We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cape Hatteras Motel

Save
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (62)
Pool & Beach (19)
Ratings and reviews
Certificate of Excellence
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good29%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“rocking chairs”(25 reviews)
“oceanfront room”(16 reviews)
“building c”(5 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Beachfront
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Suites
Kitchenette
Free Breakfast
Restaurant
Room Service
Fitness centre
Pets Allowed
1 Star Hotel
Cape Hatteras Motel is located on the oceanfront in Buxton North Carolina. We are located about a mile down the beach from the famous Cape Hatteras Lighthouse. The motel is bordered by the Cape Hatteras National Seashore and the Atlantic Ocean. The motel has a fresh water pool with a...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
46556 Hwy 12, Buxton, Hatteras Island, NC 27920
18 restaurants are within a 2 km radius
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
134
84
41
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
134
84
41
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsoceanfront roombuilding cthe outer bankssound of the wavessaw dolphinsocean sidebeach loverscloser to the beachtop floornational seashorefell asleepice machinebed was very comfortablefirst floorcoffee potsmall fridge
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 288 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The location was good but the rooms were very old, dirty carpet, large mounds of sand were all over the property. The buildings looked beaten up, kitchen was old, rusty refrigerator, 3 plates, family of six. Do not recommend 😕

Thank bowie6_11
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Simple room that is nostalgic to old beach houses with a million dollar view. You Cannot beat the location right on the beach. The only complaint is that the crashing surf may keep you up at night.we will be back, highly recommended.

Thank John L
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Great location, but the motel is FILTHY. We were killing roaches every day. Dirty, dated, tv was not working right, bug infested, the bathroom drawer had 3 razors left over from previous guests, there were 2 forks and a couple plates for a 2 room...More

Thank Sabina S
Response from Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras MotelResponded 2 days ago

We take the satisfaction of our guests very seriously and try to respond to every review. If we didn’t I would not have known you had an issue with your accommodations. One trip down to the office and you could have relocated to another room....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is older motel that reminds one of grandmother's motel. But it has the best location right next to National Seashore and one can walk miles without seeing anyone. You can also walk to restaurants, which is a good thing. It does have a pool....More

1  Thank Linda U
Response from Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. Hope you’ll come back. We are updating each year.

Reviewed 5 June 2018 via mobile

This was the perfect place to stay. The motel rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable and on the beach. The staff is welcoming, warm and friendly. Great location. We did a day trip to Ocracoke and spent the rest of the time in the Hatteras area....More

Thank Susan T M
Response from Dave D, Owner at Cape Hatteras MotelResponded 6 June 2018

We are so happy you had a great stay! Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

View more reviews
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Pool
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Beachfront
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Things to do
Pool
Outdoor pool
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$153 - US$314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (186)
Room & Suite (62)
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
kimmycones
11 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dave D | Property representative |
The gentleman above was correct - I think you are thinking of Corolla. We do have Beach horseback rides in Buxton but that's something different than what you're thinking of. The horses on Ocracoke are viewed from an... More
0
Votes
ashmarie8504
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Dave D | Property representative |
We allocate one car per room on the oceanfront. Additional cars, trailers, etc. can be placed on the soundside. Thanks for asking.
0
Votes
budowskyeric
7 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Dave D | Property representative |
We do not accept pets.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Love the townhouse"
Read review
"Pay for sea view at top floor ... room 312 is OK"
Read review
"we up to a suites and it was well worth the money"
Read review
"The higher up the better the view."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing