We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocracoke
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

166 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of The Silver Lake Motel & Inn
 Click to rate
Y
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We always have a fabulous time in Ocracoke. Such a wonderful getaway that is not that far but feels VERY far. The Silver Lake Inn has worked out well for us on multiple trips. The location is perfect right on the main drag across from Silver Lake. The decks offer a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 552bethanyh
Edenton, North Carolina
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We had a wonderful girls weekend. Loved that we could adjoin rooms and had a great living room with kitchen. The balcony had a wonderful view of the harbor. I would commend this hotel and I will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SassygirlEdentonNC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 5 October 2016

My boyfriend and I drove down from Virginia Beach on Friday and were planning to stay the weekend until Sunday. I booked a room at this Motel since it is one of the only 2 pet friendly hotels in Ocracoke and we have 2 dogs. I was thinking if we liked it we could bring the dogs with us next...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank laurendacious
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Please excuse my late response, we have been dealing with the aftermath of Hurricane Matthew. I am so sorry you had such a terrible experience. There is nothing else to say. No excuses will make it any better. I am going to try to get in touch with the manager about your refund as soon as I can. I am...

Terrytown, Louisiana
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We have stayed at Silverlake Motel before and loved it. We booked this hotel a few months ago when we decided to extend our vacation. During our previous stay we had a suite which was very nice. This time we had a room which was quite small. I did like the fact that it had a linoleum floor. Always nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flowerchild48
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for staying at Silver Lake Motel and Inn. We do offer both suites and rooms...and the dog friendly rooms always seem to book up first. No one wants to leave their pup at home and we don't blame them. I am always pleased to hear that you found our staff pleasant so thank you...

New Bern, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We were unhappy with our decision to stay here. Although clean and in a good location, the rooms were extremely shabby as was the outside of the motel. Beds were old and uncomfortable and the kitchen was just okay. To top it off, no one cleaned our room during our 2 day stay. Would not recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurakaz13
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay and will not recommend us to others. We are not a fancy place, at all, but that does not excuse the fact that you found the bed uncomfortable. And as to why your room was not cleaned, I do not know but will certainly mention to housekeeping....

Burlington, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

We needed a room for one night and they do allow one night stays. The place is older and could use some updates. However, it is very clean and we found the staff friendly and helpful. The room had two bedrooms and a deck, and the rate for this was very reasonable. I would have given it four for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R D
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn. I am glad to hear that you found the room clean and our staff helpful. I am sorry the shower in your parents room did not work, that had to be inconvenient. We do refurbish and repair during the off season months and I hope you will be able...

Point Harbor
Reviewed 30 September 2016

This is not what I expected. As a local of the Outer Banks I was looking for a weekend getaway. I should've let my instincts guide me when I had a couple encounters with rude people on the phone when I called to ask questions. Upon arrival we found the door between the rooms was left unlocked, not that big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sunbum4
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that you were so disappointed in your stay with us. I am quite upset to hear that you were treated rudely on the phone and will be addressing that. No excuses for that, ever. You did not mention if you reported the bugs or mentioned any of the other issues but regardless, you had a bad stay...

Greencastle, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

I have visited Ocracoke before but never stayed. I picked this hotel out online thanks to the website which shows floor plans and pictures of every room. Ricky at the front desk was very helpful and happy to tell us about the island. We had a two bedroom suite which was very spacious and the balcony was huge! Excellent views...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ajbaker924
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review, which is appreciated it. As I have said many times, we are not fancy but we do hope guests find our rooms comfortable and clean and our staff welcoming. Views are always commented on...they are pretty spectacular! Thanks again and please come back

Poquoson, Virginia
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Right in the heart of the village is this place staff was friendly they had a good continental breakfast, our room was small but cozy with a great view of the harbor.. could use alittle TLC but otherwise nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James M
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of Silver Lake Motel and Inn on Ocracoke Island. And thank you for choosing to stay with us. During the off season (we close in late October) we clean up, fix up and get ready for the next season...so that time is coming up soon. Please come back and thanks again.

Tnine Ourika, Morocco
Reviewed 24 August 2016

the staff was the most friendly and accomadating people I have ever met, if I needed any thing they would take care of it. the balcony was the best part, I could set and people watch all day if I wanted or walk to any shops or eating places. I will go back one day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 220dclark
oldobxer, Public Relations Manager at The Silver Lake Motel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Silver Lake Motel and Inn on Ocracoke Island. We appreciate hearing from guests and especially so when they had a good time with us. Please come back when you can.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocracoke
28.8 km away
The Breakwater Inn
The Breakwater Inn
#6 of 11 in Hatteras Island
128 reviews
30.1 km away
Sea Gull Motel
Sea Gull Motel
#9 of 11 in Hatteras Island
45 reviews
28.7 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#4 of 5 in Hatteras Island
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.4 km away
Hatteras Sands Campground
Hatteras Sands Campground
#9 of 15 in Hatteras Island
68 reviews
0.0 km away
Hatteras Harbor Marina and Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Silver Lake Motel & Inn on Ocracoke Island offers a combination of traditional motel rooms, suites, efficiency units and motel rooms that adjoin suites, allowing guests the availability of an additional bedroom. Many of our rooms and suites at the Silver Lake Motel & Inn have private balcony porches with hammocks for relaxing and for enjoying the beautiful harbor sunset view. Pet friendly rooms are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Silver Lake Motel & Inn

Address: 395 Irvin Garrish Highway, Ocracoke, NC 27960
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Outer Banks > Ocracoke
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
The Silver Lake Hotel Ocracoke
The Silver Lake Motel And Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Silver Lake Motel & Inn staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Corapeake, North Carolina
Warren, Ohio
over a year ago
Lumberton, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from The Silver Lake Motel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are a lot of different rooms to choose from look on website”
552bethanyh, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room on an upper floor”
sunbum4, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get the room above the office, it even has a neat bar in the room”
220dclark, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors have better views and are likely to be quieter”
TravelinFamilyBoston, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Somewhere else.”
OBXhawkeye, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5