We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Motel

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 287: English reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We have stayed at Sunset multiple times now and we keep coming back for more. Lorrie and her friendly staff are great and really make you feel welcome. From the quaint and charming rooms to the convenient hotel location, this is perfect place to rest your head when you come to Brevard. The rooms are always clean and we love...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Courtney C
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those people and we are very grateful for guests like you!...

Fallston, Maryland
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Great, place to stay, easy walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc. The motel is clean, people are great and very helpful. Stayed in many of the rooms and all are more than expected. Will stay again soon!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tommaryland2016
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us! We’re delighted that we could exceed your expectations and provide excellent service. Thanks so much for your feedback, and please come and see us again soon! Lori

Pisgah Forest, North Carolina
Reviewed 13 September 2016

The Sunset Motel is an amazing place to stay. The staff are beyond friendly and helpful, and the owner went out of her way to accommodate myself, my business, and my dog!! I needed a very strong online connection in order to work and they went out of their way to make that happen for me. We were there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dpg64
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Your thoughtful review is a pleasure to read. We’re pleased to learn that our team went above and beyond your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again and again in the near future; and we thank you for staying with us! Lori

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

This is our fourth year staying at the Sunset Motel. We enjoy our visits each time. The motel is clean, everyone is friendly and helpful. We enjoy the throwback to years past and such fun. This is the only place we will stay in Brevard!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat C
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

You are most kind and definitely generous in taking your time to post this! Eternally grateful and look forward to having you with us again! Lori

Jacksonville
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We found this cute little motel and loved it. Planned to only stay 2 days but extended to 4 just because we were so comfortable at the Sunset. The room was very clean and spacious. Staff was excellent with several recommendations of area activities and great food. We will most certainly be returning to enjoy another stay and find more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rex W
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us online! We’re so happy that you enjoyed the motel and that you found our team to be helpful and courteous. We hope to see you again for another stay sometime soon! Lori

Reviewed 3 September 2016

Excellent accomidations and superior friendly folks up in Brevard , thank you for all , Best os best trails around bent at DuPont , Ridgeline',,,kkkkkkkkkkkkk'$ Hhhhhhhhhhhhhh,m, thank you , best food and you can walk to downtown

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg R
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 2 September 2016

This motel should be considered a national treasure: It is a 1950's roadside "motel" that was common during that era, but has been totally refurbished, renovated, and updated to 21st century standards. As was the design back then, the rooms are typically small, but even before you walk in, you will notice the attention-to-detail in how they are appointed. Door...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Randy M
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your thoughtful glowing review all the way from Rome! We are ecstatic to hear your thoughts on the motel and your time with usl! It was our pleasure to host you, and it pleases us more to know that you had an excellent stay. We hope that if you return to the U.S., we see...

United States
Reviewed 28 August 2016

I try to be positive about mom & pop establishments, and usually give them very good reviews. The Sunset Motel, however, was a disappointment. The 50s theme is nice, particularly in the lobby. The room was more "early garage sale" than a good 50s experience. The room was overall clean and the bed was adequate. The bathroom left a lot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EastBeachBum
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are sorry you found the motel lacking. We know that we are not for everyone and we also know you did not choose the motel, that it was booked for you. Thank you for letting us know about the AC. We took care of that as soon as we saw this. We work hard to correct room issues as...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Overall, we were happy with our stay here. The price was good, our room was mostly clean and the location was great. I say mostly because there was some mold on our shower curtain, but I informed the staff and it was attended to. There were some minor things in our room that appeared to be in disrepair, like paint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarRey
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We consider reviews from guests to be an important part of our business because it reflects upon how well we serve our customers. We apologize for anything that was in disrepair. When guests let us know things like this, we take care of it . The bathroom ceiling was painted 2 days ago FYI. We will continue to work extremely...

Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The motel is in 50's/60's themed retro vibe from the sign outside to the room decor. We stayed in room 8, a clean and comfortable room with good, basic amenities. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a huge room in a modern hotel, Marriott style, this ain't it, if you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Nick, judging by your comments, it sounds like you get the essence of who we are and what we offer - a quaint "retrovated" mid-century motor court offering a unique personal experience for those who want to spend most of their money on what they do while in Brevard, NC, not where they stay. Come as a guest but leave...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
552 reviews
27.4 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#4 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
29.6 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
61 reviews
28.2 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Price Range: RM431 - RM532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Pikeville, Kentucky
Florence, South Carolina
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are pet friendly rooms for a nominal fee.”
mks532017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is an older property that has been spruced up. Great character!”
Backroadryder, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room #9 was absolutely lovely!”
lfaulkenberry001, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are different size rooms, and some pet friendly rooms.”
PamMorrisR, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Not sure other than that there are limited pet friendly rooms and you need to advise in advance if you have a pet.”
794JanetS, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
Hotels.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates