We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Railway Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Railway Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

41 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 41: English reviews
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A small B&B on the main road through Nether Whitacre. Staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is fantastic. The place is well kept, clean and modern. I had a small room (Room 4) - fine for me but I suspect some people might think it too small for the money. Likewise I was right...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichardWoodward162
about Menaggio
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We stayed here to visit the NEC. Our room was spacious and warm with a clean bathroom, although I found the bed too spongey for my liking and the pillow very soft. But you may like soft beds. Alao the Internet didn't work and my husband hit his head on the wooden stairs overhead,, which are a hazard. There wasn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneaboutMenaggio
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Cosy B&B which offers a warm welcome. Great attention to detail and room equipped with everything you could possibly need and spotlessly clean. Comfortable bed with plenty of pillows. Fantastic breakfast

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nikki G
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

The Railway Guest House has everything you'll need for a comfortable stay and was perfect for us to exhibit at the NEC which is only 15 mins drive through the countryside. Janice is lovely and couldn't be more helpful, there was always plenty of hot water, clean towels and hospitality The breakfast and service was excellent. We will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alphabetti
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This was our second visit here and will certainly not be our last. Janice is a very welcoming, friendly and amenable host. The rooms are clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Very tasty breakfast and Janice caters for special diets too. Would definitely recommend a stay here. It's only 10 minutes easy drive to the NEC, which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

This is our second visit here as part of a trip to an annual event at the NEC (which is only a 10 minute drive away). The location is lovely, and the owner Janice is extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms are very clean with everything you need, and the beds are really comfortable. The breakfast is delicious too!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2016

You should know this guest house has a 14 day cancellation period, and if you cancel within that time the owner sticks to the letter of the agreement and will not discuss a refund. In my case I had to cancel my 5 night stay about 12 or 13 days beforehand due to a family bereavement, and was charged for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themeone
Jameshouse653, Owner at The Railway Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir, you actually cancelled 9 days before arrival and you agreed to the cancellation policy at the time of your booking which was back in June through a booking Agent. Please consider taking out insurance in the furture, as this is the same as when you book a holiday and cannot cancel last minute. Kind regards Janice James

Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

I rang today to speak with a Manager or someone in charge to discuss a group booking and the Receptionist (no introduction was given) was very rude and refused to pass the phone and put the phone down on me without even a goodbye. I would avoid this hotel with it's minimum wage staff who have no manners. This guesthouse...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad R
Jameshouse653, Owner at The Railway Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Sir I get probaly 10 to 15 calls a day from cold callers asking for the manager or some one in charge reference, selling utilities, etc, etc, Most potential guests state immediately there are making enquiries for a booking. I ALWAYS answer the phone, saying good afternoon or morning can I help you I am terribly sorry for the...

England
Reviewed 24 April 2016

Fantastic hotel with lovely breakfast. The owner is brilliant and really really friendly, the room was nicely furnished with WiFi available. There are a couple of pubs just a few steps away, both sets food and one had a band on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ultimick
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

Lovely little guest house. We were made to feel very welcome. Very comfortable rooms. Thank you so much for a lovely base to attend a wedding. And for allowing us to have a fairly late breakfast that allowed us to attempt the journey home!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marianne R

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitacre Heath
2.3 km away
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
Lea Marston Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lea Marston
1,790 reviews
3.7 km away
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
Brook Marston Farm Hotel
#9 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
409 reviews
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Sutton Coldfield) Hotel
Premier Inn Birmingham North (Su...
#5 of 11 in Sutton Coldfield
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Grimscote Manor Hotel
Grimscote Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Coleshill
572 reviews
3.7 km away
Grimstock Country House Hotel
2.1 km away
Ye Olde Station Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Railway Guest House is a quality 3 Star Visit Britain Bed & Breakfast. Only a 12 minute Drive to The National Exhibition Center, Birmingham Airport & International Train Station. Thomas Land/ Drayton Manor, The Belfry, Hams hall are only a few minutes drive away.Free Wifi, Parking and a delicious English Breakfast is served to our Guests. We are situated in a lovely North Warwickshire Village 1 minute walk to 2 Traditional Country Pubs with Restaurants.Coleshill Market Town is 3 miles.We have En-suite rooms with Quality Bedding, Towels & Toiletries.Having EXCELLANT reviews I hope to make your stay a relaxed and comfortable one.JANICE ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Railway Guest House

Address: 25 Station Road, Whitacre Heath B46 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Whitacre Heath
Price Range: RM226 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Railway Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Railway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Railway Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 2 that overlooks the rear garden.”
 of 5 bubbles KeenEye64, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“All rooms excellent”
 of 5 bubbles janl499, 23 Nov 2014 | Read review
“A very nice guest house.. Lovely..”
 of 5 bubbles 703ElizabethS, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Top floor bedroom plenty of space”
 of 5 bubbles JimR629, 23 Nov 2012 | Read review
“Higher rooms have better views.”
 of 5 bubbles EnfieldScary, 12 Apr 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay