We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 285: English reviews
Start your review of 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers
 Click to rate
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay was heavily tarnished by our arrival. The room wasn't ready, had towels on the floor, toe nail clippings, clothes, cobwebs, footprints in the shower and just an overall mess. We reported the issue, they cleaned the room, apologised but there was still rubbish under the beds. We had the best time at Scooteroo, highly recommended and it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lalisa C, Front Office Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

I am happy to hear you enjoyed Scooter Roo. We did come to clean your room on arrival, we are very sorry for the wait. Our manager and cleaners did pull your beds out and cleaned under the beds. The $5 day stay doesn't just get you safe storage to our luggage room it also gets you access to our...

Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hostel is fun and a great atmosphere. However, the owner is a hard person to deal with. He's rude to customers, rude to his workers and overall just a terrible person. Don't let that take away from the people that make it great though- staff are awesome and the two managers and really friendly. Would definitely go back if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stickaforkinme69
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My stay at Southern Cross is as time I will never forget. The surrounding area is beautiful, the staff are great fun and extremely friendly, the whole place has an amazing vibe. The staff are extremely helpful and often go above and beyond to make the guests' stay more comfortable which has been a god send given the situation with...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Josh M
Lalisa C, Front Office Manager at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Josh! Thank-you for the great review! It was great having you here and you really felt like part of the family. Was such a shame to see you go! It is a great place and like you 99% of the people love it and find it hard to go. All the staff said hi and they all miss you!...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

I personally didn't really enjoy Agnes water, I thought it was a pretty dull place but I did like this hostel. The free shuttle takes you to all the places there is to see in Agnes water and the town of 1770 as well as being the host to the famous "scooteroo" tour. The rooms are lovely and clean with...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your review and the great comments you made about our hostel and our Scooteroo tour. Agnes Water is not one of those party towns, you have probably been used to on the East Coast Backpacker trail. If you were looking for the "party hard, drink till you drop", type of holiday, I can understand that this town would...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Pros - cheap beers - staff are very friendly - large spacious property where you can often spot kangaroos - Hostel is Eco friendly - Guy who runs the Scooter roo tour is an absolute legend Cons - They charge you 5$ to stay on the property after checkout while you wait for your bus, this is free at all...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Douglas L
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. Sounds as though you did enjoy your time with us and the Scooteroo tour. Just wanted to explain the cons you mentioned. When you pay the $5 day stay, you are still a guest of the hostel which entitles you to absolutely everything at the hostel (except a bed) Unlike...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

I was very impressed with my stay here! The staff were super friendly and the place had a really chilled atmosphere with everyone up for a chat. It's a nice little touch how all the rooms have different country names aswell. I really recommend staying at Southern Cross if your passing through Agnes Waters! :)

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank PhilBack190298
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much much for your lovely review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us. Enjoy the rest of your travels in our amazing country.

Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff, great layout and funky hostel. Clean and has everything you need apart from washing machines. Great clean pool and quirky cabin rooms. They have trips from the hostel and also a shuttle bus at different times taking you into the town. Would recommend this place 100%!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Naomi-lee M
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us a 100% review and I am so glad you had such a great time here with our Southern Cross family. Enjoy the rest of your travels !

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

The fantastic thing about this place was the staff. I had an amazing couple of days here the scooter roo experience is a must! But the thing that made my time here so memorable and a place I would definitely recommend is the staff, they went above and beyond by getting me to my bus on time when I had...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Darren1306
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your lovely review. Our staff just love it when someone gives them a thumbs up on Trip Advisor. So glad that you enjoyed your stay with our Southern Cross Family. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We had a great stay here and the staff were very helpful and made the stay easy. It was a bit disappointing to have to pay $5 for a day stay as all other hostels we have used so far on the trip offer this for free. In addition a the hostel runs a shuttle bus to and from the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank LClaireC
Lalisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I find myself often explaining about the $5 day stay. I know that big city hostels offer a free luggage storage and a place to hang out to wait for a bus but as we offer absolutely everything here except a bed, we charge a small...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

+ staff are nice enough + shuttle to the food shop/greyhound (although the van is going to fall apart any moment) + pool with sun loungers - the shuttle should take you into 1770 - everything feels dirty and unhygienic. The toilets always smell and the bowl is brown. - literally EVERYONE just sits around smoking weed all day every...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank calg93
Lisa C, Owner at 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi Calg, I have checked out your profile and I seriously feel so sorry for you. Really!!! 43 reviews ! So many complaints ! When I read your heading, Run Down Hippy Hostel! I honestly though you must be talking about the wrong hostel ! We have one hippy guy(with dreadlocks) who works here and he is our chef !...

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agnes Water
3.6 km away
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
Lagoons 1770 Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Seventeen Seventy
214 reviews
2.8 km away
Backpackers @ 1770
Backpackers @ 1770
#1 of 17 in Agnes Water
163 reviews
3.1 km away
Cool Bananas Backpackers Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sandcastles 1770 Motel & Resort
3.0 km away
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
Agnes Palms Beachside YHA
#12 of 17 in Agnes Water
103 reviews
4.7 km away
Captain Cook Holiday Village
Captain Cook Holiday Village
#1 of 4 in Seventeen Seventy
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come and experience for yourself, a resort style hostel with a Club Med feel! Get comfy in our large 4-6 share ensuite dorms that wont break your budget, or pamper yourself in our private deluxe double rooms or Family room with ensuite, TV, DVD & fridge. Dorms & doubles with shared facilities also available. Huge common area with Digital TV, Ping pong, Fuseball, Pool table and cozy fireplace for the Winter. We have a swimming pool with elephant fountains perfect for cooling off after a hot day at the beach. Hammocks to chill out with a good book and lots of under-cover areas to get out of the sun or rain. The resort is set on 15 acres of land with a pretty little lake that has a jetty a free paddle boat, horses grazing in the paddocks and loads of tropical gardens to stroll through, perfect for nature lovers. Lots of areas for a bit of meditation or yoga as the sun is rising or setting or a game of football, volley ball or cricket. During your stay why not treat yourself to a relaxing massage or beauty treatment in our "Healing Hut". (extra special prices for our guests)Our on site bar "Karma bar" with super cheap drinks and beer garden surrounds the pool area and is perfect for the afternoon drink to quench your thirst after you arrive home from any of the amazing tours Agnes / 1770 has to offer. Free Breakfast Free Tea & Coffee all day every day!Free Motel Quality Linen.Free DVD hire.Free Courtesy Shuttle to beach + shops (3 minute drive)Free pickup for the Greyhound bus service* FREE 24 hour WIFI, and a cinema room. We believe that we have something pretty special here at Southern Cross and we want to share it with YOU! Our Motto LIVE IN THE DREAM! Get up to date with life at the hostel on our Facebook page Southern Cross Backpackers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers

Address: 2694 Round Hill Rd, Agnes Water, Queensland 4677, Australia (Formerly 1770 Southern Cross Tourist Retreat)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Agnes Water
Price Range: RM76 - RM277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1770 Southern Cross Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a hammock out front !”
Deejephson, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Private doubles are quiet and reasonably priced.”
sadiethecleaninglady, 17 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Don't stay at this hostel”
WeeeeBa, 1 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Free wifi in bar area. I stayed in the Austria room, it was quiet and I had a very comfy nights sleep.”
Annon1800, 5 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Doubles have a nice patio!!! Also at some of the cabins have a barbecue/bonfire place!”
U6590GJgeorgeb, 19 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5