We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,007 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 993: English reviews
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The location of the hotel is wonderful and surely the reason of often being sold out. The staff was very friendly, BUT--- This hotel is old and in serious need of a renovation. The elevators are in need of service as indicated by loud noises ascending. If I was the nervous type I would have used the stairs. The rooms...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Willda109
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear Willda109, Thank you for staying with us at our hotel. We appreciate your candid review of our property. New perspectives about our hotel and our guestroom appearance help us make improvements to our guest experience on an ongoing basis. Please share any additional comments or suggestions with us any time. As well, I will address the elevator and A/C...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Start with poorly trained staff not having the room type I pre-paid for to offer. Staff sold it a second time to someone else. The room we got was old, mattresses (not the King bed we paid for but twin beds that might have come from the Salvation Army) ... awful. The room condition ... awful. The room had 4...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jiacovino
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear jiacovino, Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very sorry that you weren’t happy with your room assignment during your recent trip. We try to accommodate all reservations but occasionally we can’t meet every room request. As well, I regret the conditions you encountered and have addressed these with our housekeeping and maintenance teams. Thank you...

South Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Let me start by saying the front desk staff is fantastic. I checked in late night and Jabar was amazing, going beyond the call of duty. Everyone was really nice. This location is ideal for short walks to the park and local restaurants. The reason I'm giving only 3 stars is simply age. The rooms need updating...the bedding,furniture and air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Okee G
new bern, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This hotel is old and needs remodeling!! The halls and lobby were hot! Bathroom very small!! Loud A/C units! Best thing about this hotel is the view and it is a block from great shops and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank James C
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear James C, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay at our hotel. We apologize for the issues encountered and we’re working with our team to ensure the situation doesn’t happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you’ll stay with us again and give us an opportunity...

Taylors, South Carolina
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

Beautiful location, the staff at the DoubleTree were very attentive and friendly. A warm cookie at check was great after a long drive. The hotel right on the water and the back deck was a great place to just sit and relax. It is walking distance to great restaurants and shops. The room was very clean and quiet. We would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wvernwhitjr
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The location is excellent, the help courteous and helpful, but the rooms are marginal at best. The sliding door didn't work, the furniture was worn, the bathroom small, the closet door was broken, the hallways not air conditioned, and the ice machine was broken. Not a place to stay. Too many negatives.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 418billn
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We went to hear the music on "The Deck", the outdoor pub. The bartender was awful; real attitude. There was a sign for "Natty Light", so I asked him about it. Natty is a micro brew pub, and I assumed it was from there. Turned out to be "Natural Light" an Anheuser-Busch product! He could have told me. I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swimmer1960
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of the staff at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront, responded to this review

Dear swimmer1960, Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and will reach out to you shortly to further assist. We hope that...

Chapel Hill, United States
Reviewed 15 June 2016

Arrived to the front desk with a representative (trainee). She asked for my name, couldn't find the room under it, then asked if I had a confirmation number - still unable to locate my reservation. She proceeded to ask if I was sure I had made reservations? Hmmm! She then thought enough to inquire with her trainer. He walked her...

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

Double Tree has a little something special for all, on Sunday nights from 5 to 9 they have a area behind the hotel call THE DECK. This area is outside with tables, chairs and umbrellas on a deck with a beautiful view of the Neuse River and Marina. The reason I am sharing this with everyone is because it is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Judy D
Wilson, United States
Reviewed 14 June 2016

Loved, loved, loved the hotel overall. Great location - the Trent River waterfront view is wonderful. Great staff - friendly and helpful. The service in Christoph's was a little slow at times but the pulled pork sliders with crispy onion rings were to die for! Parking can be challenging.

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theadus S

229 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (196)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Bern hotels
0.4 km away
Courtyard New Bern
Courtyard New Bern
#3 of 10 in New Bern
280 reviews
3.6 km away
Hampton Inn New Bern
Hampton Inn New Bern
#1 of 10 in New Bern
550 reviews
0.6 km away
BridgePointe Hotel And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
SpringHill Suites New Bern
2.6 km away
Comfort Suites New Bern
Comfort Suites New Bern
#6 of 10 in New Bern
205 reviews
5.3 km away
Candlewood Suites New Bern
Candlewood Suites New Bern
#7 of 10 in New Bern
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront is conveniently located in the heart of the downtown Historic District with beautiful views of both the Neuse and Trent Rivers. We are just minutes away from the area's premiere shopping, restaurants, and attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront

Address: 100 Middle St, New Bern, NC 28560-2144 (Formerly Hilton New Bern/Riverfront )
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > New Bern
Price Range: RM539 - RM873 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton New Bern/Riverfront Hotel New Bern
Sheraton New Bern
New Bern Sheraton
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Bern
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel New Bern Riverfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid this hotel at all costs, there are NO good rooms. They need to upgrade heating cooling unit before people can stay in the rooms.”
  • handicap bath tub. I had guarantee a king bed but got a double bed with handicap bathroom. Why?
  • Broken down phone lines
 of 5 bubbles KumarL1960, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request a room without a blocked view - as in higher than the trees.”
 of 5 bubbles Julieona1a, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the River, and you won't be disappointed.”
 of 5 bubbles softballron, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The "Inn" portion of the hotel is quiet and secluded...perfect for a romantic overnight stay.”
 of 5 bubbles mollyd981, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in 208!”
 of 5 bubbles cooper53_12, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5