We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cornerstone Motel

Save
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (28)
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
Membership_Interstitial_for_Hotel_Review_Returners
We can monitor prices for you!
Sign up to receive alerts.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fire pit”(28 reviews)
“national park”(24 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Breakfast included
Pool
2 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
116
63
21
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
116
63
21
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pita river view roomnational parkcabot trailthe owneracross the bridgeriver runninglovely riverwalking trailsbirch treescoffee makerroom was cleanlarge picturemotorcycle tripright directiongreat roomgreat place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When my wife and I booked this motel last minute in July, we were expecting a typical motel, but when we arrived, were we ever pleasantly surprised! We were met at check-in by Kathy and Greg (the owners) and they were so informative and gave...More

2  Thank Dreamr52
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dreamer52, We are so happy your time at the Cornerstone Motel was such a great surprise! It's our goal to make everybody that stays with us feel the way you did and this is what makes us stand out from the rest. We both...More

Reviewed 22 January 2018

The Cornerstone Motel is just outside the Cape Breton National Park and on the edge of the town of Cheticamp - Cathy and Greg, proprietors, were great with recommendations for things to do in the area. With rain falling almost constantly since our arrival these...More

2  Thank Frank A
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 14 February 2018

Hi Frank. We are so happy to hear your stay here was enjoyable and memorable Frank! Loved having you stay here with your daughter and showing you the best places to go to experience the Cape Breton hospitality. We have so much to offer right...More

Reviewed 16 November 2017

This is more of an accommodation complex in a park like setting; in fact you might say in a park. At the doorstep of the Highlands on the Cabot Trail and the town of cheticamp only minutes away, the motel is nestled into the forest...More

1  Thank fisher_eye_lens
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 21 January 2018

Hi "fisher_eye_lens", We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is always good to hear that all of the renovations have done over the last few years have created an comfortable atmosphere that our guests enjoy and feel at home with!...More

Reviewed 2 November 2017

Cornerstone Motel is located just before the entrance to the Cape Breton Highlands National Park, on the outskirts of Chetticamp. We stayed in room #17 with a gorgeous river view. Bed was very comfortable, television worked great, shower was hot with good water pressure, coffee...More

1  Thank smmoore07
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 21 January 2018

Hi "smmoore07", So glad to hear your stay with us met your expectations and you felt the view from the room was so spectacular. I couldn't agree with you more on that! We really appreciate your understanding of our check-in time! Unfortunately our check-in time...More

Reviewed 22 October 2017

This is the last place you pass before you enter Cape Breton National Park from Cheticamp. Its setting is perfect; two minutes and you are in the Park, and the most spectacular part of the park at that! We had a river view room which...More

Thank Alan321
Response from Greg L, Owner at Cornerstone MotelResponded 25 October 2017

Hi Alan, We appreciate your kind words and are so glad you had a great stay with us! The amenities we offer are just what people ask for and your right, you couldn't get any closer to the park without being in the park! Thanks...More

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Cape Breton Island, Canada
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$95 - US$121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (122)
Room & Suite (28)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Beth N
10 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Oh yea, restaurants are all open until late October! Then there are only 3 or 4 open...
1
Vote
Nancy B
1 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
Hi and thanks Nancy for considering the Cornerstone Motel as your preferred place to stay while visiting the amazing Cheticamp area! Unfortunately we don't have any roll out beds and only provide fixed beds in our rooms. We... More
0
Votes
Cathcartjr
2 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Greg L | Property representative |
We do have availability if you book with the Cornerstone Motel directly. You can either call us at 902-224-3232 or go to our online reservation system at the Cornerstone motel website. Looking forward to hearing back from... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Book in advance as they seem to book up quickly in the summer."
Read review
"try for a river view room, peaceful with a great view"
Read review
"liked being in the lower complex away from the road"
Read review
"River view rooms are the best."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing