We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Verandas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Verandas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

277 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 275: English reviews
Hampstead, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The stay was perfect. What a charming and delightful place to relax and explore. The place has such magnificent history as do so many of the homes in the Historic area of Wilmington. The amenities in the rooms are beautifully designed, modern, and convenient. Chuck has tucked in special treats for his guests not typically found at a B&B such... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denise S
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We stayed at The Verandas for four nights, mid-September. We do not usually stay at B&Bs but we wanted something located in the historic area of Wilmington.The Verandas is easy walking distance of restaurants, shops and the river. I think what's unusual about this B&B is that there are 8 corner rooms, so it's almost more like a small inn.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank lynsk
Carrboro, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We did an overnight getaway at the last minute and only wish we could have stayed longer than one night. Innkeepers Chuck and Jennifer were truly accommodating and full of interesting and helpful tips. The breakfast was delicious, the bed exceedingly comfortable, and the atmosphere divine. Everything was simply impeccable.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bet0417
Madison Heights
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile

After limiting it down between a few B&B's, we chose the Verandas. We stayed in a hotel for 2 previous nights, but really wanted to try a B&B for the first time, so we decided on 1 night at a B&B. We chose well, & had a great first experience! First off, the place is a gorgeous 3 story mansion.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jaycat1
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

The staff was accommodating, the facilities were gorgeous, and the food was delicious. We spent a night in Wilmington and fell in love with this bed and breakfast. It's in a perfect location in the heart of the historic district (less than a 5 minute walk to all of the shops, restaurants, and the water). Can't wait to go back!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea A
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay for a weekend or during the week. Beautiful rooms with great furnishings. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast with variety and unusual breakfast. Convenient to downtown. Good advice on what to see and in Wilmington.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2016

I contacted the owner of the B&B to receive personal feedback and information about this lovely looking B&B. I was quite taken aback at the rudeness and direct communication of the owner expressing frustration that I could not receive this information via website and also gave me harsh advice on how to make a decision based on his limited information.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lilred91487
Chuck P, Owner at The Verandas, responded to this review

This young lady called and said that she was thinking about relocating to Wilmington and we were one of six properties pre-selected for her one night stay. She had some questions. After approximately 10 questions, I said that I did not think we were the right property for her as I felt we were not going to make her happy.... More 

Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We were visiting friends in Wilmington and spent a lovely weekend at The Verandas. Owner Chuck Pennington welcomed us and can offer a wealth of information about the restoration of this magnificent old house, the neighborhood and Wilmington in general. The main rooms downstairs are beautifully appointed. The breakfasts are utterly delicious - maple pancakes one morning (with pecans and... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank tweetietraveler
Clayton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

What a fabulous, beautiful B&B with a warm and welcoming host! The inn itself is gorgeous with lots of interesting history, which the owner Chuck was happy to talk about. Our room was quite spacious, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom sparkling clean. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, and was made even more delightful by having Chuck around to entertain... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maddyadamsmom
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

One of the nicest bed and breakfast inns we have ever stayed in! Great location, easy to find, close to restaurants and shops. Chuck, the innkeeper,is delightful. He is a great cook, breakfast both mornings was delicious. He is knowledgeable about the area, has contacts in the finest restaurants and is happy to help make arrangements. The Inn is full... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vyonne T

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmington hotels
1.0 km away
Courtyard Wilmington Downtown/Historic District
1.0 km away
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
Hilton Wilmington Riverside
#18 of 45 in Wilmington
1,188 reviews
1.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coastline Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Riverview Suites
Riverview Suites
#26 of 45 in Wilmington
125 reviews
0.4 km away
The Wilmingtonian
The Wilmingtonian
#19 of 45 in Wilmington
200 reviews
10.5 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Verandas

Address: 202 Nun St, Wilmington, NC 28401-5020
Region: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
The Verandas Hotel Wilmington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Verandas staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Verandas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All the rooms are up long flights of stairs either on the second or third floors. We chose the third floor so no one would be above us.”
 of 5 bubbles lynsk, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“It seems that the prettiest rooms are on the second floor, with high ceiling as in old houses.”
 of 5 bubbles Marnierh, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“Room #4, their largest, is a corner room, light, spacious, and gorgeously decorated.”
 of 5 bubbles GGBGSanDiego, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room on the second floor if you unable to carry your luggage very far.”
 of 5 bubbles karenkrieger, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Pack a small bag as there are lots of stairs!”
 of 5 bubbles Ustravelgirl13, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5