We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Esplanade Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Management photos
Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 63: English reviews
Start your review of Esplanade Hotel
 Click to rate
White Plains, New York
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

They have done some upgrades but this an overnight place just to crash and sleep. No real amenities other then vending machines. You can walk a block to a choice of 14 different bars and/or restaurants. Very moderate price.

Thank Ray P
Reviewed 6 July 2016

First I make reservations online, after half hour I been this hotel and check in , after I got room key , I want to third floor room 305', I open the door and light , at the same time I feel I do not like this place , building old and light feel dark, and the bed comforters and...

Thank Jing C
New Windsor, New York
Reviewed 9 April 2016

First, for the price (which isn't that cheap) they could've done more. The rooms were outdated and old, the bathroom smelled of bad water. And the carpet looked as if it had been there since the hotel was built. They are extremely understaffed , the hotel doubles as a senior living home and I can only hope that they're moderately...

Thank Jasmine A
Reviewed 4 April 2016 via mobile

We visited this hotel with a coach party from the south. Our room had badly fitting single -glazed dirty windows one of which would not open whilst the other had to be jammed with toilet paper to stop it rattling in the wind. The bathroom was dated and had paper peeling off the ceiling and bath taps encrusted with lime...

Thank Rogrita
Michael E, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

I believe you might have the wrong hotel. We never had a coach party from the south stay with us. We do not have restrooms (baths) adjacent to the entrance of the hotel. Furthermore, we do not offer hot breakfast. We only offer a limited continental breakfast. We do not offer dinner. We would appreciate it if you removed the...

Fountain Valley, CA
Reviewed 28 October 2015

We booked this through Priceline since we wanted to stay in one place 4 nights while we toured Sleepy Hollow/Tarrytown and NYC. We arrived after dark and the location was downright scary. The room was suffocatingly hot, and maintenance could not resolve the problem. They said they could not guarantee it would be fixed the next day either. So we...

Thank bconley351
hartland vt
Reviewed 1 July 2015

When I booked this hotel I looked through the reviews. Many are negative, but some are positive. As I was looking for a place to sleep on a bit of a budget, I took a chance. That was a terrible idea. This hotel is HORRIBLE. It is a retirement home/Alzheimer's senior living center that is renting out spare rooms as...

3Thank jasonarch68
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

The experience from arrival,room, breakfast to departure was fair at best. I will give the gentleman who manned the check-in/reception desk upon arrival two thumbs up. He was pleasant and efficient. He explained about wifi available only in the lobby, complimentary breakfast and laundry service in the adjacent building. Found out that their connection to Priceline was just to hold...

1Thank BuffaloSue
Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 24 October 2014

I am a frequent flyer to White Plains New York. I am here once or twice a year for about 3 months each time. I have stayed at this hotel (Corporate Suites) more than anywhere else (Of course besides home). There is a block for the old aged in this hotel, dont get confused with that, this is the corporate...

1Thank Sameer2184
Michael E, Front Office Manager at Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. For extended stay we service the room once a week due to the lower rate provided. We look forward to seeing you again sometime soon Best regards

Bologna, Italy
Reviewed 6 October 2014

STAY FAR AWAY FROM THE ESPLANADE- the hotel is a dump. Last renovation must have been in the 1970s, everything about this place is old, run-down, and gross. The Esplanade also owns the nursing home directly across the street, and the two buildings are actually connected via tunnel on the 4th floor....it's weird. Let me list all the horrible things...

4Thank AlyssaLynnC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2014 via mobile

I read the earlier reviews and expect to the worth. We spend the last weekend there for a family event and we had a good surprise. The building still looked old and the reception not really looked promise but the rooms was good and just renovated. The location is great.

Thank Alonkessler

18 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (10)
Room/Suite (5)
Bathroom (4)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (8)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these White Plains hotels
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza White Plains Downtown
0.5 km away
Cambria hotel & suites White Plains - Downtown
0.6 km away
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Westchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
HYATT house White Plains
HYATT house White Plains
#4 of 8 in White Plains
518 reviews
0.9 km away
Residence Inn White Plains Westchester County
4.0 km away
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
Renaissance Westchester Hotel
#5 of 8 in White Plains
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of White Plains, The Esplanade Hotel and Corporate Housing is Westchester New York's most convenient choice for business and leisure travelers. Rich in American history and vibrant as it creates its High-Tech present and future, White Plains is perfect for getaways, short-stay housing and corporate extended-stay relocation. The Esplanade Hotel is your suitable hotel choice as well when you attend business meetings throughout the area. MetroNorth rail station within walking distance, and be in Midtown Manhattan in 30-40 minutes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Esplanade Hotel

Address: 4 Lyon Pl, White Plains, NY 10601-5415
Region: United States > New York > Westchester County > White Plains
Price Range: RM385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Esplanade Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel White Plains
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All of the rooms are terrible. If you choose to stay here, don't be picky. It won't matter.”
jasonarch68, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
“If you are the one to keep your windows open all the time chose the rooms on the other side of the hotel as front facing ones are exposed to the paking lot thats right opposite the hotel.”
Sameer2184, 23 Oct 2014 | Read review
“do not stay here”
AlyssaLynnC, 5 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Stay up on the 2nd or 3rd floors. If you don't want to see the funeral home get a room that faces the parking garage.”
Acegirl1960, 15 May 2014 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the scond floor. A little more money, but worth it”
LastFrontierTvlr, 24 Apr 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
* /night
View Deal
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates