We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rocky Harbour
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 114: English reviews
Pickering, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2016

We landed at Deer Lake and drove straight to the Anchor Down B&B. Vera, Dave and Mae couldn't have been nicer. They made us feel like we were in our own home. The breakfast is amazing each day something new and hot which was great because it was cold. Vera helped to find places to do things and the rooms... More 

Helpful?
Thank dgg0809
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Three friends who enjoyed one night there. We had to arrive late due to flights. Vera and Dave were very accommodating. The place is spotlessly clean, well appointed without being pretentious. Vera and Dave are great hosts. The food was lovely and delicious. I would only suggest a good protein option for breakfast. It's not on the water and this... More 

Helpful?
Thank brennada
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We were travel around Newfoundland and on our way from St. Anthony to Twillingate, we decide to break up the trip and spend a night in Rocky Harbour. We booked a night at the Anchor Down B&B and the only thing that I am disappointed about was the fact that we had not planned to stay longer! Vera and Dave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve S
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2016

If you staying in Rocky Harbour definitely book your stay at Anchor Down! Vera's incredible breakfasts and Dave's handy work (Masonry, wood crafts, drawings and wood working) add a downhome NFLD touch to your vacation.

Helpful?
Thank suemaggie2016
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
187 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

A dedicated B&B this place accommodates quite the crew at breakfast. Our room opened on to the kitchen which made for an interesting morning shore, shave and s-other things. It had more the feel of a hostel with their being three other "groups" overlapping with us. Breakfast was plentiful and varied but produced in vast quantities rather than anything personalized... More 

Helpful?
Thank jhsheep
Daine, Owner at Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are very sorry your stay at our home was so such a disaster, first I have to defend my room off the kitchen - dining room. We do not use this kitchen to cook, it is primarily an area where I provide coffee and tea for all my guest and serve breakfast at 8:am. We do not come in... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2016 via mobile

On our first visit Newfoundland, we stayed with Vera and Dave at the Anchor Down B & B in Rocky Harbour. We experienced outstanding hospitality in a beautifully renovated home surrounded by spectacular views of Gros Morne . The breakfast included a variety of delicious homemade treats with a different hot dish each morning. Vera provided great suggestions of local... More 

Helpful?
Thank Gerry G
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

We stayed here twice as we participated in Rocky Harbour activities and then later as we returned form St. Anthony. The room was comfortable but not fancy. The shower was very good. The main attraction here was the hospitality provided by Vera and Dave and the breakfast surprise. Our favourite was something that Vera described as 'Blueberry French Toast'. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank LesandMarilyn
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
247 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2016

Vera and Anchor Down B&B provide a genuine warm welcome in Rocky Harbour. Her obvious pride in her home is reflected in every area from the immaculate condition of the property, inside and out, to the tasteful décor throughout the B&B including fresh flowers on the breakfast table. We had room C for our one night stay and it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank SengaMilne
Kenzingen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016

What else could we say than THANK YOU for the great stay. We booked two rooms and both were comfy and very clean. Breakfast was outstanding and the guests had many opportunities to relax in the B&B. Nice living room for all and the kitchen offered a great variety of tea and coffee. The outside was well kept and the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Swen S
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
624 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 961 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Better late than never! We loved our brief stay here in this lovely well run B & B. We had ridden coast to coast (twice) and had to ride to St John's to finish this journey. On the way back to the mainland we fortunately found this super place. You have no idea how like Ireland Newfoundland is......we felt we... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Harleyclarkey

17 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rocky Harbour
1.0 km away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#1 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
175 reviews
0.7 km away
Fisherman's Landing Inn
Fisherman's Landing Inn
#3 of 3 in Rocky Harbour
90 reviews
38.0 km away
Seabreeze Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Neddies Harbour Inn
Neddies Harbour Inn
#1 of 4 in Norris Point
216 reviews
38.3 km away
Shallow Bay Motel & Cabins
19.9 km away
Riverside Chalets
Riverside Chalets
#1 of 1 in River of Ponds
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
6 bedroom 4 star Bed & Breakfast with all en suites, we are located in the heart of Gros Morne National Park, close to all amenities and park attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast

Address: 84 Pond Road, Rocky Harbour, Gros Morne National Park, Newfoundland and Labrador A0K 4N0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gros Morne National Park > Rocky Harbour
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast Rocky Harbour, Newfoundland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Toronto, Canada
6 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Anchor Down Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in the room off the sitting room. Not sure what the others were like but the other guests were as happy as we were.”
 of 5 bubbles peterbO9349ZJ, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the kitchen if you want to sleep in but don't miss the breakfast.”
 of 5 bubbles dgg0809, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Our room was right off the kitchen area but we were not bothered by any noise. The bed was extremely comfortable; ensuite bath was spacious”
 of 5 bubbles stevesA6434WO, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I wouldn't choose the room leading from either the common room or the dining room.”
  • Room C - perfect
  • Spacious with ample storage
 of 5 bubbles SengaMilne, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“I think any of the rooms would be OK. Our friends had the room off the common room but did not have any problems with it.”
 of 5 bubbles cruiser2003, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5