We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

279 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for West Coast Wilderness Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 26 September 2016

This was to be our luxury break on a tour of British Columbia. Room large comfortable with balcony overlooking what was described as the forest. Chairs on balcony damp but as I was bitten in the few minutes I was out there we didn't use it anyway. We arrived too late to book the zodiac trip so if you are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jpc692016
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are happy to hear you like Egmont we do too, sorry but damp weather, that can happen in the fall. I cant seen to find anyone at our front desk that wold charge for tea which is usually found at the coffee / tea station so this was weid,if we miss dropping tea off to your room I am...

Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Please allow me to say that the venue was a beautiful setting for a wedding, but unfortunately for us that was all we could say. The beauty was the only thing we felt this place had going for it. The beds were uncomfortable, the showers lacked pressure, and your "suites" were not suites, but large rooms, the staff was lacking...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank desireesteele78
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at West Coast Wilderness Lodge and that our accommodations were not what you were expecting. We understand your frustration with our accommodations and that our establishment is not what you would have booked, but it was bride that made the booking at the lodge you were wanting a place to...

Maple Ridge, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Who knew? Way out there, this oasis of ocean and mountains. Stayed 2nights with the Zodiac and dinner package. The food is outstanding !!! And ample !!! Glad we bought the package as the meals and drinks are pricey. But very very good. Be warned that you cannot sip your own wine on their patios and decks or propert, other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank darlenew1919
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 19 September 2016

My partner and I visited the place for a light lunch. We enjoyed an excellent bowl of Seafood Chowder and the Split Pea Soup of the day. We were offered bread : 4 slices of baguette sized white bread slices. The 2 glasses of IPA beer on tap was excellent, too. The waiter was friendly and efficient. We admired the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Marie B
WCWLodge, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for coming in and we happy that you enjoy your meal , unfortunately whether to charge for bread or not is always a dilemma. We always appreciate feed back for next years season and the menu has been thoroughly discussed with managers. We hope you will grace us again in the future with your presence to see our improvements...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Love, Love, Love the West Coast Wilderness Lodge. Gorgeous views, remote location, food is amazing, cozy rooms and the most helpful and accommodating staff! A must is the skookumchuck narrows hike, be sure to stop off at the quaint bakery on the trail! Delicious!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smiles66
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Amazing no-cell-phone-reception location over looking the water and islands, so-so accommodation, so-so service, bad management, and nice food... all for a large price. One night in the Ocean View Suite costs $350 + tax. One evening mail for 2 adults and a teenager costed $190. So why only 1 star? WCWL was our last stop on a 2 week road...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Simon H
WCWLodge, Owner at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We find this review peculiar, as it seems the reviewer has only just joined Trip advisor to point out at our faults, although we do accept the criticism. We can write a great long response, however it will always be a moot point when dealing with professional critics. Some of the photos posted with comments are this individuals personal opinion....

Oakland, California
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This is an off-the-beaten path resort, set in a stunning location, and designed to make the most of it. Lodging is in one-story four-plexes, well designed, quiet, with individual decks. The main dining area has a great view and is situated to make the most of it, and includes as much outdoor area for dining as indoor. The biggest surprise...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m d
Saddle River, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We have been to WCWL twice - once in summer 2013 and again in August 2016. We had fun the first time and an even better experience the second. The resort seemed to be in even better repair the second time. A quick review: ROOMS: In 2013 we had a room in the adjacent cabin building, with balconies but no...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cgsaddle
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

On approaching the WCWL, the buildings and car parking has the appearance of cabins in the woods rather than the hotel style accommodation we were expecting from the website. The welcome at reception was nice and we were shown around the lodge by one of the team members. I think at this point having someone take our bags to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Matthew H
WCWLodge, Owner at West Coast Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review. TripAdvisor has given us the privilege to take recommendations from our guests but still allowing us to educate our future guests. We would just like to point out we are not a 5 star resort, we are a 3 star for all of our amenities. Valet and baggage service is not something we offer nor is...

Reviewed 4 September 2016

The West Coast Wilderness Lodge was our "big splurge" on a two week trip that we took to BC. It certainly has many positive attributes and much that we did enjoy. Overall however, we have to say that we were underwhelmed given the $1200+ cost of our 2 day package. The biggest positive is the setting - I think that...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Janet&Mike a

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (19)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egmont
16.7 km away
Painted Boat Resort
Painted Boat Resort
#1 of 4 in Madeira Park
342 reviews
16.0 km away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Bathgate General Store, Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
128 reviews
24.2 km away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
770 reviews
0.3 km away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
West Coast Wilderness Lodge resort brings first-class adventure, fine dining and luxury accommodations to the laid-back Sunshine Coast of British Columbia. Come experience the crisp salt air and breathtaking views of the Pacific Northwest -- at a place where every day is filled with romantic moments and unforgettable memories. Simple luxury on Nature's doorstep -- unforgettable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about West Coast Wilderness Lodge

Address: 6649 Maple Road, Egmont, British Columbia V0N 1N0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Egmont
Price Range: RM534 - RM1,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — West Coast Wilderness Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and HRS so you can book your West Coast Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Coast Wilderness Hotel Egmont
West Coast Wilderness Egmont
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from West Coast Wilderness Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from West Coast Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a view, a hot tub (all units don't have them.) Request special diets, wheelchair access, etc.”
jeago, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have views and are quite similar”
maiseymaisey, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Although potentially noisier, the Ocean Suites have stunning views.”
ElizabethS253, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Its worth getting an oceanview if you can afford to.”
Xavier759, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Depends on what you want to spend. If you want a view than you have to pay the price.”
LucyLiao, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates