We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Shell Island Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

927 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 925: English reviews
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great room (seperate bedroom - ours was a King) great view... Had full fridge w/ice maker, microwave, flat screen tv and dvd player. Fantastic view of the beach. Staff was very friendly. Enjoyed breakfast in the dinning room and our server, Bonnie, was very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank portergg
Clayton, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A big THANK YOU to the staff at Shell Island Resort (George, Kenneth and crew). We did encounter a little hiccup with our room, during a very busy resort weekend during February 11th and 12th, 2017, however, the staff was quick to act and did so most professionally all the way from General Management and across the entire staff. Everyone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tommy M
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just wrapped up an event at Shell Island Resort and stayed for two nights . . . far exceeded my expectations! From the planning phase to the execution of the event, working with Alexandra Lorenz was nothing short of spectacular. Our Banquet Manager, James went above and beyond each day to make sure every "t" was crossed and "I" dotted....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunny3232
Hope Mills, North Carolina
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Was impressed from the time we walked in the room. The bedroom had a spacious king size bed and a walk through bath to a half bath. This made it great when it came to getting ready to go somewhere. The separate sitting area included a kitchenette and small round table so we could enjoy the view of the beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
Halifax
Reviewed 15 January 2017

While not modern or recently updated, this hotel is In a beautiful location and has a wonderful beach. We stayed in a suite that had a nice bedroom and living room/kitchen. The view from the balcony was stunning. There was only one small swimming pool, and in my opinion it was no where near big enough to accommodate all the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences while staying here at Shell Island Resort. We are glad to have people like yourself come year after year to enjoy our beautiful sunrises over the Atlantic. I'm sorry you must have missed our other pool, as we have an indoor and outdoor pool as well as hot tub...

north carolina
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Shell Island never disappoints- the staff go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect, we've been coming here for over 20 years and it feels like a home away from home. Kevin and the front office staff are remarkably kind and thoughtful and we just can't say enough. They have everything you need for the perfect beach...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingtutNorthCarolina
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We will be sure to pass them on to Kevin as well as the other fabulous front desk agents we have on our staff. The staff of every department here at Shell Island work very hard each day to ensure guests like yourself have wonderful memories that follow them throughout the rest of their...

Muskego, WI
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We rushed to Wilmington to welcome our new grandson into the world and switched from another brand further in Wilmington after one night. We were pleased with the accommodations at Shell Island. I believe they are owner/condos so each room may be appointed differently. Ours was on the 3rd floor at the North/east end away from the parking ramp. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Lee, and congratulations on your precious new grandson. Shell Island has a lot to offer people that are traveling for any number of reasons, including welcoming a new life. You are correct that all of our rooms are individually owned and decorated, and we are glad you were able to get a walk-in special upon arriving. We hope...

Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My parents and I came down to ring in the New Year. We had a wonderful trip and stay. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly from the moment we called to book our room. Tanner went above and beyond. Our suite was perfect. I can't wait to book another vacation at Shell Island Resort. Thank you for making our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abbyloch
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thanks abbyloch, your kind words do not fall on deaf ears. We are delighted to share your feedback with Tanner as well as the rest of the staff throughout the resort. What better way to bring in the New Year than with a beautiful ocean front sunrise? It is our pleasure to make your vacation, as well as many others,...

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 31 December 2016

loved the location and the service. it was perfect for our family and exactly as posted on the website. Our kids had carry-out from the restaurant 2x's. they loved it and it was good value. the beach was perfect, as was the pool and hot tub. thanks for a great stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alicia l
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Alicia for taking your time to share your experiences. We are glad your children enjoyed our restaurant. Our menu is very extensive as well as very reasonably priced, maybe next time you will have a chance to try it out for yourself. It means a lot to hear people like yourself who bring their families here, say such...

Morgantown, West Virginia
Reviewed 13 December 2016

Let me start by saying this place has amazing views, decent pools & hot tub. Everything else pretty much sucks. This place is not much more than a low-class motel. The rooms are extremely small, dirty and worn out. This place could be truly amazing with a complete overhaul. Start by educating your front desk staff and then move on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CJS1958
Richard G, Front Office Manager at Shell Island Resort, responded to this review

CJS1958, Thank you for taking the time to write us your opinion. I am glad you enjoyed the views we had to offer as well as our pool areas. I am very sorry to hear that there were a few items that did not meet your expectations. I would however like the opportunity to hear more of your feedback. If...

965 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (340)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Other (108)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (599)
Viewed
Amenities (69)
Viewed
Beach (23)
Viewed
Pool (38)
Viewed
Premium Double Full Kitchen Suite (76)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Full Kitchen Suite (71)
Viewed
Premium King Corner Suite (78)
Viewed
Premium King Suite (78)
Viewed
Dining (47)
Viewed
Standard Double Corner Suite (68)
Viewed
The Hotel (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wrightsville Beach
5.4 km away
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
Sandpeddler Inn & Suites
#6 of 9 in Wrightsville Beach
118 reviews
4.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wilmington/Wrightsville Beach
5.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington/Mayfaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
SpringHill Suites Wilmington Mayfaire
25.1 km away
Courtyard Carolina Beach Oceanfront
24.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Carolina Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled on the northern tip of Wrightsville Beach, Shell Island Resort is surrounded by a sprawling expanse of sand and unparalleled views of the Atlantic Ocean, Mason’s Inlet, and Figure Eight Island. This family-friendly resort and hotel boasts a front row seat to the beckoning sea and a beach that seems to stretch endlessly, making it feel like it is yours alone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shell Island Resort

Address: 2700 Lumina Ave N, Wrightsville Beach, NC 28480-1699
Region: United States > North Carolina > Wrightsville Beach
Price Range: RM597 - RM1,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shell Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shell Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shell Island Oceanfront Hotel
Shell Island Oceanfront Resort
Wrightsville Beach Shell Island Resort
Shell Island Resort Nc
Shell Island North Carolina
Shell Island Hotel
Shell Island Nc
Shell Island Resort North Carolina
Shell Isl All Oceanfront Suites
Shell Is Resort Wrightsville Beach
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
#5 Family Hotel in Wrightsville Beach
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shell Island Resort staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Shell Island Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms are Ocean View, great location”
 of 5 bubbles portergg, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all of the rooms have an ocean view and well appointed kitchens !”
 of 5 bubbles kingtutNorthCarolina, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Maybe higher than 2nd floor for better views”
 of 5 bubbles WI_Muskego, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“book elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles CJS1958, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have an ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles MammaTraveler, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5