We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Cherokee / Great Smokies KOA

    92 Koa Campground Rd, Cherokee, NC 28719-6451
    (828) 408-0761
    Hotel website
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in CherokeeSee available hotels in Cherokee
    Traveller (144)
    Room & Suite (29)
    Pool & Beach (15)
    • Excellent48%
    • Very good26%
    • Average10%
    • Poor7%
    • Terrible9%
    Travellers talk about
    “jumping pillow” (13 reviews)
    “outdoor pool” (27 reviews)
    “trout ponds” (6 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Pets Allowed
    Free Wifi
    Breakfast included
    Room Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (392)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year

    1 - 5 of 389 reviews

    Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

    Upon checking in everything was great. We had a nice escort that showed us to our cabin.   We had a deluxe cabin with two queen beds. The cabin was warm & relaxing. The creek right out the front door was amazing! Perfect view and the...More

    4  Thank bornredprincess
    Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

    Thank you for your response it helps us grow and learn in customer service. I wish you all the best in finding your perfect campground.

    Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

    Highly recommend this KOA! We have stayed here a few times and have not been disappointed. It is probably one of the nicest spots from Maggie Valley to Gatlinburg if you like amenities. Last time we took our 30’ trailer and booked a VIP spot....More

    Thank Hbruns1
    Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

    We are so happy that you had a good time here with us. Hope you visit again soon.

    Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

    Stayed the night. Nice location, great to see Cherokee. The little cabins and the grounds were very clean. Late check in was a bit of a struggle due to low lighting. I would call ahead if you are going to be late getting in

    Thank klovan1
    Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

    Thank you for visiting with us hope you stay with us again.

    Reviewed 19 October 2017

    Simply wonderful. My family and I stayed 3 nights from 20th - 23rd August, across the Eclipse in an upgraded tent site. Despite being full to bursting it wasn't too noisy and I get the impression the staff reinforced quiet hours. Ladies bathrooms clean but...More

    Thank MissJely
    Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

    We are so glad you had a good time with us. The Eclipse was amazing. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

    Reviewed 10 October 2017

    Oct. 6-9TH trees are changing colors grounds are very well kept, mountains around everywhere, children could play on sight ride toys and bikes on roads in resort, not a lot of traffic. If you have a motorcycle this is a great place to camp and...More

    Thank cjeanie23
    Response from Joanne F, General Manager at Cherokee / Great Smokies KOAResponded 27 November 2017

    Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.

    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Hot Tub
    • Indoor pool
    • Outdoor pool
    • Number of rooms
    • 29
    • Location
    • United States >
    • North Carolina >
    • North Carolina Mountains >
    • Cherokee
    • Also Known As
    • Cherokee / Great Smokies Koa Hotel Cherokee
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (144)
    Room & Suite (29)
    Pool & Beach (15)
    Dining (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (114)
    Family and Play Areas (14)
    Bathroom (4)
    Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
    Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Cherokee
    Great Smokies Inn
    240 reviews
    4.15 km away
    Cherokee Lodge
    130 reviews
    4.25 km away
    Baymont Inn & Suites Cherokee Smoky Mountains
    1,105 reviews
    4.50 km away
    Pink Motel
    153 reviews
    4.79 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Brio Tuscan Grill
    1,348 reviews
    6.97 km away
    Peter's Pancakes & Waffles
    987 reviews
    4.69 km away
    Sassy Sunflowers Bakery & Cafe
    329 reviews
    4.12 km away
    Ruth's Chris Steak House
    634 reviews
    6.98 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Mingo Falls
    859 reviews
    .71 km away
    Mingus Mill
    158 reviews
    2.71 km away
    Museum of the Cherokee Indian
    1,157 reviews
    5.93 km away
    Mountain Farm Museum
    377 reviews
    2.81 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    destiny g
    4 October 2017|
    Response from Roadtripnana | Reviewed this property |
    Well... your visit has came and gone. My apologies for seeing your question. You can fish for sure. We didn’t personally see any other wildlife out of the normal deer, squirrels, and birds. Hope your trip was awesome!
    20 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from 143camp | Reviewed this property |
    When you check in ask them about he weather !! They will accommodate you if there are cabins available, you will be soaked if you stay in a tent that isn't properly covered or waterproofed
    Mary P
    30 April 2017|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from 143camp | Reviewed this property |
    They have a drop box outside of the office and you can fill out your paper and then finish check in the next morning if you know what site you are going to, but calling ahead would not be a bad idea
    Room Tips
    "All camp sights were laid out great, they also had alot cabins to rent very well done."
    Read review
    "River Cabins are the BEST!!!!"
    Read review
    "If you need Wi-Fi or Verizon coverage - forget it. You won't get those here."
    Read review
    "Whatever you do, don't stay at a yellow site that butts up against another yellow site."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing