It’s a lovely secluded place. Unfortunately, I have to deduct 4* because it’s way over-priced. We paid 120USD for a twin-bed cottage with shared showers and toilet. In comparison to everywhere else we’ve been during our 2-week trip in Rwanda/Uganda the value for money was the worst. The cottage was also tiny with just enough space for one person to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fabian B

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (85)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (32)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Queen Elizabeth National Park hotels
0.0 km away
Mweya Safari Lodge
Mweya Safari Lodge
#1 of 1 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
440 reviews
0.0 km away
Marafiki Safari Lodge
Marafiki Safari Lodge
#5 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
88 reviews
0.0 km away
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
Wild Tracks Overland Camp
#18 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Enganzi Game Lodge
Enganzi Game Lodge
#8 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
84 reviews
0.0 km away
Kasenyi Safari Camp
Kasenyi Safari Camp
#1 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
98 reviews
0.0 km away
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
Ihamba Lakeside Safari Lodge
#9 of 32 in Queen Elizabeth National Park
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Babysitting
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Budget Eco Lodge with 2 en-suite family cottages, 4 en-suite cottages and 8 budget cottages for the money conscious travelers all with beautiful river and forest views. Well appointed shared toilet and shower facilities for the non en-suite accommodation. Large capacity campsite also with great river views. The lodge has close proximity to wildlife, friendly staff and relaxed atmosphere, good food and cold drinks. We are 10 minutes drive from the main Ishasha Sector entrance gate where the infamous tree climbing lions are often found lounging about in the spectacular fig trees. Ishasha is on the way to the Bwindi gorillas. This is a remote area and 4X4 vehicles are advised, although it is not absolutely necessary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about At The River Ishasha

Address: Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Western Region > Queen Elizabeth National Park
Price Range: RM520 - RM533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your At The River Ishasha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from At The River Ishasha staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Lazy Campers, they are small but basically camping in a comfy bed worth it to splash out on this if your on a camping budget.”
 of 5 bubbles Masaani, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Community toilets with inside garden are great but as 60+ people, we did enjoy the self-contained bathroom this time.”
 of 5 bubbles barbarat387, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room "Elephant" is at the edge of the camp and has a nice view over the river.”
  • View from room Elephant
  • Room Elephant (1 bed is big enough for 2 people!)
 of 5 bubbles mawe733, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the new self contained bandas which have two big beds and a very cute bathroom and loved it !”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Personally, if you are not camping outright, I would just pay for the en suite bungalows because they are really nice.”
 of 5 bubbles 286bethp, 5 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5