We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Taplow House Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Taplow House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

602 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Taplow House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 598: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 July 2015

Please do not believe any negative reviews. This hotel is lovely! Surrounded by perfectly manicured grounds/gardens. Very peaceful and wonderful. Warm welcome received. Room was fairly small but it had all I needed. Comfortable bed and bathroom. Did not have dinner at the hotel. Few restaurants nearby within walking distance. Would happily return to this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank XseniaX
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this truly lovely review. I am delighted that you could see the real potential of Taplow House Hotel. I was especially delighted that you, without hesitation, would return. Thank you again Dave Seward General Manager

Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

I went for afternoon tea with 2 friends yesterday. The afternoon tea itself was lovely, the scones were freshly baked, and the cakes were delicious. Sadly my friends did find a few hairs in their cakes though! The service wasn't the best (they forgot milk and sugar for our tea and we were not offered any top of up of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank CCAA44
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CCA44. Thank you for taking the time to review your tea experience at Taplow. Your review and that of your friend (below) are really very different and I am sorry that you did not enjoy it as much as she did. Please allow me to apologise if our standards fell short of the mark. I have discussed this with...

England
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

Friends gave us a gift of champagne afternoon tea at Taplow House and it was our first visit. We really enjoyed it, looking out over the park, there was a deer under the trees. There's a large terrace which would be lovely on a sunny day. The afternoon tea was delicious, excellent scones. It's an unusual looking building, internally a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne55England
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anne55England Thank you for this lovely review on you visit to Taplow It’s hard to believe that you were at the same table as the above reviewer. I have passed your kind comments onto the Chef and the restaurant staff. We are on the road to refurbishing Taplow to its former glory, a long journey indeed!! We have a...

Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Dined with 3 friends on Friday...we try to meet up about once a month for a catch up and chose Berry's restaurant as our venue this time. Loved the easy parking and the stroll past the gardens to a very grand entrance with a gorgeous flower arrangement. The dining room is very splendid and we were greeted very quickly. Service...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Richard B
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard B A fantastic review on you recent visit to Taplow House. I am delighted that you enjoyed you meal and that you found it to be simply delicious but even more pleased that you would return and encourage other to as well. So thank you again from all of the team Dave Seward General Manager

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

When you pay £180 for a room you do expect something for your money. What we got was a tiny room (I've stayed in larger in Central London and Paris for the same money or less) with a small double bed, dated, damaged furnishings and walls splattered with goodness knows what. When we approached the staff about changing our room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Karl G
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karl G, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that your room with us was not up to your standard and that you found it too small. As a country house all rooms are of different size - a unique venue. I have noted your points about the furnishings and will make the housekeeping team aware....

Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2015

We had the whole wedding package for our daughter and son-in-law's wedding on 10th July 2015. Everything was wonderful from start to finish. Charlotte the wedding planner was extremely professional and very helpful. All the staff throughout were very polite and helpful. The wedding breakfast and evening BBQ were both delicious, we cannot thank the staff at Taplow House enough...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LJSL1
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review following your daughter’s wedding here at the hotel. I believe the staff do an incredible job and it is so rewarding for both myself and the team to receive such heartfelt comments. I shall certainly ensure your feedback is passed on to them. It is fantastic to hear that everyone had...

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Taplow House Hotel is the epitome of a slightly faded country house hotel. The grounds could be lovely but are only looked after to the point of necessity and the hotel itself is a few years past its best. Creaking floors and doors are not necessarily a bad thing if they ooze charm but Taplow House is rather caught between...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Morphaniel
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit at Taplow. I am sorry to hear that you were slightly disappointed with your stay. I have raised your comments regarding the service to our Food & Beverage Manager, who will be carrying out refresher service training with our team, as this is certainly not the norm here at the...

Burnham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

I booked Berry's restaurant for a Sunday lunch for 35 people and can definitely recommend it. Anna, who dealt with my booking from the start, was efficient and helpful and the hotel was happy to accommodate all my guests' different dietary requirements. The food was lovely and well presented and the wines (which Michael patiently helped me to select a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizmb2015
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lizmb2015, What a lovely review, thank you very much for leaving this for us. I am so pleased to see that your birthday lunch was such as success and the team were on hand to guide you through the whole process with ease. I have passed on your lovely comments to both Anna and Michael, who were delighted. May...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Firstly, I enjoyed my time at this hotel. Nothing was done badly and the food was to a good standard. Evening drinks seemed to be expensive at £5 for a single whisky but maybe I just live in a cheaper part of the country? The grounds were neatly kept and on the sunny day I was there relaxing. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glug43
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Glug43 Thank you for the lovely review in the main, and the 4 out of 5 score. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, your meal and the lovely improved gardens but disappointed and surprised that you say you would not return!? We have just last week had a new, faster, up-to-date wifi system installed into the hotel,...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

We booked this for our honeymoon as it was in a fantastic location and the building looked stunning on Trip Advisor. We had initially booked into a double room but we're upgraded to the Hampton Room which over looked the grounds. We were not expecting that and it was a lovely surprise. The room was spacious with air con and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rebecca H
Dave S, General Manager at Taplow House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca Congratulations on your wedding and I am so pleased you chose Taplow House for your honeymoon. Thank you for the lovely feedback. I do apologise you felt your room was a little tired, we are beginning a refurbishment project on our carpets shortly. Thank you again for your review and for mentioning our lovely team. Please come back...

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (144)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (70)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taplow
2.0 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
549 reviews
3.4 km away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
872 reviews
3.4 km away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.9 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#6 of 11 in Maidenhead
637 reviews
4.4 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stunning Georgian retreat situated on the border between Berkshire and Buckinghamshire. Taplow House Hotel is a peaceful haven only 15 minutes from London Heathrow Airport and 10 minutes from historic Windsor. Set in 6 acres of beautiful gardens and boasting Europe's largest tulip trees Taplow House Hotel is the perfect setting for a meeting, private event, wedding or relaxing overnight stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Taplow House Hotel

Address: Berry Hill, Taplow SL6 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Taplow
Price Range: RM627 - RM1,019 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Taplow House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Taplow House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Taplow House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The bedrooms facing onto the front lawn have a beautiful view.”
 of 5 bubbles seanwilton, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Free parking. Not far from Maidenhead town centre.”
 of 5 bubbles BRENDASHEE, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front afford guests a lovely view of the gardens and the most beautifully knarled old tree I have ever seen.”
 of 5 bubbles johnsD8229BK, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the lovely garden”
 of 5 bubbles johne762, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Taplow Room - lovely terrace and overlooking the gardens”
 of 5 bubbles aburdettward, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay