We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

252 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Dalvay by the Sea Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 243: English reviews
notl
Reviewed 28 September 2016

My husband and I recently spent two miserable nights at this hotel. My husband wanted to treat me to a luxury weekend at the historic hotel. The setting is outstanding. The dinner was amazing. The rooms we cold and the breeze coming through the windows was ice cold. We never did get warm water in the sink. It did take...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dryan
Management response:

Thank you for your feedback dryan. I am sorry your stay as Davlay wasn't up to your expectations. We closed the bar at 10pm but unfortunately some people stayed and socialize in the lobby area in front of the fireplace most likely. As for the warm water issue, Dalvay is a old heritage building and it does take more time...

Felton, United States
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Our one night stay at Dalvay by the Sea was wonderful. Walking into the gorgeous lobby was a step back in time! It was a cloudy, rainy day when we arrived and we smelled a wood fire as we exited our car. The massive fireplace was burning with comfortable furniture surrounding it. Our room was described as a "cozy queen"...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
Management response:

Thank you Judith F for your wonderful review! We really appreciate it and we hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

toronto
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is for people that like views,nature, old,history,experience , friendliness of the locals, great walks,sunrises and sunsets, the ocean, the breeze in your face while walking by yourself on red sand. The restaurant is great and the atmosphere is like been at your great grandmother's house. If you are a brat looking for Starbucks and NYC style amenities..please stay in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mike m
Management response:

Thank you mike m for the great comments! We love your title! We hope to see you again next year. Best regards, Sylvie

Coldstream, BC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I stayed there in August and there were several unpleasant surprises. This hotel is run by a management that condones unethical practices. They take no interest in their quality control. I paid too much money for 1 night stay to be treated poorly. Of note: you do not get coffee in your room but can go downstairs to the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Nora A
Management response:

Dear Leonora B, I am sorry again about your poor experience at Dalvay by the Sea. Your issue was dealt with internally and the owners and management were involve in this process. We took your feedback to our last meeting and we will make some changes next year on a few issues. Best regards,

Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

OK - it needs a little paint , but classic small mansions converted to hotels are unusual and rare. So much of the place is original you can feel like you are a guest at a large estate home. Its on the upper end of PEI prices and the rooms are small, but the setting is beautiful . Dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted B
Management response:

Thank you Ted B for your feedback. We always take our guests comments in consideration. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

What a great trip, we will be back PEI and when I do we'll stay here again. The Dalvay is first class. The front desk was awesome and provided great insight. The food is excellent. I oils recommend they keep the coffee at open later in the morning. The entire staff was so friendly and helpful. No felt like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
Management response:

Thank you Gregory S for the wonderful review! It is much appreciated and I will make sure to pass this along to all the staff. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Miami, FL
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Our $227/night tiny room had no AC, no TV, nor other amenities, just a bed and a bathroom. No place to even open a suitcase except on top of the bed. Closet filled with a standing fan and other items—no room for clothes. I make allowances for historic hotels, but this was just plain awful. Dalvay-by-the-sea restaurant– Dinner excellent, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank johnpE908TO
Management response:

Thank you for your review johnpE908TO. I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Dalvay. I would like to hear more about your stay at Dalvay if you could reach me at 902-672-2048 or my email smichaud@dalvaybythesea.com. Again, sorry for your bad experience at Dalvay. Sylvie

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had lunch at this hotel. The ground was nice. Lake and beach were nearby. Tennis, boating and bike rental were available. Several rental cottages were on site. Food and services were great. Price was reasonable. Inside was nice and charming.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven s
Management response:

Thank you steven s for your great review. We really appreciate it! We hope to see you in the near future,. Best regards, Sylvie

Canada
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had a lovely time at this property, staying 1 night. The room was quite comfortable and we enjoyed a couple games of chess in the sitting room. Shannon provided great customer service and loved learning about the Dalvay. We hope to visit again. One recommendation would be better marked trails or map.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HolidayTimeNow
Management response:

Thank you HolidayTimeNow for your wonderful review. I will pass this along to Shannon. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards, Sylvie

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Stayed for two nights in June for a mini vacation and wasn't disappointed. If you're a fan of good food, classic decor, beachside activities (the beach is literally across the road), and just wanting to have a classic experience, it's hard to beat Dalvay. Now if only the bar was open just a few hours longer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadiancreed
Management response:

thank you canadiancreed for you feedback. We really appreciate it. We usually close the bar at 10pm in June for the simple fact that we get noise complaints from rooms on the 2nd floor, but we will take your suggestion in consideration for next year. Best regards, Sylvie

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (165)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (191)
Viewed
Cozy Queen Room (27)
Viewed
King Room (30)
Viewed
Queen Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalvay
20.8 km away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
693 reviews
20.5 km away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
578 reviews
20.4 km away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
Shaw's Hotel and Cottages
#2 of 2 in Brackley Beach
95 reviews
9.6 km away
Brackley Beach North Winds
Brackley Beach North Winds
#1 of 2 in Brackley Beach
164 reviews
25.2 km away
Kindred Spirits Country Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Dalvay-By-The-Sea, a National Historic Site of Canada, is an elegant Queen Anne Revival home built in 1895 by a Scottish-American oil tycoon. A summer resort hotel since the 1930's, Dalvay By-The-Sea is located at the east end of Prince Edward Island's National Park on scenic Dalvay Beach. There are 25 guest rooms; all are largely furnished in period antiques and all rooms offer a four-piece private bath. Each of our rooms is singular and unique. In addition, there are eight three-bedroom cottages located adjacent to the inn, offering vistas of the ocean, Dalvay Lake and acres of manicured grounds. The inn currently operates from June 1st - mid October, offering both accommodations and dining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Dalvay by the Sea Hotel

Address: 16 Cottage Cres. | Rte. 6, Dalvay Beach, Dalvay, Prince Edward Island C0A 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Dalvay
Price Range: RM603 - RM977 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalvay by the Sea Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dalvay by the Sea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dalvay By The Sea
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dalvay by the Sea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You might want to spend the extra on a room in the front with a view of the lake, especially if you spend much time in the room”
947stevenc, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the lake for wonderful sunrise views”
919rebeccap, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“detox from this world here!”
mikem696, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest you don't book a room just enjoy the restaurant”
376noraa, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“At least ground floor rooms are awful.”
johnpE908TO, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5