We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
RedGum Hill Country Retreat
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 17 May 2016

Judith and Dirk made our stay exceptionally pleasant for the two nights we spent there. Nothing was too much trouble. The Gumnut cottage was perfect for our needs with all of the modern conveniences as well as the two person spa and slow combustion log fire. Full cooking facilities are provided including a slow cooker, exceptional for our lamb shanks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve6822
tyrrellfam
Reviewed 25 November 2015

I had five days at Gumnut Cottage at Redgum Hill. I was alone and enjoyed the comforts a small cosy cottage with a wonderful two person spa. Every thing was very clean and all my needs where met. The property is 10 acres along the Blackwood river and there is a lovely walk throughout the property. There are kangaroos, emu,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tyrrellfam
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Stayed here for 2 nights, has everything you could want, fully equipped kitchen, plenty of wood for the fire which kept going till next morning, comfortable bed, huge shower, great 2 person spa. Nice walking track, loads of citrus trees and bird life. Extra spa towels would be handy, and instructions for TV/ DVD. Not being tech heads we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Terry-ann C
NanaMolly, Manager at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Terry-Ann Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you return one day soon. We take note of the TV and when this one dies (which we hope is soon) we will invest in another which will overcome operational problems, In the meantime, we will demonstrate the control to all guests. Thank...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 30 March 2015

This place was amazing it could be either light and airy with the doors open or intimate and Private with mood lighting available with the various lamps available If your,looking to,reconnect with your partner or just want to get away for,a well earned break This is the place Spa was awesome and the owners were the nicest people you could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
NanaMolly, Manager at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Jeff Thank you for the wonderful review. Dirk and I like to keep our cottages quaint and unpretentious are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again one day. Warm regards Judith and Dirk

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We spent four nights in "Gumnut Cottage" and loved it. Everything was neat and well-appointed, from the comfortable lounges and cosy bed down to a shelf full of Agatha Christie mysteries! The kitchen had everything you'd expect from a self-contained cottage and then some more besides, and the spa was a pleasant extra. Four nights gave us time to stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TimAndRebecca
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you Tim and Rebecca for the review and lovely comments. Unfortunately we had some ferral pigs through the property some weeks ago but not through the main garden fortunately. These things happen in the country. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I note there may have been a problem with the service in your rating. If so, could...

Fremantle, Australia
Reviewed 8 October 2013

What a gorgeous spot for a quiet getaway!Tried to book Gumnut Cottage for the weekend but it wasn't available so the owners offered us a special deal on Duffy's House and we certainly weren't disappointed. The facilities were excellent and there was nothing we could think of that was needed to make the weekend any more enjoyable. The cottage is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sooties399
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello dear guests, Hope you trip home was special in the new car. Unfortunately the weather gets the better of us at times, but I think you missed the worst of it. We were so happy to see you both again and really enjoyed our chat. Take care and we will see you again soon. Thank you both for the...

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Six girlfriends and I stayed in Duffy House over the long weekend and had a wonderful time. Dirk and Judith are excellent hosts who made us most welcome and nothing was too much trouble. The cottage was spotless and the bed linen clean and fresh. Plenty of wood for the wood heater which kept us toasty warm and there's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa F
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Lisa, We had a wonderful time also. Such great happy guests. Lots of laughs coming from the cottage and it was lovely to meet you all. It's so nice to see people enjoying themselves and soaking up the country air and natural environment. We have people come down (rarely I must say) sit in the cottage all day and...

Gosnells, Australia
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I went with friends. We were 8 and stayed at the "DUFFY'S PLACE" for 3 nights. The moment I entered the place I was over whelmed. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable bedding and lots of clean towels. The rooms were clean and everything you need in a comfortable home was there. The living room was comfortable and the fire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon D
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Hello Sharon I cannot tell you how lovely it was to have such happy smiling people stay with us. Even thought we are small, we are really proud of our country property and supporting accommodation. The garden looks beautiful now, your stay was a week too early but at least you saw all the rose buds and the little bird...

Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Still owed $540. Website sounds great but not true. 'Luxury Villa' is 3 separate cheap motel rooms, spa not operational. Colour TVs don't work has no digital tower and DVD player not working. Cooker does not work. Had to find alternative accomodation and refund refused. Owner Rude and Arrogant backed up by a wife whose only appearance was to tell...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank ALfandRose
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest We are most concerned at your tirade of complaints, criticisms and demands for a full refund when you said absolutely nothing to us during your stay re no TV (we did advise you of this) and the Cottage you stayed in after the first night does have a working spa. You were referred to us as your preferred...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at Redgum Hill with my girlfriend for a peaceful getaway from my busy lifestyle in Perth. Thoroughly enjoyed my stays... surrounds of the property are beautiful and very tranquil, just what I needed. Accommodation was very comfortable and great value for money, hosts were very friendly and made a point of making our stay as comfortable as possible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
NanaMolly, Owner at RedGum Hill Country Retreat, responded to this review

Thank you for your patronage. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to having you stay once again.

17 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nannup hotels
4.8 km away
Nannup Hideaway Spa Cottages & Retreats
14.4 km away
Nannup Valley Chalets
Nannup Valley Chalets
#1 of 1 in Nannup
36 reviews
9.7 km away
The Black Cockatoo
The Black Cockatoo
#3 of 9 in Nannup
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Mossbrook Country Estate Bed and Breakfast
9.7 km away
Holberry House
Holberry House
#3 of 9 in Nannup
59 reviews
10.9 km away
Crabapple Lane Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Redgum Hill Country Retreat is nestled on 11 acres on the Blackwood River in the Blackwood River Valley on Tourist Drive 251 in the heart of the south west of Western Australia, an extremely convenient place to stay if travelling around to surrounding wineries, forests, beaches and general south west tourist attractions.Our accommodation comprises the owner's residence, AAA 4 star rated DUFFY'S COTTAGE being 1 x 3 bedroom, 1 x bathroom two storey self-contained loft cottage (sleeps 4 - 8), AAA 3 1/2 star rated GUMNUT COTTAGE being 1 loft bedroom two storey self-contained cottage (sleeps 2), AAA 4 star 2 bedroom 2 bathroom guest wing(sleeps 4 - 6) overlooking garden. All accommodation has covered verandahs or balconies overlooking the garden or the river from which guests can enjoy the birds or read in the serenity of the country environment. Duffy's Cottage is wheelchair friendly. The cottages have wood fires for winter and air conditioning for summer. Our cottages are quaint, comfortable, clean and elegantly casual. The guest wing has reverse-cycled airconditioning, ceiling fans and cross ventilation doors and windows. Redgum Hill Country Retreat boasts over 68 varities of birds including the splendid blue wren, golden whistler, brown honeyeater, firetailed finch, emu, red tailed cockatoo, carnaby cockatoo, button quaile, rainbow bee eater (occassionaly) and much more, a joy to sit and watch.Enjoy strolling through the 4 acre gardens and ponds or walk around the property to the arboretum. This walk is substantial but easy. With 48 hours notice we can provide gourmet weekend food hampers, fully cooked breakfasts, BBQ packs, dinner provided to your accommodation or a three course meal in the licensed dining room (minimum 8 people)by the fire. Redgum Hill Country Retreat is small, private country property in the picturesque Blackwood River Valley. ... more   less 

Additional Information about RedGum Hill Country Retreat

Address: Lot -1 Balingup-Nannup Rd, Nannup, Western Australia 6275, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Nannup
Price Range: RM659 - RM833 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — RedGum Hill Country Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your RedGum Hill Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from RedGum Hill Country Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take fly spray”
 of 5 bubbles tyrrellfam, 24 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you are a couple book the chalet,with only one bedroom but if you are going with friends Duffy cottage is gorgeous with wrap around verandas ,there is band b but we didn't stay in the main house”
 of 5 bubbles 346jeffs, 30 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Try for a chalet if you want a kitchenette. Duffy's cottage- the largest chalet- is perfect for 2 couples who want to hang out, but also want their own privacy...”
 of 5 bubbles helloadam, 20 Apr 2013 | Read review
3 of 3