We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunset Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sunset Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

292 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Overall, we were happy with our stay here. The price was good, our room was mostly clean and the location was great. I say mostly because there was some mold on our shower curtain, but I informed the staff and it was attended to. There were some minor things in our room that appeared to be in disrepair, like paint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarRey
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We consider reviews from guests to be an important part of our business because it reflects upon how well we serve our customers. We apologize for anything that was in disrepair. When guests let us know things like this, we take care of it . The bathroom ceiling was painted 2 days ago FYI. We will continue to work extremely...

Mooresville, North Carolina
Reviewed 23 August 2016

The motel is in 50's/60's themed retro vibe from the sign outside to the room decor. We stayed in room 8, a clean and comfortable room with good, basic amenities. The staff at check-in and check-out were very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a huge room in a modern hotel, Marriott style, this ain't it, if you're looking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Nick, judging by your comments, it sounds like you get the essence of who we are and what we offer - a quaint "retrovated" mid-century motor court offering a unique personal experience for those who want to spend most of their money on what they do while in Brevard, NC, not where they stay. Come as a guest but leave...

Orangeburg, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 August 2016

A delightful change from the big hotel chains. Reminds me of family trip motels in the 50s/60s. Very helpful staff. Good location. All the basics for a good nights rest. Looking forward to staying in their "seasonal tent" in October.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cjemeryjr
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for saying such positive things about your experience at The Sunset Motel! We look forward to seeing you this fall. We believe you will truly enjoy our "glamping on steroids" experience! Lori

Reviewed 19 August 2016

From the minute you walk into the lobby to register, you'll feel like you've walked back in time. But this is all good as the owner has renovated this charming "days gone by" motel. It's very clean and within a short walk to all that downtown Brevard has to offer - great restaurants and shops. It's a great place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about The Sunset Motel and our location. It is always a great pleasure to hear about new customers discovering us. We are committed to providing unique quality and a guest-focused staff that you will enjoy and hopefully keep you coming back. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Gratefully, Lori

Reviewed 19 August 2016

The Sunset Motel is a "Blast From the Past", but in a good way! This brought back memories of childhood. I love how the current owner has updated this charm of a motel from the 60's era. As soon as you walk in the lobby to check in you see the metal dining table and chairs and memorabilia/decorations from this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ricky J
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 15 August 2016

A list minute need for a roof over my head before camping took me to the Sunset Motel. Don't waste your time at a major chain when you can stay in a gem like this! It's like time travel back to the 1950's. Walk to town for breakfast or shopping and close to everything great about the Mt. Pisgah region.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane D
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent visit and for your willingness to share your important feedback with the online review community. A specific thanks as well for your laudatory remarks . Please come back and continue to tell the world of how special our location truly is.

Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewed 12 August 2016

This was a wonderful, quaint, relic from the past that was perfect for us. We had side by side rooms with friends, sat outside on the breezeway and really enjoyed the cute "front yard". The rooms were great, clean and roomy, the best beds we've slept in in a long time! The staff, especially John, was more than friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kapur99
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about The Sunset Motel. It is always a great pleasure to hear that we are serving our customers well. We look forward to serving you again soon. Gratefully,The Sunset Motel

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

This is a great no frills motel that will suit your needs for a great price. Perfect for hikers, bikers and a overnight stay. Great WIFI and tv. Close to downtown for a nice evening out. Check out Dugan's Pub!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron H
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are proud to stay as busy as we are because of people like you, who write reviews, value money and are very careful how they spend it. We are known in our are as a lodging source that provides a good value for the money. Thank you for calling attention to that and please come back soon! Lori

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 August 2016

I was a little apprehensive from the photos, but this little gem was the ideal spot for my daughter and me to spend the night before dropping her off at an area sleepaway camp. The location is perfect--downtown Brevard is walking distance. The price is absolutely right. The rooms were decorated with a tongue-in-cheek nod to mid-century contempo style, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ptaatl
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

Thank you, Thank you and Thank you! First, for staying with us and second for describing our business in the wonderful fashion that you did. Third, for your praise about our pricing. We love it when our guests are inspired to share with others how our prices make it possible to visit and experience our first business. Please know that...

Fort Pierce, Florida
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Sunset Motel for three nights at the end of July. Our group consisted of myself, my daughter and grandchildren and my friend and her daughter and grandchild. We had two rooms next door to each other and our stay was so much fun that it's ruined us for other hotels! After we left Brevard and traveled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
SunsetOwner, Owner at Sunset Motel, responded to this review

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our motel and service, it takes a special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that we are your...

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brevard
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brevard
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn Brevard
Hampton Inn Brevard
#1 of 2 in Pisgah Forest
555 reviews
27.4 km away
CedarWood Inn
CedarWood Inn
#5 of 11 in Hendersonville
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cashiers-Sapphire Valley
28.2 km away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
29.6 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Hendersonville
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Sunset Motel is a hip, unique and affordable 50's roadside motor court that has been lovingly "retrovated" with modern amenities (Wifi,mini fridge,microwave,coffee maker,blow dryer,flat-screen TV,HBO,Cable). We are always improving! Our little blast-from-the-past is centrally located between DuPont & Pisgah Forests and within walking distance to downtown. Each room is unique and all but one are on ground-level, 2 with kitchens, 3 with kitchenettes.Lounge about on our patio in vintage chairs and strike up a conversation with other guests over a glass of your fave libation. We offer the best of Southern hospitality. Come as our guest. Leave as our friend! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Motel

Address: 523 S Broad St, Brevard, NC 28712-4044
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Brevard
Price Range: RM429 - RM530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunset Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Motel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Pikeville, Kentucky
Florence, South Carolina
2 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Sunset Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“rooms at the back are towards the forest”
BarbaraS362, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are pet friendly rooms for a nominal fee.”
mks532017, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“This is an older property that has been spruced up. Great character!”
Backroadryder, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room #9 was absolutely lovely!”
lfaulkenberry001, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“There are different size rooms, and some pet friendly rooms.”
PamMorrisR, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5