We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein

Save
Share
Hoehenrainweg 3, 82491 Grainau, Bavaria Germany
Lowest prices for your stay
US$192
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$192
View deal
Booking.comUS$207
Priceline
Trip.comUS$230
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (150)
Room & Suite (35)
Dining (23)

About

#4 of 18 hotels in Grainau
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A hotel with 100 years of tradition and with a fantastic mountain panorama right outside the door! The completely renovated ROMANTIK ALPENHOTEL WAXENSTEIN in Grainau near Garmisch-Partenkirchen offers style and comfort, family atmosphere, a small and lovely wellness area and numerous different recreation activities. We also look forward to spoiling you in our restaurant with our delicious cuisine of regional and international specialties, all in the finest quality. Waxenstein Quite close to the Hotel in Grainau are the crystal clear mountain lakes Eibsee and Badersee; there are numerous hiking trails and mountain bike routes as well as wonderful skiing regions in the German and Austrian Alps.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Sauna
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Bicycles available
Kids stay free
Electric vehicle charging station
Valet parking
Paid private parking on-site
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool with view
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Golf course
Hiking
Mini golf
Ski rentals
Ski school
Skiing
Bowling offsite
Tennis court offsite
Board games / puzzles
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Shuttle bus service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hammam
Head massage
Massage
Neck massage
Steam room
Baggage storage
Convenience store
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
Umbrella
Laundry service
Ironing service
Shoeshine
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Bath / shower
Bathrobes
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Minibar
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Mountain view
City view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Luxury
Business
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more
213Reviews2Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 50
  • 25
  • 7
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Catherine F wrote a review Aug 2022
2 contributions
My husband and I stayed here for eight nights in early August 2022 and had a perfect stay. Lovely rooms, beautiful food, staff were all so helpful. Stunning views of Zugspitze from the terrace where we had breakfast every morning. Felt like a little bit of heaven. Drinks at the bar were served up in style. Beautiful place.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Room 102 was just gorgeous - a perfect view!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
SDWijjs wrote a review Jul 2022
Harare, Zimbabwe41 contributions22 helpful votes
We stayed 2 nights at the Romantic. We are very happy we stayed, and it is a gorgeous little property hidden in Grainau. It feels authentic and the view from the main lobby deck is stunning as you can see the highest mountain in Germany. Quite literally, we said it was the best breakfast we had ever had. The food was so fresh and delicious, and the view took it over the top. We had a basic room for 2 with a balcony. It is true, as I've seen in other reviews, that the rooms are very small. If you are spending most of your time exploring the area, this won't matter much, because the bed and all inside is well done and comfy. There is no aircon, so in the summer months this can be a snag! We had to keep the door open which meant some light came in so we didn't have the blackout effect we would have had if it was closed. It did get kind of stuffy. I'm sure in the winter and the heater is going its nice, but for summer that was not the best! Also another thing to point out is that the walls are very thin. Our next door neighbors were quite loud and we could hear them the entire time till they decided to go to bed haha. I give this an excellent rating because I believe in comparison with other hotels I saw in the area that Romantik is the best and you'll have these problems at all other properties! I would stay here again - despite everything!!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Do not miss breakfast! It is so delicious and sit outside if you can!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Catherine A wrote a review Feb 2022
Solihull, United Kingdom21 contributions4 helpful votes
Had a long- standing 2 night booking here for June 2022. A few days ago we received an email (in German to UK guests which was not a helpful start and not impressive for a 5 star hotel in a popular tourist place) which said, 'We have good news and bad news for you. The good news is that we are having a new pool. The bad news is that we will therefore be closed when you are due to come, so you wont be able to stay. We look forward to you staying in the future.' No apology. No expression of regret af the disruption of our plans. No arrangement of alternative accommodation at a similar hotel in Grainau. Appalling customer service. Such an email should never have been sent out. If that is how they treat potential guests then they should not be in the hospitality industry. NB we wrote to express our astonishment at receiving such a rude email but they did not bother to reply.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
polygirl55 wrote a review Jul 2019
Fort Lauderdale350 contributions176 helpful votes
+1
The hotel was very comfortable and perfectly decorated. The view from the balcony and outside dining were beautiful. My kids and husband enjoyed the spa. The breakfast was also very delicious. The staff were very friendly and spoke great English. I highly recommend this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
bullshead wrote a review Jun 2019
379 contributions250 helpful votes
+1
We stayed at the Waxenstein for one night en route from the Rhine to the Dolomites. Its location seems ideal, but unfortunately the weather was such that we couldn't appreciate the likely view. But was the hotel welcoming? Not really. We were delayed on German motorways and thus missed their afternoon tea by a few minutes, so I asked if we might have some coffee instead. They brought this grudgingly but it was tasteless and caffeine-free; when they wanted to charge us for it, I refused. One reason we choose to stay in high quality hotels is that they don't usually have paper thin walls and don't nickel-and-dime you for extras. But while our room was pleasant enough, we were disappointed: a) to be able to clearly hear our neighbours' conversation; and b) to see a charge for bottled water. We were on half-board so we consulted the set menu, which looked OK but nothing special. The food on the plate wasn't anything special either. Continuing the pricey water theme we were charged E7.40 for a 75cl bottle of rubbish water. Breakfast was average, and we were not offered eggs, bacon or omelette which we would have expected. Would we stay here again? No - and not just because our bill (E347) included E15.00 for the garage).
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: A view of the Zugspitze would probably be good, but only if the weather permits
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
waiake1 wrote a review Sep 2018
Auckland, New Zealand1414 contributions259 helpful votes
We stayed here for four nights. The hotel is a challenge to get to and to park at, but there is an indoor lot. the views are stunning and if there was nothing else it would be worth it. However, there is more. The staff is friendly and attentive. the food is wonderful. The masseuse is knowledgable. We were there in summer and I want to go back in winter as the views must be superb. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Florence E wrote a review Jul 2018
Montreal, Canada10 contributions2 helpful votes
This is a beautiful hotel nestled in the German Alps. The hotel itself is clean, well suited to its surroundings and staffed with people who strive to please. In the evening we sat out on the back porch and enjoyed a glass of wine. As the sun set we were immediately offered warm blankets to keep us comfortable. The hotel is surrounded by incredible trails for hiking and biking. The trails are all well marked and incredibly well maintained. The hotel loans out bikes for those who are travelling without. The small town of Grainau is very close by and offers access to the Zugspitze as well as the Eibsee. This hotel is definitely worth a stay if you are in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
PaulMS wrote a review Jan 2018
Munich, Germany180 contributions75 helpful votes
Wonderful stay at this cozy hotel, although just for one night. The wellness area is also nice and with a great view. The only negative thing was the matress: too soft for me. But that is just a matter of taste.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Tafftraveller wrote a review Dec 2017
Cardiff, United Kingdom279 contributions209 helpful votes
Spent three nights at this hotel over Christmas The hotel had a Christmas atmosphere about it.. The rooms we had were very well furnished with comfortable beds and a lovely view of the mountains. The hotel has good leisure facilities including a swimming pool ,steam room, sauna and a spa. Robes and slipons and provided in your room to go to the pool area We had half board for our stay, the breakfasts were very good, the dinners were gourmet cooking !. All the stay were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has car parking which can get very busy at peak times.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Returninghome wrote a review Aug 2017
Munich, Germany62 contributions25 helpful votes
we got a nice room and desk staff was very supportive; the location is not exactly great but still in walking distance from village center; the restaurant was a little disappointing; they put us (did not understood why) in the breakfast room, where it was also cold and not as friendly as in the restaurants; we were the only ones there; food was average; but breakfast was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: do not know
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Romantik A, Leiter Front Office at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Responded 13 Oct 2017
Thank you so much for your helpful feedback
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$152 - US$248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
romantik hotel garmisch partenkirchen
LOCATION
GermanyBavariaUpper BavariaGrainau
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein
Which popular attractions are close to Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Nearby attractions include Skischule Zugspitze-Grainau (0.2 km), Zugspitzbad (0.7 km), and Badersee (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
What food & drink options are available at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking on-site, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Jägerstüberl, Gasthaus am Zierwald, and Spatzenhausl.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Does Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Grainau.
Are pets allowed at Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Romantik Alpenhotel Waxenstein offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.