We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Robert Ruark Inn

Save
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (22)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Overview
  • Excellent95%
  • Very good4%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“virginia's room”(21 reviews)
“golf cart tour”(26 reviews)
“b b”(96 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Wheelchair Access
All hotel details
Offers from Robert Ruark Inn
Offers & Announcements: Comp. Tour of Southport
Offers from Robert Ruark Inn
Offers & Announcements: Comp. Tour of Southport
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Robert Ruark Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
285
12
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
285
12
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvirginia's roomgolf cart tourb brick's tourquichefire pitbald head islandfront porchlocal historybreakfasts were wonderfulperiod furnishingsin townbed and breakfastlittle extraswine and cheesebeautiful historic homesnacks and beverages
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
81 - 85 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We/ve stayed at the Robert Ruark B&B each Summer for going on 5 years or so when visiting NC on family business. It's a great get-away. Rick and Linda (and now Moby) are friendly, and knowledgeable about Southport and nearby locations - be sure to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank robertgI7000AU
Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 26 September 2016

Thank you so much for your review! It is always wonderful seeing you both and catching up! We hope your trip home was enjoyable. We'll look forward to seeing you both again and will be thinking of you often and hoping you both get plenty...More

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

Beautifully decorated. Bed was very comfortable. Very relaxing place to stay. Look forward to staying again. Breakfast was delicious. Owners were great and easy to work with. Would recommend for couples. Close to inlet. They have bikes available to use.More

Thank Sstein1017
Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 3 September 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on the Robert Ruark Inn. We always welcome feedback and are very happy you had a relaxing stay here. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you all the best today...More

Reviewed 30 August 2016

My husband and I stayed here August 6th and 7th When we arrived I rang the doorbell and we were greeted by Linda. The Inn had a very fresh smell upon entering and the living room was so inviting. We reserved "Charlotte's Room" on the...More

Thank Tina P
Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 3 September 2016

We greatly appreciate the time you took to write a review and detail your experience here at the Robert Ruark Inn. It is nice to hear your comments about Charlotte's Room as well. I always think "charming" is the best way to describe that room,...More

Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is the second time we stayed at the Robert Ruark Inn. The atmosphere is wonderful. The inn is right up the street from the waterfront and shopping. Rick and Linda are delightful! We enjoyed our conversations with them. Breakfast each morning was inviting delicious!...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Y9173CEkathyp
Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 23 August 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Robert Ruark Inn. We appreciate you choosing the Inn the first time and now a second time. We are grateful for the opportunity to host you once again. We are so happy you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 12 August 2016

This was my third visit to the Robert Ruark Inn, and I am so pleased to share that it never disappoints. My Mom and I have enjoyed girls' trips to Southport, and would never want to stay anywhere else than the Inn. It is lovingly...More

Thank Amy D
Response from RIck and Linda P, Owner at Robert Ruark InnResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you so much Amy for the wonderful review and endorsement. We are always thrilled when we see your reservation come through. It is so nice having you and your Mom here and we really enjoyed the time you did a girls' trip, too. It...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Details
Price range
US$140 - US$220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms, Accessible rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (112)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (22)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
William M
4 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from sportbros | Reviewed this property |
Bill, If you don't hear back from Ruark Inn then might need to directly email. Sorry tried to include email but Trip advisor won't let me. You can find email on Robert Ruark Inn website. Happy Anniversary.
0
Votes
William M
4 September 2017|
Answer
Response from sportbros | Reviewed this property |
The Provision Company, Mr. P's (little nicer than others), Fishy fish had music, Frying Pan, Spikes Dairy Bar, Slainte-Irish Bar...don't think we had a bad meal the week we were there
0
Votes
lisagstone209
21 December 2016|
Answer
Response from Rick and Linda P | Property representative |
Thank you for emailing. We currently have Charlotte's Room open on Saturday and Sunday of that weekend. If you would like to reserve that room, please call me on 910.363.4169 or go online to our website. Thank you so... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Captain Adkin's: double vanity, claw foot tub, balcony, gas fireplace, king 4 poster bed. LOVELY."
Read review
"The Virginia on the main first floor and is handicap accessible with a large shower."
Read review
"Captain Adkins is the biggest with a Juliet balcony. The Virginia is a first floor and handicap accessible..."
Read review
"The Captain's room is the best, IMHO."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing