We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 943: English reviews
Start your review of Shell Island Resort
 Click to rate
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is the first time we had our educational conference at this resort. The sales staff was exemplary, and went above and beyond to accommodate our needs in both the planning and execution phases of our 3 day event. The variety of menu choices was exceptional, and the food was delicious and plentiful. The catering manager and staff were professional,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachirl
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The friendly staff at check-in was the first indication that this was going to be a fun, relaxing stay and it was! The suite I had was exceptional, the food and staff in the restaurant were very good (except for one waitress who seemed a bit harried) but the most wonderful part was relaxing on the balcony watching the sun...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I celebrated our 26th wedding anniversary at Shell Island Resort. Although our first assigned suite had serious noise issues from the adjoining room and in the hallway near the elevator, the staff immediately assigned us another suite...which was outstanding. The balconies are wonderful, the beach is picturesque, and every member of the staff treated us royally. Also,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If I could rate this lower, I would. We came as a large group and spent over $5000 for 3 nights. The manager was horrible and went out of his way to be rude and condescending. It was in March and wasn't very busy, yet he didn't appreciate us at all!! Such a shame because such a great location with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brook C
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

First of all, thank you for your feedback. It is never our intention to come across as rude or condescending and in fact we strive for the opposite. We expect for our dedicated staff members from new hires all the way up to management to deliver 100% customer satisfaction. I would love to go over this in further detail with...

Twin Cities,, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a bad option if you want to be on this side of the island. Like most beach hotels in this price range, it is a bit run down but doesn't feel dirty. You are paying mostly for very good views and great access to the beach. Hotel offers room service most hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
Madison, Ohio, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago

To look at the outside some may be disappointed. Don't let that deter you! Our room was gorgeous and the view! It can't be better! The staff was friendly and attentive. I almost don't want to share this jewel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We paid for a Deluxe Double room, there was a good amount of space, but there were what looked like burns on the carpet, and the bedside stand top was half ripped off. Views were wonderful, but the weather was cold and unfortunately couldn't make use of the hot tub, as it was outside, even though there is an indoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 950julien
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

950Julien, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were upset by our $5 Parking fee, it is a relatively new fee we instituted at the beginning of last summer, however, it is much...

Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We held my daughter's wedding and reception here this weekend (April 1, 2017). Alex Lorenz, Kaylie(?) and George and ALL the staff made my first daughter's wedding AMAZING! We had less than perfect weather for the rehearsal the night before, but they worked with us to finish the rehearsal inside (the wedding is on the patio outside) so we could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D_Y_Johnson
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

D-Y_Johnson, Thank you so much for your review! We are glad you all decided to have her wedding here with us at Shell Island. Our sales and banquet staff work so hard to make these events go off without a hitch and we happy to know that does not go unnoticed. We hope you all will come stay with us...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wedding was April 1, 2017, and I must say that Shell Island Resort and it's staff were amazing!! Alex Lorenz was God sent!! Her and the entire staff were super accommodating. Alex answered all of my questions and made sure that every detail was handled. We only had about three months to plan an entire wedding, and Alex did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toyah J
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Toyah J, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review Toyah. I'm glad to hear that your wedding went spectacularly! Alex, George, and Chef Green really put their all into our events and it is heartwarming to know that does not go unnoticed. We can't wait to see you all again for a vacation, hopefully sometime soon!

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I can't being to say enough great things about Shell Island Resort. Every single person we met from the front desk, to the waitstaff to the housekeeping were beyond nice and helpful. We enjoyed our planned 1 night stay so much that we booked another night! The rooms are spacious and there is nothing like waking up to the sunrise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laura l
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Laura, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write us this review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay so much you decided it needed to be longer! It truly is a wonderful location we have here at Shell Island being down at the end of Wrightsville beach truly does give you the feel that...

977 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (352)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (53)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (115)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
122 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
24.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
25.1 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Carolina Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: RM915 - RM1,698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Every room is oceanfront with a full kitchenette, 1 1/2 bath and a pull out sleeper sofa.”
Beachirl, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The rooms on the first floor are behind the dunes so therefore have no ocean view.”
Y6335GKangelab, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room/suite away from the elevator”
P5979BZrobertd, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are Ocean View, great location”
portergg, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5