We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Selkirk Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nakusp
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Selkirk Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 67: English reviews
British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Travel here every summer to ride some of the best motorcycle roads in BC. Always stay at the Selkirk Inn. Owners are very accommodating and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a/c that keeps you cool on those hot days of summer. They provide water & towels to clean your bike. Get a room at the back to have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris a
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 21 August 2016

This was an unplanned detour off our original vacation path, but we were pleasantly rewarded. The town is tucked away in the mountains and this motel seem to have kept some "old styles", but not in a bad way. We had a standard room with one queen bed. furnitures were antiquey, but kinda cute in its own way. We like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank madburk62
Vernon, Canada
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Beds were hard. Two women sharing a room and we were given a half bottle of shampoo (obviously not replaced when partially used by previous guests). Internet appeared to be turned off much of the time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mary_Pop800
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 28 March 2016

I stayed in Selkirk Inn for one night. I arrived mid- evening and was the only guest. I tried to negotiate a discount given the time of year, the fact that I was the only guest and the very outdated room. The owner was unwilling to negotiate: "the tourist season is so short so we have to charge this price."...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lludlam_taylor
Logan Lake, Canada
Reviewed 27 December 2015

This place although seems clean is terrible. No heat was turned on in December! Arrived to a very cold room. We booked in advance and asked for adjoining rooms and when we arrived we got a room with a little cubicle and a cot as the adjoining room - no window. There was no closet to hang up clothing. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarolAnnQ
samNakusp, Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review

We feel unfortunate that you were not satisfied with your stay, and will do our best to improve and upgrade according to needs and demand of costumers in this region. However, we recognize, and hope you can understand, that since we (a motel in a town of 1500) are not a big franchised establishment in a city with 10k+ population...

Canada
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Camping with kids and hotsprings we stayed here one night and organized all our stuff there was 5 of us, we filled our cooler with ice again with the ice machine in the hall. The coffee was down the hall in the morning. It was clean, the owner is nice. A good place to re group and shower. Not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ModLebowski
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 19 September 2015 via mobile

Beds were rock hard and uncomfortable. Walls were so thin I could hear the person above us urinating. Way over priced for what it was. Stay elsewhere if you can. It was clean and was sufficient for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JavaJava B
samNakusp, Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for sharing your opinion and letting us know the problems. Would you be able to provide the date and room number you stayed at the Selkirk Inn so that we can make necessary changes to improve? Sincerely,

Canada
Reviewed 2 September 2015

First of all, the front desk staff were SO friendly. That must be noted. But our room had an awful moldy/musty smell upon entering. The room also did not have a blow dryer nor a coffee machine. It was clean though and that is of utmost importance. If you're looking for a simple place to stay for one night on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank VivaJude
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 7 August 2015

Stayed here for a wedding and the beds are good and they have cable TV. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. This hotel is very close to downtown and the beach. They have beach towel for you to take at the front desk. The hotel room was very clean, Hotel is about $111.00 high season (Includes tax). There is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NecroN
samNakusp, Manager at Selkirk Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear about both what you liked and what you think need improvement. We will continue to work hard and improve our quality and services for the future, and would welcome you to visit again.

Kelowna
Reviewed 31 July 2015

In essence, this place has the appearance of a somewhat rundown motel, with an unkempt exterior, sparse furniture, small old cathode-type TV and small, rough towels (with a sign exhorting not to steal them!). The shower in our room had enough pressure to take the paint off a car (a good thing), but the curtain was made of some porous...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kashic

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nakusp hotels
0.9 km away
Halcyon Hot Springs
Halcyon Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Nakusp
441 reviews
0.8 km away
Huckleberry Inn
Huckleberry Inn
#5 of 5 in Nakusp
29 reviews
16.7 km away
Rock Island Resort
Rock Island Resort
#3 of 8 in Nakusp
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Selkirk Inn,conveniently located downtown Nakusp,has 39 clean and spacious units (incl. 11 Kitchenette rooms), luxurious queen/double size beds for you to enjoy. Each room has cable TV, wireless internet, and a mini fridge. Complimentary coffee in the lobby. Friendly people offering a clean and comfortable home away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Selkirk Inn

Address: 210 6th Avenue NW | Box 370, Nakusp, British Columbia V0G 1R0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Kootenay Rockies > Nakusp
Price Range: RM288 - RM421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Selkirk Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Call to book ahead if you can, we almost didn't get a room because they were busy. (maybe just the summer?)”
 of 5 bubbles madburk62, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Located on a really quiet street. We left the window open all night and there was no noise and we were on the street side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Ilovegod1, 6 Sep 2014 | Read review
“There is no lift, so don't have heavy suitcases to carry up the stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles DaveandSan, 2 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't hesitate to choose this hotel. It is affordable. Don't let the age of the furnishings hold you back from a great stay at Selkirk Inn.”
 of 5 bubbles Ilovegod1, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
“Get a room on the ground, the ones upstairs have not been renovated.”
 of 5 bubbles Grammy929, 24 Jul 2013 | Read review
5 of 5