We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Winston-Salem University

CourtyardUS$116*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$124*
US$116*
Great Deal
US$124*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Winston-Salem University
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

137 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Winston-Salem University
See the most recent reviews
Showing 137: English reviews
SAN LUIS OBISPO
Reviewed 16 May 2015

We use this property often because my daughter is attending school near by. The staff is quite friendly and helpful. Our room has always been very clean. It is our first-choice hotel in this area. If you're a light sleeper, let them know and they'll help with the room assignment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank caposmith
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you San Luis Obispo for the wonderful review! It is our pleasure to accommodate you anytime that you are in the area. Our location is centrally located in the city, which makes us ideal for visiting parents. We look forward to your next visit and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience!

Strongsville
Reviewed 6 May 2015

I stayed here for business in April 2015. I was greeted by a very friendly woman at the front desk upon arrival. The building looked dated but the room itself was very nice and modern. The bed and overall feel of the room was comfortable. I also liked that I could walk to the Wake Forest Campus and view their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rob K
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that your experience was pleasant, and enjoyable. The proper department was notified about the window and that matter has been addressed. I hope that the next time you are in Winston-Salem that you will give us the opportunity to accommodate you again!

Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 14 April 2015

Our son is a junior at Wake Forest. We have been staying at this Courtyard since he was a prospective student, as it is so close to campus and the sports complexes. The staff is consistently friendly and courteous and goes out of its way to be helpful. The rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimis65
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you MImis65!! What a wonderful review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. Your feedback is so beneficial and helps to keep us successful. I really appreciate you taking time out of your day to let us know about your stay would love to meet you on your next visit!! Vickie Koger

Richmond, Virginia
Reviewed 29 March 2015

This hotel is located very close to Wakeforest University. Good location with many restaurants and activities. The lobby is clean and quiet and the check-in was smooth. All of the staff were courteous and helpful. The rooms were well maintained and the free wifi was a plus. As we were there the first weekend of March Madness I was expecting...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

We are so happy that your experience was good! We strive daily to satisfy each and every guest, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time here at our hotel! Anytime that you are in the area please allow us the opportunity to accommodate you. Thank you for taking time to write such a wonderful review!

Lutherville Timonium, Maryland
Reviewed 22 March 2015

Older property but renovated. Rooms were clean and generally comfortable but the bed was a little too soft. Housekeeping service was good. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Ample parking. Internet service (the free one) was very slow. I paid the $4.95 for upgraded service and it was passable. Lot of teams staying there (our son was playing baseball),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DocRMP
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

DocRMP thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are honored that you allowed us to accommodate you during your stay. Hopefully the next visit you will have the opportunity to enjoy and see all that Winston-Salem has to offer. Thank you again for taking time to let us know about your stay.

Toledo, Ohio
Reviewed 8 March 2015 via mobile

This hotel was on our path to a longer vacation in Myrtle Beach. Nice hotel, clean with friendly service. The only reason for less than a perfect rating was no free breakfast, or we couldn't figure out where to get it. Weird setup for a Marriott as they normally have a free breakfast area and this had a bistro instead,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann43609
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful review! Although Courtyard by Marriott does not offer complimentary breakfast, the Bistro is available for breakfast and dinner and is very reasonably priced. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We did not score a perfect 100% this trip, but when you are passing through please give us another opportunity to accommodate you...

Indianola, Iowa
Reviewed 4 February 2015

Conveniently located near Wake Forest University. Walk to sporting events and short drive to buildings and dorms.Clean and comfortable good value and great service. Will definitely return to the area and stay at this property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank julie g
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Julie thank-you for the wonderful review!! We strive to ensure all our guest enjoy their stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to accommodating you whenever your travels bring you to Winston-Salem!!

Gastonia, North Carolina
Reviewed 8 January 2015 via mobile

Was disappointed no free coffee only at breakfast nor was there a free breakfast of any sort. Rooms were okay considering the price you have to pay. There were no microwaves and in room coffee service was a joke. The location was great view was not the best only roof tops. Would I stay again probably not.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rmauney
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review about your stay. I apologize that we no longer offer complimentary coffee in the lobby. We do however serve Starbucks coffee in the Bistro daily. I apologize that we did not meet your Expectation on this visit, but I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I normally stay at the Downtown Marriott but this time tried the Courtyard and was very happy with the hotel, its staff and the quality of the rooms. The location is nice and not having to Valet park was lovely. The new lobby of the hotel looks excellent. Very nicely done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine L
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Catherine what a wonderful review! Thank you for the kind comments about our Courtyard. It is our pleasure to provide a clean and comfortable hotel during your time away from home. Anytime that you are in our area, please give us the opportunity to be of service to you again.

Reviewed 22 November 2014

Nice courtyard Marriott- color scheme is orange- are we back in the 70s? Small lobby, bar and bistro combined. Food at the Bistro was great- thank you Sasha and Carl! Broccoli cheese soup was wonderful- Checkin staff great- thanks Diana, Austin and Randy! Now about the room. I asked (and got) a handicap room w/walk in shower. Great right? Well,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Weeble123
CourtyardWS, Director of Sales at Courtyard Winston-Salem University, responded to this review

Thank you for your informative comments. We strive very hard to accommodate every guest and make you comfortable during your stay. Please allow of the pleasure of accommodating you again when you are in the area.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winston Salem hotels
0.2 km away
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
Winston Salem Hotel & Spa
#26 of 38 in Winston Salem
240 reviews
2.6 km away
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
5.7 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Winston Salem - University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
4.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winston-Salem Downtown
2.4 km away
Graylyn Estate
Graylyn Estate
#2 of 38 in Winston Salem
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Courtyard Winston-Salem University

Address: 3111 University Pkwy, Winston Salem, NC 27105-4231
Region: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Price Range: RM510 - RM791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Winston-Salem University 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Courtyard Winston-Salem University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem University Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott
Courtyard Hotel Winston Salem
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Winston-Salem University staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Winston-Salem University staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask not to be put on the end rooms on the 2nd floor, due to small bathrooms.”
kenp892, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We requested a quiet top floor corner room. We got it! It was extremely quiet.”
suelz2016, 22 May 2016 | Read review
“The second floor is quieter.”
Kay1855, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Maybe 2nd floor and away from elevators, but we still heard people in hallway.”
  • poor renovation
SueM722, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Stay away from the lobby”
robk605, 6 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Courtyard
US$116* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$124
Orbitz.comUS$124
TravelocityUS$124
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates