We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Dunhill Hotel

CancelonUS$114*
View Deal
#38 of 177 Hotels in Charlotte
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$127*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$127*
US$127*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Dunhill Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

410 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 407: English reviews
Start your review of The Dunhill Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel was one of my best experiences I have had . I don't have one complaint, everything was great. The staff, the cleanlyness of the entire hotel, the beds and pillows are so comfortable , the food was excellent also. I have back problems and everyone was so accommodating, the young gentelmen at the front desk drove me to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 593debrav
Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Perfect location right in the heart of Uptown - excellent for those seeking to explore Charlotte's museums, nightlife and arenas. Beautifully decorated, excellent amenities, and fantastic room service (try the beignets!) So happy I stayed here!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C B
South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is great. History is great. This busy little spot is very nice for those who prefer to avoid mega hotels. The room was lovely, very nice amenities. We will go back and yes, we recommend the Dunhill to others.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alleycat0
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alleycat0, Thank you for your review. It sounds like The Dunhill Hotel was a great fit for your visit to Charlotte. I'm glad that you were comfortable and enjoyed our ambience and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our children gave us a two-night stay for a Christmas gift as we planned to attend the recent Neil Diamond concert in Charlotte, NC. Our love of historic buildings was their reason for choosing the Dunhill. We had a wonderful time. Every employee that we came in contact with was superb!! Valet parking, front desk folks, bartender and turn-down attendant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye G
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Faye, Thank you for your feedback. What a thoughtful gift from your children! I'm delighted that you enjoyed your experience, from The Dunhill Hotel's historic character and southern charm, to the inventive and delectable Asbury menu. Our collective hotel + restaurant team look forward to the opportunity to serve you again! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Asheville, NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent a night in this hotel while attending an event at the Spectrum Center. The hotel has a great location in downtown Charlotte; it was an easy walk to the theater & dinner. I can't say enough good things about the staff. The front desk staff was very friendly & anxious to be sure any questions that we might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luvtarheelstate
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear luvtarheelstate, Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed The Dunhill's convenient Uptown location, and that you felt welcomed and well cared for by our guest service team. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with breakfast, and will ensure that your feedback is used for improvements in that area. We hope to welcome you...

Calabasas, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for four nights at the beginning of May for a Charlotte museum and gallery visiting trip. The hotel has a great location. The staff is very good, and I enjoyed its historical significance. The complimentary breakfast is nice. I would definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, I appreciate your feedback. The Dunhill's location is certainly convenient for exploring the best of Charlotte's museums and galleries! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed doing so, and that you found our history and amenities appealing. Please visit again if your travels bring you back to Charlotte. Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent one night at the start of a southern road trip. The Dunhill was a great choice. It is in the middle of the Uptown neighborhood with good access to everything. The public spaces in the hotel are comfortable and great places to hang out. Our room was very comfortable. It was a slightly larger room with a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dtgoug
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dtgoug, Thank you for sharing your experience. It sounds like The Dunhill was a perfect fit for your travel preferences. We hope that you have an opportunity to visit us again, soon! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Small Charming Boutique hotel. Rooms are pretty and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and service is excellent. Great location is a plus as this hotel is right in the middle of the financial / business district. Will stay there again next time I'm in charlotte.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jawdat S
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jawdat S, Thank you for your feedback. I'm thrilled you enjoyed the aesthetic and comfort of our guest rooms, as well as your interactions with our service team. We look forward to your next stay with us! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

SC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed overnight with my husband to catch a local show. Good hotel, nice enough staff, great location. Check in was easy enough, however I had to call twice in order to confirm the reservation, they had never sent the email the first time. No big deal, again, great little spot of uptown.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CretanLuv
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CretanLuv, Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you and your husband enjoyed your time in Charlotte, and that The Dunhill's central location was convenient for you. Please visit us again, soon! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

West Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The Dunhill was a great place to stay. We were in town for a comedy show just for the night and were looking for somewhere with plenty of things within walking distance to go out after. The staff was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable from the front desk to the bell hops. They had an in house shuttle service that took...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pitty5000
Meredith Z, Manager at The Dunhill Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pitty5000, Thank you for your review. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your visit to Charlotte, including your time at The Dunhill Hotel, The Asbury, and our lobby bar. I hope you will choose to stay with us again if your future travels bring you back to the area. Until then, take care! Sincerely, Meredith Zingraff Front Office Supervisor

326 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Deluxe Queen Room (23)
Viewed
Executive King Room (17)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (51)
Viewed
Premiere Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (30)
Viewed
Vintage Double Queen Room (16)
Viewed
Vintage Queen Room (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (31)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlotte hotels
Second Ward
Hampton Inn Charlotte - Uptown
Second Ward
Omni Charlotte Hotel
Omni Charlotte Hotel
#42 of 177 in Charlotte
1,933 reviews
Third Ward
Charlotte Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Second Ward
Hilton Garden Inn Charlotte Uptown
Third Ward
Courtyard Charlotte City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Decades before The Dunhill Hotel would open, local architect Louis Asbury Sr. was entranced by the great Italian craftsmen who created cathedrals famous for their soaring, elegant roof lines. Today, The Dunhill Hotel stands distinct on the Charlotte skyline, an amalgam of American, British, and Italian influences, something those with an eye for period detail can detect. Opened in 1929 as the Mayfair Manor apartment hotel, with half of its original 100 rooms permanent residences, today's Dunhill Hotel is a thoughtful evolution. A full restoration was recently completed, and various on-going aesthetic improvements all share a common goal--to celebrate the original vision of Mr. Asbury, with a nod to the needs of the modern traveler. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Dunhill Hotel

Address: 237 N Tryon St, Charlotte, NC 28202-2136
Region: United States > North Carolina > Charlotte > Fourth Ward
Price Range: RM554 - RM1,521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Dunhill Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Dunhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunhill Hotel Charlotte
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Charlotte
#35 Business Hotel in Charlotte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Dunhill Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Forest City, North Carolina
over a year ago
5 months ago
Maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Dunhill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms are very nice my family had 3 rooms all different.”
593debrav, 23 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for Rm 1005.”
Alleycat0, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on upper floors have a little bit better view”
dtgoug, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Entire hotel quiet. I stayed on the 6th floor but rooms are all nice, neat and clean and have turn down service every night.”
zimrut2017, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't get the standard queen room. The rooms are extremely small and don't have a real closet, just an alcove with a curtain.”
975AnneM, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$114* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$127
Expedia.comUS$127
TravelocityUS$127
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates