We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn University

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Comfort Inn University
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

123 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 123: English reviews
Clarkton, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight so we could go to the "big" game. I loved this place. This place was clean and quite and the employees were all so lind and helpful! Wish we had a couple more days just to relax. I would love to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review

The Comfort Inn University Durham Chapel Hill’s team would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Our location to both Duke and UNC is ideal for many people. Evelyn Stapleton General Manager

Reviewed 28 October 2016

I needed a place to stay as I finished up my time working for Samaritan's Purse on Hurricane Matthew disaster relief. This is important to the review because the volunteer work was extremely physically challenging. So when I got to the Comfort Inn I was exhausted and needed good sleep. That's exactly what I got. Good A/C on top of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charlesf930
Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were in town for a UNC game. It was raining because of hurricane Mathew, so we decided stay the night. The hotel was way overpriced. We couldn't get the phone to work. The carpet was wet. Before we had a chance to get dinner the electricity went out. We waited in the dark hoping they had a generator. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annemarie M
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review

I am so sorry that the hurricane caused our power to go out. Our pricing was actual below market value with all the events going on in the area and what other hotels were charging. We were unable to check on our 100+ guest since the phone system was down due to power outage. I am surprised about your bed...

Oak Island, North Carolina
Reviewed 14 October 2016

We tried (unsuccessfully) to escape Hurricane Michael from our ocean front home in SE NC. All 3 local colleges had home football games so we paid about 50% inflated hotel rates for Friday & Saturday nights. Comfort Inn is conveniently located near Duke, UNC, I-40 and route 15/501. Free parking. Numerous restaurants, including Outback, and other shopping a very short...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobatthebeach999
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed for 1 night. We had a king size bed nice room clean. The bathroom was a bit small but it worked for a night. The breakfast bar was very nice and clean. Plenty of parking well light. We had a hot chocolate and we needed more hot water they told us to use the breakfast room the water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marti A
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We stayed at the Comfort Inn after a UNC football game. I booked through priceline express deal at an okay price. I believe it could have been better but oh well. I called to confirm the room while at the game since we would be checking in well after the game and I wanted to make sure we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis K
Washington
Reviewed 25 September 2016

while we stayed here we had a great time, then we had to check out. all was good until we received the bill, then it was discovered that the comfort inn had applied bogus charges to our card. $50 said it was for smoking in the room......we don't smoke....so how can they charge us right? well they did and refuse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kyle W
gmnc132, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review

We take the smoking charge very seriously and apply the fee because we are unable to sell the room due to the smell. It is not charged arbitrarily but is checked by a housekeeping manager and a front desk member.

Asheville, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 August 2016

On my way to Duke University Medical Center for work on my knees, Comfort Inn University in Durham couldn't be closer, or more compassionate, offering transportation from the hotel to your appointment, fantastic. Room are perfect and clean to a fault. Most importantly, first impressions count for a great deal, Joyce the Guesrt Services persons at the front desk, No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank virtual100
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 26 July 2016

I stayed with my daughter on a visit to UNC-Chapel Hill. It was perfect for our one night quick stay. Bedding was comfortable. Staff was pleasant. Breakfast was just what you have come to expect. There was bacon and cheese omelets, fruit, waffle maker, cereal, bagels, yogurt, etc. The property was clean and appeared to be well maintained. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrackMomof3
Concord, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Hotels in this area of Durham/Chapel- Hill are somewhat pricey in my opinion. That said, the Comfort Inn was available at at good price with nice amenities. It is located just off the main highway and easy to find. There are a number of dining options available including a nice Japanese Sushi restaurant and a Bob Evans within walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lukeduke2

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (25)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durham
0.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Durham-Chapel Hill-RTP
10.4 km away
Comfort Inn Medical Park
Comfort Inn Medical Park
#40 of 72 in Durham
40 reviews
2.7 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Durham Chapel Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Durham Chapel Hill
0.4 km away
SpringHill Suites Durham Chapel Hill
2.5 km away
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
Quality Inn Chapel Hill
#13 of 17 in Chapel Hill
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated Comfort Inn University hotel located between Durham and Chapel Hill, NC. Centrally located between Duke University and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and UNC Healthcare, the Comfort Inn® University provides easy access to Interstate 40 and Interstate 85. North Carolina Central University and Hillsborough are just minutes away from the hotel.The Raleigh-Durham International Airport is 14 miles away.Research Triangle Park, The Streets at SouthPoint and many other points of interest are just minutes from this Durham hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 3508 Mount Moriah Rd, Durham, NC 27707-9015
Region: United States > North Carolina > Durham
Price Range: RM360 - RM471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Comfort Inn University staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Comfort Inn University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“hotel is in great shape, not a bad room in the house!”
 of 5 bubbles virtual100, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Second floor has ice machine and is very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Lukeduke2, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Quiet floors; peacefully; very clean and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles globaljourneyt, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Two sets of elevators, the closest serves the rooms with the lower numbers.”
 of 5 bubbles genenurse, 31 Jan 2016 | Read review
“No recommendation on room selection, dont think I will stay again.”
 of 5 bubbles daverate, 30 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay