We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Drifters Reef Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Drifters Reef Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Drifters Reef Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Pittsburgh
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

The Drifters Reef Hotel is run down, not clean, and the rooms smell like smoke. There is a bar next door that has an outside band. The band goes until midnight. The place is disgusting. Do yourself a favor and don't stay here. The beds are held up with ply wood and the board stick out from under the mattress....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mary R
driftersreef, General Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

All of our rooms are non smoking. I want to apologize for your room smelling like smoke. Although we have non smoking rooms, some people don't follow the rules and if they smoke in our rooms there is a 200.00 fine that is paid. respectfully, Laura

Blacksburg, Virginia
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We have traveled with our dog many times and we realize that most pet friendly hotels are not the Four Seasons. Given that, we knew not to expect much. There is a $20/night additional charge for the dog. When we got there, the room faintly smelled like cigarettes even though there was a no smoking sign on the door. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank scooternje
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just want to take the time to respond to this review. I know the office is open 24 hours so the front desk would of been glad to fix any issues during your stay. We have been painting and upgrading rooms so this shouldn't be an issue anymore. We also have a brand new dog park in back of...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Stayed over the 2015 Memorial Day weekend to do some Megladon tooth diving. Minimum stay required was 3 days. Parking:slightly less than adequate; if you were lucky you may get to park in front of your room. Room: basic, nothing special room. Ceiling/walls:could hear everything; got less than 6 hours a night, which made for a rough dive the next...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billy T
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there. I just read your review, I am glad the front desk clerk was able to get your reservation cleared up. when you book through third party there is no guarantee where your room will be. I apologize that the parking was an issue. We do have an overflow parking area, when it does get busy, specially on holiday...

Reviewed 9 September 2015

We arrived the day after labor day and on the surface the place looked good. If you never look much farther, you'd be fine. Fresh paint but soiled bathroom floor, no hooks anywhere to hang things, 2towels and 2 washcloths only, worn out cheap bedspread, newer refrig and microwave, shabby poorly installed carpeting, on the main drag,,,yes, we will stay...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SCRAPPYJupiter
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Hello there. I just wanted to let you know that now the busy season is coming to an end, we are going to be doing some updates, as far as new comforters and updating the bathrooms. Thank you so much for your input, we appreciate your business. Laura

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 8 September 2015

2 bedroom apartment was amazing. Rooms are large and clean. Love having a 360 view of everything. water pressure in bathroom isn't the greatest, but not the worst. Kitchen is fully stocked. Central air and ceiling fans! Dart board was broken and missing darts, probably from previous guests, but foosball table kept my daughter entertained. Staff has been friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
driftersreef, General Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there! Just wanted to take a minute and thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay at Drifter's Reef Hotel. We appreciate your business and looking forward to seeing you again real soon. Laura

Reviewed 25 August 2015 via mobile

We got a room at about 9pm at night. I say this because we were lucky to get it on an impromptu visit to pleasure island. I think around 135+tax. Problem is they put us in a metal building and the room was ~100°. I assume the building is an overflow for the regular hotel, so I can't speak to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank James M
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just wanted to take the time to thank you for reviewing Drifter's Reef Hotel. I am glad you were able to get a room on short notice. You are correct that those rooms are the over flow rooms.I hope that next time you are in Carolina Beach you will stay with us again. We are a family oriented and...

Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The rooms were clean, and smoke free. Front desk staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay at the motel. I recommend this motel and if you have a dog they have pet friendly rooms available. The restaurant next door was a great experience as well. You don't even have to leave the property, fun fun place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beach Walker M
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review for Drifter's Reef Hotel. Hope to see you again real soon! Laura

Reviewed 10 August 2015 via mobile

My husband, kids & myself stayed here the first weekend in August 2015 It was so nice! The rooms are smaller but very clean and comfy! The rates are exactly what u would expect! The staff saved us from the horrible reservations we made at Russo's!! I called in a panic for a room and they gladly helped us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erin C A
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Drifter's Reef Hotel. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay here. We are family oriented and we try to acomadate all age groups. We do have larger rooms available as well. Thanks again, and looking forward to seeing you and family again real soon. Lauea

Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Ok where do I start.... #1. walked in and the bathroom sink was leaking all over the floor....call the front desk to report it... no one seem to care.... construction of the bar next door and the hotel was terrible and made it impossible to get in and out of the parking lot....No clean towel! the housekeeper informed us that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Cage L
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just wanted to thank you for taking time to review the Drifter's Reef Hotel. I apologize that your room wasn't in good working condition. We have fixed the issues that were wrong with the room. We do have an overflow parking lot around back available as well. We also have a grilling area with picnic tables available also. We...

Sanford
Reviewed 20 July 2015

At check in, I gladly paid the the price of $293 for 2 nights of loud music until 3am and an air conditioner that was louder than the music. The clerk said "I would get $10 back for key deposit". At check out, I was told "NO we don't do that". I was able to over look all of the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Mary W
driftersreef, Manager at Drifters Reef Hotel, responded to this review

I just want to apologize to you for the inconveniences you had during your stay. I am not sure about the 10.00 key deposit, the only deposit we take are pet fee of 20.00 each day. I wish I had the chance to address this issue with you when it occurred. Again just wanted to apologize for the inconveniences during...

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carolina Beach hotels
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Carolina Beach
0.8 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
2.0 km away
Golden Sands
Golden Sands
#2 of 19 in Carolina Beach
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Savannah Inn
The Savannah Inn
#4 of 19 in Carolina Beach
129 reviews
0.6 km away
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
Surfside Lodge Oceanfront
#11 of 19 in Carolina Beach
227 reviews
0.5 km away
Carolina Beach Inn
Carolina Beach Inn
#2 of 3 in Carolina Beach
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Drifter's Reef Hotel is located in the heart of Carolina Beach, North Carolina and offers you great accommodations at a reasonable price. We offer microwaves, mini frigs, air conditioning, cable, free Wi-Fi, large outdoor pool, charcoal grills, volleyball courts, laundry facilities, onsite restaurant and bar. The Lazy Pirate is our famous award winning restaurant boasting legendary wings and crab shack! All quests will receive a 10% discount on food purchases! Carolina Beach's charter fishing fleet, top of the line cruise boats, excellent shopping at the Carolina Beach Boardwalk, fine restaurants and our beautiful beaches are all within a few short blocks and easy walking distance. Drifter's Reef Hotel has 57 rooms consisting of King rooms, Double rooms, Double Deluxe, Double Suites and a 2 Bedroom Full Apartment. We hope you will choose Drifter's Reef Hotel for your next vacation!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Drifters Reef Hotel

Address: 701 N Lake Park Blvd, Carolina Beach, NC 28428
Region: United States > North Carolina > Carolina Beach
Price Range: RM421 - RM930 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drifters Reef Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Drifters Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Reef Hotel Carolina Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Drifters Reef Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Knoxville, Tennessee
Glouster, Ohio
Winston Salem, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Drifters Reef Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not get a room across from the security lights”
 of 5 bubbles hippsjerryjudi, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If your dog is at all nervous of loud noises - fine someplace else to stay!”
 of 5 bubbles scooternje, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you call, not online.”
 of 5 bubbles 886billyt, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“first floor has usual easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles SCRAPPYJupiter, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“2 bedroom apartment room 200 is great for families!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 867kathrynl, 7 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5