We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Breakwater Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
The Breakwater Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Breakwater Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 127: English reviews
Lake Jackson, Texas
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Crossed the ferry late and stumbled into this place. Little hard to find the sign in the rain and dark but what a jewel! This non-chain family owned (I think) place is really well done and would be happy to return when I have longer to enjoy. Our room was on the top floor and up to the standards of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JVSibley
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back and visit us again soon. The fishing has been great!

Shadyside, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewed 22 September 2015

We stayed at the Breakwater 9/11-9/20. We had the efficiency for a week, then moved to a regular room. It was myself, husband and our 5 y/o daughter. This is the older part of the motel, but we have never had any problems with that. The efficiency is a large room with 2 queen beds, dresser, couch, love seat, decent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sadez16
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

As always we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to return visit in the spring. We love being part of the vacation memories for your daughter.

Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewed 9 September 2015

Stayed over labor day they had 1 room left that was pet friendly it was in the older section of the hotel. which was primarily used for fisherman... rooms were older but clean, no frills or views in that part of the hotel the new section looked much nicer but was not pet friendly... pool was clean & they had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
Reviewed 20 August 2015

they dont tell you that the cheap rooms are in a small building off to the side and their breakfast sucked. sketchy microwave, cigar wrapper was left on the bed, did they clean the sheets? on the bright side the workers are friendly and if you forget something they will mail it to you and the ac was awesome. prolly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl D
Reviewed 16 August 2015

We made last minute plans they had one room left on the top floor. Great view of the sound and docks. Room was adequate everything worked A nice private balcony overlooking the sound. Friendly staff, and very tasty fudge! Would stay here again for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
Burke, Virginia
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

They collect their fee before you see the room, for good reason. No housekeeping, the attitude seems to be "screw 'em". Dirty, old, ant infested, there is not a free breakfast or wifi as advertised. Ant poison under the sink, glad my little boy didn't go in there. Hidden policy, they allow pets, but won't clean your room. They left...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank phishBoy
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay at the Breakwater Inn. We did not service your room because there was a dog in the room. Our rooms are serviced daily, unless you are in the pet friendly building and have a pet, which is stated on the information sheet you sign upon check in. This policy...

Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Husband wanted to see Cape Hatteras. We r from Ca and he is a big fisherman. That being said we stayed one night at the Breakwater Inn. It was charming. The view was the best we have had the whole trip overlooking the quaint marina. We enjoyed sitting on the deck of our room in Adirondack chairs watching a lightening...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kari S
Chesapeake
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

The Fishermans lodge part (where we stayed)... Its a place to crash for the night. Old and very smelly. Was clean just looked old and rundown . would not recommend for a family fun just a place for stay at night to get to the next part of your journey

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 July 2015

We had a reservation for two nights, but because we could not visit the Atlantic graveyard (because of the holiday) we decided to go back home a day ahead. It was too late to change our reservation, but the person at the reception told us that if they would be able to rent the room, they would refund us, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabeau1904
breakwaterinn, Front Office Manager at The Breakwater Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at the Breakwater Inn. I do feel that is necessary to clarify our cancellation policy. The person working the front desk was new and did what she felt was in your best interest. Our policy states "early departures are considered as cancellations of reserved days and are subject to appropriate charges and immediate payment"....

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 2 July 2015

I returned after three years and still loved my room. Location and the view are simply perfect. I stayed in the main building that faces the harbor for four nights. (Two double beds for $650).The older building is perfect if you are just using it as a bed for your fishing day trips. Caveat: the kitchenette has no utensils; No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABHIL

180 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (50)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (103)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound Double Queen Room with Private Balcony (Front) (26)
Viewed
Deluxe Sound King Suite (Front) (35)
Viewed
Fisherman's Quarters - Queen Room (14)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hatteras Island hotels
12.3 km away
The Inn on Pamlico Sound
16.5 km away
Hatteras Island Inn Buxton
1.6 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#10 of 11 in Hatteras Island
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 km away
Cape Hatteras Motel
Cape Hatteras Motel
#4 of 6 in Buxton
263 reviews
15.6 km away
Cape Pines Motel
Cape Pines Motel
#2 of 6 in Buxton
285 reviews
16.7 km away
Outer Banks Motel
Outer Banks Motel
#5 of 6 in Buxton
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Breakwater Inn

Address: 57896 Hwy 12, Hatteras Village, Hatteras Island, NC 27943
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Hatteras Island
Price Range: RM536 - RM793 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Breakwater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakwater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Breakwater Hotel Hatteras Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Marietta, Ohio
Sarasota, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Breakwater Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is worth paying the extra for the harbour view, but beware there are no elevators”
 of 5 bubbles hojo1892, 12 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a water view room.”
 of 5 bubbles jackgriff, 8 May 2016 | Read review
“I liked the view from the 3rd floor.”
 of 5 bubbles lakeyaemason, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pick the top floor for your stay”
 of 5 bubbles herv_b231, 29 Nov 2015 | Read review
“understand the difference between main hotel and fisherman quarters”
 of 5 bubbles JVSibley, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5