We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Warwickshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The good Very welcoming and friendly hosts and a large room with a great view across the bay. The bad The fixtures and fittings are very tired.e.g. The fabric on the dining chairs is worn through to the backing, the bed felt worn out, it is necessary to opt in rather than opt out of room service. On our NZ...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abcoldgit
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Oceanside Motel - we appreciate hearing the feedback from all our guests. We do apologize that you didn't overally enjoy your stay with us here at The Oceanside, we try to ensure that all our guests are as comfortable and well looked after from check...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had stayed at Oceanside Motel 28yrs ago and were aware of the perfect location for a beach holiday. The property has recently been refurbished. We had unit 6 on the ground floor which was well appointed with everything we required. All units have an unobstructed view of the beach, bay and beyond. Owner, Jill was very welcoming,friendly and helpfull...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James1944_12
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi James, Thank you so much for your kind review, we appreciate all the feedback from our guests, especially those who come back to visit after 28 years - wow. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us after so long and that even though we have recently refurbished the rooms the views are just...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We thoroughly enjoyed the sights that the area has to offer. This town is a good location to use a a base for excursions, or stay and enjoy the beach and restaurants. Our room was disappointing in that the carpet was not cleaned, and the set up was terrible. Patio furniture was used as living room furniture and uncomfortable. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken R
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at the Oceanside Motel. We do apologize that your room was not up to standard, we will look into why the carpet was not cleaned as this is unacceptable and definitely not our cleaning standard. We try not to decorate our patios as we let the ocean view...

Kelowna, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our worst accommodation in our 3 day trip to the Coromandel Peninsula. The room setup was very strange as you entered through the bathroom with a very small cramped bedroom. The furniture was uncomfortable in the living room and very sparse. The patio had a decent view of the bay but agin was sparsely furnished with uncomfortable chairs....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon P
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Sharon, Thank you for the feedback on your stay at The Oceanside Motel, we do appreciate hearing about all our guests stay. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us as we do aim to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable and comfortable stay and leave happy. We will take on board...

Hawera, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Even though it was too brief our stay here with teenage kids was great. Handy to everything & directly across the road from the beach. Beautiful outlook & really comfortable room with a roomy verandah for everyone to sit on & admire the view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacqui M
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Jacqui, Thank you for such a kind review, we really appreciate hearing the feedback from our guests about their stay at The Oceanside Motel. Our location is great for a relaxing stay away within walking distance to many cafes, restaurants and even into town for a look around. With the beach right across the road it is perfect to...

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Charming and well documented welcome Very comfortable apartment will all the necessary amenities. Really excellent. Splendid view on Buffalo Beach. Quiet place not far from the port. Not far from Hot water beach and cathedral cove

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank patriciamN8630IP
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

HI Patricia, Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about your stay at the Oceanside Motel. W are so glad to hear you enjoyed yourself while visiting Whitianga. Our aim is to make every guests stay with us as comfortable as possible so we make sure all our units are fully equipped with whatever you...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent two nights here was expensive as was the last room in town for a local concert of 17 thousand people . Lovely place clean lovely hosts- spacious rooms comfy beds and a view to die for- stroll out the verandah door to the grass cross the road and there was the beach!! Nice beach towels also supplied. A bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DeborahNtec
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Hi Deborah, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Oceanside Motel, we really appreciate hearing our guests feedback. The concert always brings in a lot of people to town and it gets a bit crazy but we are glad we had an extra room available for you. The view is spectacular especially watching...

San Francisco, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a perfect location for Whitianga. You have an incredible view of the bay and small islands in the distance as well as an easy walk to many restaurants and shops. There was no noise off the street that follows the coast and lies in front of the motel, so we slept well and enjoyed breakfast on the patio...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jonuday
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thank You so much for such a kind review, we really appreciate it. The location of our motel is perfect with only being a short walk to town, restaurants and cafes - with the beach right across the road it makes the walk that much more enjoyable. The patios are the perfect breakfast spot to just sit back, relax and...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice accommodations and a great location. The apartment was spacious and very clean. The owners are wonderful and we also enjoyed the Sea Cave Adventures that they offer. We would highly recommend.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank robinkarenhill
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thank you so much for reviewing your stay at The Oceanside Motel Whitianga, we appreciate hearing the feedback from all our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have such a great location that it is only a quick walk into town or to restaurants and cafes. Having the beach just across the...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely, central motel room. Views of water across the street. Only negative is the busy road .... would have preferred something more quite. Owners lovely and helpful. Enoyed our stay at Oceanside Motel

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 630anitac
JandLCoomber, Owner at Oceanside Motel Whitianga, responded to this review

Thank You so much for your kind review about your stay with us at the Oceanside Motel. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed yourself - we try and offer as much help as possible regarding what to do and where to eat so our guests have the most comfortable stay possible. Thank You again for the kind review....

36 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitianga
0.6 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
461 reviews
0.7 km away
Baileys at the Beach Motel
Baileys at the Beach Motel
#7 of 18 in Whitianga
55 reviews
27.2 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
392 reviews
1.5 km away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
302 reviews
0.8 km away
Admiralty Lodge Motel
Admiralty Lodge Motel
#5 of 18 in Whitianga
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oceanside offers a unique blend of superior beachfront accommodation, traditional hospitality and stunning sea views in Whitianga, the heart of the magical Coromandel Peninsula. With 180 degree panoramic views over Buffalo Beach and Mercury Bay from all units you are only metres away from safe swimming and fantastic boating in the beautiful waters of Mercury Bay. Make the most of this opportunity to relax and unwind in one of New Zealand's most acclaimed scenic regions. The Oceanside is just a 10 minute stroll along the beach to Whitianga's renowned cafes and restaurants, the wharf and marina complex plus the Village shopping centre. With just a 2 minute drive we are one of the closest motels to the international acclaimed The Lost Spring Thermal Pools & Spa complex. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oceanside Motel Whitianga

Address: 32 Buffalo Beach Road | Whitianga, Whitianga, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Whitianga
Price Range: RM446 - RM887 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oceanside Motel Whitianga 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oceanside Motel Whitianga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitianga
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitianga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Oceanside Motel Whitianga staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nice view from rooms up the top.”
 of 5 bubbles OliveAuckland, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Upper rooms have excellent views”
 of 5 bubbles DeeAtkinson, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Nothing required other than possible drinks for the weary traveller. ”
 of 5 bubbles GavinM268, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If have mobility issues / choose downstairs rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles lizzzie_10, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“hey are all good. Better view from the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles 281StephenF, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5