We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Yogi in the Smokies

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherokee
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

108 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 108: English reviews
Start your review of Yogi in the Smokies
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was my 3rd or 4th year in a row coming here with my family. We always stay in one of the larger cabins (which are the perfect "tiny house" size). The kids love the camp atmosphere. I did have some complaints this time, for the first time ever, I'm sad to say. Normally we get a riverside cabin on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CLFoxx
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us again, Cindy, and for taking the time to share the feedback from your most recent stay at the park! Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We appreciate your suggestions and will pass them along to our management team to review. We hope to see you all...

Creedmoor, North Carolina
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We recently visited for a couple of week days in mid-April. The location is gorgeous. If you're coming from the "Triangle" - Raleigh/Durham/Etc, then you're going to drive almost 90 minutes PAST Asheville, so it's a bit of a haul. But the camp location is pure "mountains" and also right on a fantastic river. Almost everywhere at the camp, you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zack R
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for camping with us, Zach, and for taking the time to leave this wonderful and detailed review! We are glad that you enjoyed the amenities that we have to offer our guests, as well as our location to Mingo Falls and the city of Cherokee. We do appreciate you bringing the water temperature problem to our attention. We...

Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed with how clean the facilities were! Bathrooms, showers, and the grounds in general were very well kept! Super friendly staff! We loved the playground and all the activities. Fishing was awesome! Not crowded at all! We had 2 adults and 4 kids ranging from age 2-17. Something for all of us to do! The resort does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jjwyatt4
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Wow, we appreciate such kind words! We are thrilled that you were impressed with our standard of cleanliness throughout our campground. Our staff is great and works hard every day to make sure things are in great shape for our guests. Thank you for your review, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

eastern shore
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

We have not even arrived yet and one employee had earned my 5 star rating. We were desperately trying to find site for Easter weekend and Christina came through for us. We love Yogi Best campgrounds and are looking forward to visiting this one for the 1st time. Thank you Christina :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank medic4purple
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your sweet words! Christina is one of the best and we are so thankful to have such a helpful member on our team. We hope you ended up having a great stay!

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

This is a very neat place and the staff is so nice. I would recommend this place for anyone wanting to camp while in Cherokee. Plenty of family activities and kids are fishing 🎣 all over the place. The lady at the Ranger Station does a great Yogi Bear 🐻 impression. Be sure to get your fishing license to fish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review and recommendation, Tim! We are happy you enjoyed some of our fun activities and entertainment. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

This is either our 4th or 5th trip here and this is the first time I've ever really had a complaint. The kids have always had a great time rain or shine because the activities pavilion has always been open. Now it's all closed up and it's only open on certain days. What a crock! If it's raining they shouldn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jburrell1980
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and please accept our sincere apologies that your stay with us was not as perfect as we would have hoped. We do scale back our activities slightly during the first few weeks of the season, as we don't have quite as many guests who are in the park to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Bed Bug Cabin infestation. Cabin #93 We spent one week in cabin #93. Checked in on August 06, checked out on August 14, 2016( husband +wife+ one 8 year old little girl). We enjoyed the campground, the pool and the activities, however our stay became a very painful one by the end of the week. Unfortunately we only figure out...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arianna H
Brian S, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Arianna, and please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you had during your stay. We did respond to your previous review on Facebook, which is still posted there and was not deleted. As you are no doubt aware, this is not an issue related to the cleanliness of...

Thomson, Georgia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

The people were great, friendly, and outgoing from the desk to the guy that showed us to the campsite. The only problem with being a crowded time of year there were only 2 lots open as we were planning on staying longer than a week. we only are pulling a 15 footer, waiting on our 5th wheeler. the lot was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William H
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave is a review, William. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We would have done our best to have helped you hook up to your site, had we known of the trouble that you were having during your stay. We also do have a dump...

Atlanta, GA
Reviewed 7 October 2016

We attempted to make a reservation through their third party BookYourSite.com reservation system. When we received no final confirmation, I called them. They were already fully booked, even though BookYourSite.com showed they had availability. Also, even though I had entered the information, correctly, they had my 40 ft RV camper trailer listed for a tent site. The lady owner on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DUTCH_Van_Atlanta
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not satisfied with your stay. We do appreciate your feedback about our reservation process and will pass along your comments to our management team. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress and wish you all the best.

North Augusta, SC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We just got back from staying here and it is the first time in almost 30 years. It has greatly improved over that time, but still has a few issues that keep it from getting 5 stars. Pros: 1. Great spot for a campground. Right alongside a river. Pay extra for the riverside spots. It is worth it. 2. Friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jbarrychristian
CamperSupport, Guest Relations Manager at Yogi in the Smokies, responded to this review

Wow.. we can't believe it has been over 30 years since you have last visited our park! We appreciate your feedback about our improvements and are glad that you had good stay overall. Due to our location nestled in the Great Smoky Mountains, cell service is very limited for several carriers. Please accept our sincere apologies that you were not...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (53)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherokee
7.2 km away
Great Smokies Inn
Great Smokies Inn
#14 of 28 in Cherokee
200 reviews
7.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
9.7 km away
Harrah's Cherokee Casino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Lloyds on the River Country Inn
10.9 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Cherokee
8.0 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 28 in Cherokee
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Yogi in the Smokies

Address: 317 Galamore Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-5515 (Formerly Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park Cherokee)
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Mountains > Cherokee
Number of rooms: 183
Also Known As:
Yogi Bear`s Jellystone Park Cherokee Hotel Cherokee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Yogi in the Smokies staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Daytona Beach
6 months ago
Syracuse, New York
West Jefferson
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Slatington, Pennsylvania
2 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Yogi in the Smokies staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get a site on the river”
ZackR_12, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose cabins”
  • Live bed bug. I give it to the office
851ariannah, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Find a site where your sewer hose is higher than the discharge hole”
O3606BZwilliamh, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get riverside spot and ask if it has cable and a grilltop”
jbarrychristian, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Riverside sites are worth the extra few dollars!”
  • View from our campsite
  • View from our campsite
ncjettech, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5