We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winston Salem
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 174: English reviews
Start your review of Augustus T. Zevely Inn
 Click to rate
Asheville, NC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This B&B is right in the middle of Old Salem, the best location to stay when you are visiting there. Unfortunately, our room, #204, was the smallest, and with only one window, I believe, the warmest. There was a fan, but it did not help much when we went to bed, but by midnight it was bearable! The other rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank basic792
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

I am happy that you enjoyed your visit to Old Salem and the Augustus T. Zevely Inn. Indeed, your visit was during a period of unseasonable warm weather with the days warm and the nights cool. As you were departing, you told me of this issue with your room. If you had let me know sooner, I would have been...

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

It was extremely easy to book online. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and shown around the Inn.Our room was nicely appointed. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely recommend the Zeveley Inn.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faryl H
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about your stay at the Zevely Inn. We look forward to a future visit.

Lincolnton, North Carolina
Reviewed 28 December 2016

Needing a place to stay for a wedding on the campus of Salem College, my wife and I decided to try the Zevely Inn. We arrived in Christmas Day and received a friendly, efficient check-in. Our room was small but pleasantly furnished, and the private parking area was convenient and reasonably secure. The inn is located directly across the street...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam A
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

I am glad that you chose to stay at the Zevely Inn for two such special occasions, Christmas and a wedding. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and time spent with Harriet. She is a special person and never met a guest she didn't enjoy. Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you on...

Roanoke, Virginia
Reviewed 15 December 2016

The Zevely Inn is a delightful place to stay and is located right on the Main Street in Old Salem and everything is within walking distance of the Inn. The beds are very comfortable and each room has its own bathroom, even though they are quite small. Coffee and tea are available at all times, and cookies and fruit are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie M
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our breakfast during the week is continental plus, including Harriet's famous sausage biscuit and baked goodies. On the weekends, it is a full breakfast. Many of our guests prefer the rooms on the porch because of the peace and quiet of the backyard. There has never been a security issue...

Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

I have to say The Augustus Zevely Inn is my favorite home away from home!! Each visit leaves me wanting to return. Linda is a warm wonderful host and Harriet's welcoming smile in the morning is sure to warm ones heart. Their are multiple breakfast choices, all very good. The homemade granola is out of this world! We've stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oursimon
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

What a lovely review! It warms my heart when a guest feels the warmth and caring that is part of the Zevely Inn experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will return soon. Spring has already sprung at the Zevely and today the sun is shining and the temperatures are in...

Liberty Hill, South Carolina
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed for only one night and should have stayed for two. The Housekeeper and staff welcomed us with a smile and made us feel very welcomed and at home. The Zevely was very comfortable, well appointed and clean. We certainly enjoyed our room and its comfort, spacious room, the A/C was amazingly quiet, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank assefa1
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Old Salem is such a special place where people can step back into a quieter, more serene time. We will welcome you back when you return to the Winston Salem area.

Los Angeles
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

We frequent b&bs and small inns when we travel. When choosing them, we read TA reviews and research the area. When leaving reviews, I consider location, accommodations, amenities, comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, extras, etc. What we have found is that a place can get all stars on all of that, but there is something else. That extra star comes from an...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SACALosAngeles
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review and love the extra star you gave the Inn! Indeed, Harriet is a wonderful new addition to our staff. She is a kind and gentle soul who truly enjoys our guests. We hope you will visit us again. It is always a pleasure to hear that our efforts...

Reviewed 26 September 2016

We traveled here Sept 17-21 for our 29th Wedding Anniversary -- from the moment we walked in the door we are greeted with the warmest of hospitality. The Ann Lavinia room was very clean comfortable private with a wonderful view on the second floor. There is a porch and quiet beautiful sitting area to relax. The hot breakfast buffet style...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted that you decided to share your anniversary with us at the Zevely Inn and enjoyed your hot breakfasts in the morning. We appreciate your positive comments and encouragement. The staff works hard to ensure that our guests enjoy their holiday experience. Old Salem Museums and Gardens as well at the Salem Tavern add a special touch to...

USA-NC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The positives: If you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of Old Salem, the Zevely is positioned perfectly. This is a quiet inn, depending upon the other guests. During our weekend stay, it was almost full and very quiet. There is a sitting room on the first floor, which is nice for conversations. There are two...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LR B
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your candid evaluation of the Augustus T Zevely Inn. We sincerely want each of our guests to thoroughly enjoy their visit with us. Typically at the time of check-in we answer any questions about the area and make suggestions concerning local attractions. We want our guests to explore and relax! Our goal is to serve...

Northwest
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Our stay at the Zevely was the perfect one night escape. The room had a comfortable poster bed, a desk, and a view of the quiet side street.The Dutch door was a nice feature to use in the morning to let in the fresh air. We enjoyed sitting on the back porch in the evening.The inn is convenient to all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carolinagirl1321
linda1283, Manager at Augustus T. Zevely Inn, responded to this review

Many of our guests write to tell us how much they enjoyed the time spent on the back porches, which are perfect places for a cup of morning coffee or contemplation in the evening. This aura of peace and tranquility makes a stay at the Zevely Inn a perfect escape from the stresses of every day life. We all love...

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (53)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.7 km away
Brookstown Inn
Brookstown Inn
#4 of 37 in Winston Salem
574 reviews
1.5 km away
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
Kimpton Cardinal Hotel
#1 of 37 in Winston Salem
177 reviews
5.2 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 37 in Winston Salem
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
0.9 km away
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
1.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Winston - Salem
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Augustus T. Zevely Inn

Address: 803 South Main Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: RM350 - RM897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Augustus t. Zevely Hotel Winston Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Augustus T. Zevely Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Augustus T. Zevely Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor, corner room with fire place, "Southern Charm".”
assefa1, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back open out to a lovely wide porch.”
carolinagirl1321, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lowest level rooms have private entrances.”
signchris, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We had dinner at the Tavern across the street and it was excellent!”
Laur3, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The rooms are all differently priced, we went for one of the more expensive rooms but would probably opt for one of the other rooms,”
tswolfe65, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5