We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Taplow House Hotel

02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Taplow House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

621 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taplow House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 616: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2015

This is supposedly a four star hotel, just a few points, other things did jar- we arrived and had dinner at the restaurant, Berry's I think it is called, I had two courses, Duck Confit...somebody thought it was a good idea to make the duck into the shape of a cricket ball, now I know what a cricket ball tastes...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Penguinet
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Well done on your first review on Tripadvisor!! We welcome all positive, constructive, fair and factual feedback – yours contains none of this. Your review is just a foul attack on us, and is uncalled for! The “bolshie waitress” is a hard working member of staff who tries her hardest to provide the best service possible and remains calm, caring...

essex
Reviewed 21 September 2015 via mobile

We were very lucky to get a cancellation on one the suites. The staff were very friendly and professional. Our room/suite was exquisite, any Downton Abbey fans would love it. We were very pleasantly surprised at the four poster bed and the large bay window looking down on the well kept gardens. We had lunch which was a bit pricey,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank jillda
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iillda Thank you for the fantastic review on your recent stay at Taplow House. I am delighted that it was a memorable stay. Please do visit again. Regards Dave Seward General Manager

Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 September 2015

We booked the "Your house your day" package with Taplow for our wedding in August. I couldn't recommend the package highly enough to anyone considering it. It was perfect for us as nearly all our guests were travelling to us for the wedding, and it meant they could all stay and we could have a whole weekend of celebrations and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank CharlotteGoff
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

What a fabulous review. Thank you so much for all your lovely comments. I am delighted your wedding day was such a success and I am thrilled that we looked after you so well. Our ‘Your House, Your day’ exclusive use package is proving extremely popular. I will certainly pass on your thanks to all our hardworking staff. Do come...

Slough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2015

Booked an executive room and put into a classic room on our wedding night. It was 1am so I complained the next day instead (stayed for 2 nights). Was told that all other rooms were taken so we could not be moved. On the second night, there was extremely loud music at a party until 2am on a Sunday night....

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Aleesha A
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

I am so sorry that you had a bad nights sleep resulting from noisy guests. I have spoken to the night manager who assures me he tried his best to quieten the excited wedding party. We do try to ensure guests keep the noise down. Do give us another try. Dave Seward General Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

the hotel is in a quiet location, this is an old building the rooms are well kept, the food in the hotel is very good and the service is vrey good. Once again the downside is only 2 hours free wifi in a modern world paying for WIFI is not good.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Longtravellers
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the glowing comments after your business stay at Taplow. Delighted that you found the food outstanding. I am so sorry that you had trouble with the Wifi, as we have recently had this upgraded. The two hours that you were able to use is for our guests not staying overnight but having a meal or taking tea...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

My daughter and I wanted to get away from London for the weekend. We chose this hotel because of its history. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The grounds are lovely and peaceful. We will definitely return again.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Margaret T
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of Taplow House, we are very proud of its rich history and thank you for mentioning this. I am pleased you found the staff helpful and friendly I have shared your lovely comments with our team who take pride in such feedback. Please do come back and visit us soon Dave Seward General Manager

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Went with some girlfriends for some afternoon tea. The location is gorgeous, and the décor lovely. It was a bog-standard afternoon tea, with some nice choices of tea and a great selection of cakes - hot-from-the-oven scones as well. What spoilt it was the waitress, however. She wasn't that smiley at all, seemed to be like a robot. Absolute zero...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank miss_igirisu
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

We are happy to hear that on the whole you had a lovely afternoon tea here at Taplow House and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your experience. I have passed your comments onto our Food & Beverage Manager with regards the waitress who served you on the day as this is certainly not...

High Wycombe
Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

A lovely family lunch in a private room at the hotel. We had to pre order due to the numbers involved but everything was well presented and we were well looked after. The staff were able to add dishes where people hadn't pre ordered and were able to swap things around as necessary. A delightful location too.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rob H
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of Taplow House Hotel. I am delighted to hear you were well looked after by our food and beverage team and I thank you for your lovely comment about the food being well presented. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team. We usually take a pre order when there is...

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Visited this hotel with my husband and from the website we were very much looking forward to this stay. The hotel it self looks very nice but inside the rooms are tried. We were upgraded but unfortunately we would never of known if we were not told. There were stains on the carpet and the chair in our room was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kirsty L
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent saty at Taplow House. We are in the process of replacing the carpets throughout our 32 guest bedrooms. We are also in the process of reupholstering our guest bedroom furniture. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I disagree with your review entirely regarding our payment procedure. Three members of our...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2015

We had a truly wonderful time at the Taplow House Hotel to celebrate our wedding. The ‘Our House, Your Day’ is an excellent format, our guests all stayed overnight and so everyone was very relaxed with no worries about transport – and regrouping everyone for breakfast was such a nice way to recall the previous day together. A mishap that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Fiona T
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review on your wedding Day at Taplow. I am delighted that the “Your House, Your day” package was perfect for your special day. Having an entire hotel for you and your guests and no-one else is a dream!!! Yours to do what you want with!!!! All of your fabulous comments have been passed on to the team....

190 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (151)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.0 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
559 reviews
3.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
907 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.4 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,119 reviews
0.9 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: RM642 - RM974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taplow House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only used the restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles Percynell, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room overlooking the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles mrwilliamsj, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It's worth upgrading . there is no lift but the stairs are not steep. Orkney,on the top floor is well appointed and a good bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles mlyn, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Lovely views on the South side”
 of 5 bubbles cyril538, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the gardens and with a modern bathroom”
 of 5 bubbles FussyFlic, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Agoda.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates