We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Robert Ruark Inn

    119 N Lord St, Southport, NC 28461-3819
    (910) 375-5358
    Call
    Hotel website
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    28/01/2018 29/01/2018
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in SouthportSee available hotels in Southport
    Traveller (111)
    Room & Suite (25)
    Dining (22)
    Overview
    • Excellent95%
    • Very good4%
    • Average1%
    • Poor0%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “virginia's room” (20 reviews)
    “golf cart tour” (26 reviews)
    “b b” (93 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Wheelchair Access
    Pool
    All hotel details
    Offers from Robert Ruark Inn
    Offers & Announcements: Free Tour of Southport
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (286)
    There are newer reviews for Robert Ruark Inn
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    71 - 75 of 285 reviews

    Reviewed 12 August 2016

    This was my third visit to the Robert Ruark Inn, and I am so pleased to share that it never disappoints. My Mom and I have enjoyed girls' trips to Southport, and would never want to stay anywhere else than the Inn. It is lovingly...More

    Thank Amy D
    Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 12 August 2016

    Thank you so much Amy for the wonderful review and endorsement. We are always thrilled when we see your reservation come through. It is so nice having you and your Mom here and we really enjoyed the time you did a girls' trip, too. It...More

    Reviewed 10 August 2016

    Very nice owners, great location, nice accommodations, but just a "so so" breakfast (not to our liking). If you want a two hour boat trip of water-ways ask them who to call before you get there and make your reservation as they book-up quickly...we were...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank Norman D
    Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 10 August 2016

    Thank you so much for the review. It was very nice meeting you both. It was neat how we kept running into you both all around town. It seemed like you really enjoyed Southport. You are correct that booking ahead for charters is necessary. As...More

    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    We Could not sleep! The bed was hard as a rock and creeked loudly when ever you moved. It was a v- long night. Floor not swept under the bed for quite a while. We were very disappointed and exhausted all the next day. Breakfast...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank gvp163
    Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 10 August 2016

    Please let us know if you are referring to the Robert Ruark Inn. We have always received rave reviews on the beds and the floors are cleaned after every guest. The rooms are cleaned top to bottom. What room would you be referring to? When...More

    Reviewed 9 August 2016

    The host and hostess are very friendly and helpful. The parking is easy and ample, and the inn is within walking distance of shopping and dining. Charlotte's room is small, but quaintly decorated and comfortable. Breakfast is delicious, with healthy fruit and several gourmet items.More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank weekender808
    Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 10 August 2016

    Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Robert Ruark Inn. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We love to hear guests enjoyed their time at the Inn and in Southport. It's so nice to...More

    Reviewed 8 August 2016

    This was our third time at the Robert Ruark and we can't wait to go back. Southport is very friendly little town with much to offer. The Robert Ruark is no different. If you want activities or just want to relax, you will love your...More

    Review collected in partnership with this hotel
    Thank rambosdad
    Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 10 August 2016

    Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We loved seeing you both again and are so honored that you chose the Robert Ruark Inn for your special anniversary celebration! We are always humbled by guests who come back every year and we so much...More

    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Breakfast included
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$140 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 4
    • Location
    • United States >
    • North Carolina >
    • North Carolina Coast >
    • Southport
    • Also Known As
    • Robert Ruark Hotel Southport
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (111)
    Room & Suite (25)
    Dining (22)
    Hotel & Grounds (139)
    Bathroom (4)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby HotelsSee all 5 hotels in Southport
    Riverside Motel
    62 reviews
    .29 km away
    Wingate by Wyndham Southport
    1,035 reviews
    2.12 km away
    Hampton Inn Southport
    575 reviews
    4.00 km away
    Comfort Suites
    290 reviews
    4.69 km away
    Nearby Restaurants
    Mr. P's Bistro
    521 reviews
    .28 km away
    The Provision Company
    1,126 reviews
    .33 km away
    Oliver's on the Cape Fear
    707 reviews
    .30 km away
    Frying Pan
    591 reviews
    .33 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Southport Pier and RIverwalk
    302 reviews
    .36 km away
    North Carolina Maritime Museum at Southport
    261 reviews
    .32 km away
    Fort Johnston - Southport Museum & Visitors Center
    93 reviews
    .37 km away
    Southport Marina
    66 reviews
    .51 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    William M
    4 September 2017|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from sportbros | Reviewed this property |
    Bill, If you don't hear back from Ruark Inn then might need to directly email. Sorry tried to include email but Trip advisor won't let me. You can find email on Robert Ruark Inn website. Happy Anniversary.
    0
    Votes
    William M
    4 September 2017|
    Answer
    Response from sportbros | Reviewed this property |
    The Provision Company, Mr. P's (little nicer than others), Fishy fish had music, Frying Pan, Spikes Dairy Bar, Slainte-Irish Bar...don't think we had a bad meal the week we were there
    0
    Votes
    lisagstone209
    21 December 2016|
    Answer
    Response from Rick and Linda P | Property representative |
    Thank you for emailing. We currently have Charlotte's Room open on Saturday and Sunday of that weekend. If you would like to reserve that room, please call me on 910.363.4169 or go online to our website. Thank you so... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Liked our room, but if we go back, we'd select another just to see the antiques decorating those rooms."
    Read review
    "Everything was perfect!"
    Read review
    "The Captains room was spacious and private with its own balcony sitting area."
    Read review
    "No matter the room you choose...you can't go wrong here!"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing