We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel

    Rocky Hill Road | Trinity East, Port Rexton, Newfoundland and Labrador A0C 2H0, Canada
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    24/12/2017 25/12/2017
    Are these your travel dates?
    TripAdvisor uses this information to find you the lowest prices for your stay.
    Traveller (10)
    Dining (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent85%
    • Very good11%
    • Average3%
    • Poor1%
    • Terrible0%
    Travellers talk about
    “local brewery” (2 reviews)
    “other guests” (5 reviews)
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Breakfast included
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Kitchenette
    Multilingual Staff
    Wheelchair Access
    Laundry Service
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
    Write a ReviewReviews (59)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 59 reviews

    Reviewed 17 September 2017

    This is a lovely hostel, very relaxed and easy going. It offers all the basic amenities and is very clean. The owners have a great ethos about providing a good hostel at reasonable cost, and they are super friendly and helpful. And so are the...More

    Thank Linda R
    Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

    Really liked this hostel - I hate the word but it had a nice "vibe", from the little messages about drinking water to the artwork on the walls. Comfy beds, towels, earplugs provided, and a well organised kitchen with nice stuff - you know, the...More

    Thank ClaireL81
    Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

    We stayed in two of the private rooms but otherwise all hostel rules applied. No double bed room available so had to pay extra for a "family room". Shared bathrooms and kitchen with other guests and campers. Breakfast (cereal, toast and oranges) included. Do your...More

    Thank RAND23456
    Response from SkerwinkHostel, Owner at HI Trinity Skerwink HostelResponded 27 August 2017

    Hi Rand23456, We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at the Skerwink Hostel, we recall that your group seemed surprised when you arrived, and that you had simply booked the cheapest accommodation in the area without seeing that we...More

    Reviewed 14 August 2017

    I was here just one night. But I liked that relaxed atmosphere. Owners and volunteer staff were very friendly and helpful. For dinner I had mussels for the first time in my life. Delicious! Thanks für a wonderful stay.

    Thank manublech
    Response from SkerwinkHostel, Owner at HI Trinity Skerwink HostelResponded 15 August 2017

    Thank you for your review! We're happy you enjoyed the mussels! Definitely the best mussels we've ever had. Kind regards, Gavin and Martha

    Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

    Myself and a few friends stayed at the skerwink hostel for one night. We were in the dorm room - It was very clean and modern. It was nice that the doors had keypad locks and we had a private bathroom which was nice! The...More

    Thank Robyn Isabella W
    Response from SkerwinkHostel, Owner at HI Trinity Skerwink HostelResponded 25 July 2017

    Thank you Robyn for you fantastic review! We're happy you enjoyed your time at the Skerwink Hostel and the Bonavista Peninsula! Hope to welcome you again in the future. Warm Regards, Gavin and Martha Owners and Operators HI Trinity - Skerwink Hostel

    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Breakfast included
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Breakfast included
    • Laundry Service
    • Multilingual Staff
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$31 - US$63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 5
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your HI Trinity Skerwink Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Canada >
    • Newfoundland and Labrador >
    • Newfoundland >
    • Port Rexton
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (10)
    Dining (3)
    Room & Suite (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (15)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Two Whales Coffee Shop
    271 reviews
    1.95 km away
    Twine Loft
    329 reviews
    2.14 km away
    Fishers' Loft Inn Restaurant
    115 reviews
    .67 km away
    Dock Marina Restaurant & Craft
    311 reviews
    1.72 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Skerwink Trail
    416 reviews
    1.48 km away
    Port Rexton Brewing Co.
    48 reviews
    1.17 km away
    Sea of Whales Adventures
    293 reviews
    2.01 km away
    Lockston Path Provincial Park
    19 reviews
    1.67 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Cyn2371
    24 April 2017|
    Answer
    Response from Martha N |
    Hi there, Yes there are shuttle services from St Johns that come right to the hostel for $40-$45 pp. They leave every day between 12-2pm. Have a look at the hostel website for more info on how to get to us underneath... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "There are family rooms, dorms, and it looked like a dorm with en suite bathroom. Ask when you book."
    Read review
    "Stayed in a private room for three"
    Read review
    "No real difference"
    Read review
    "This was a house rental. The above ratings do not apply. The house was like a home and very comfortable with..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing