We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chimney House Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Chimney House Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 624: English reviews
Start your review of Chimney House Hotel
 Click to rate
lancsahire
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Heating not working in room asked to repair not done ,breakfast under warmer all food tepid when mentioned again nothing done complete lack of interest Arrived on Sunday for one night meeting friends from abroad seemed to be only one lady on staff serving bar taking meal orders when meal served Sunday evening delivered by ay a man in old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank calijah
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we are sorry to hear things were not as it should be, we are currently recruiting, in the bar and restaurant so further issues can be avoided further training is being taught to assist customers more importantly. Kind Regards

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife treated us to a two night dinner,bed and breakfast deal with groupon,and have to say we really enjoyed it,the hotel is a lovely looking building a stones throw away from the M6,we stayed in an executive room,which was comfortable and clean with a huge bed,the bathroom was spotlessly clean,but the decor could do with a little tlc here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndyMeredith
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback, the staff work so hard to ensure guests have a great stay, and your feedback will give them great pleasure it has been recognised . we are currently renovating all the hotel, and on a return visit i hope you like the improvements we are making. Kind Regards

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was good, although the sandwiches had clearly been in the fridge for several hours as they were cold - don't understand why they couldn't be freshly made My biggest criticism was that the Gents toilets smelled strongly - it makes you wonder how clean the kitchen must be

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kentalbot
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we apologise for your issue, and we work hard to resolve any issues. Kind Regards

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impressions of the hotel are good. Building looks nice and well maintained in nice grounds. Check in was quick and efficient and the staff friendly. I had a double room with a king size bed. The room was very spacious with a desk and a small couch and coffee table. Bathroom was clean with a few minor decor issues,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshwiggle
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and feedback, We are working on improvements through out the hotel and restaurant with renovations increasing staff levels and training. Kind Regards

Hemel Hempstead
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have found this hotel very convenient when visiting family. The work that was going on last time is now finished, and looks lovely. Hopefully the renovations to the rooms will be done soon, as frayed curtains do nothing for the hotel's reputation. Sadly the room was too hot, and we were totally unable to turn the radiator down. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DandyHemelHempstead
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting our hotel, we take all comments on board and work hard to improve the negative feedback the renovations for the rooms are taking place and up to date information brochure will be added to the rooms, we hope you do a return visit in the near future . Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at chimney house hotel Sat 25Feb for our 40th wedding anniversary, the location was excellent the staff amazing and the food was second to none, we stayed in one of the executive rooms which was superb,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback, The staff work so hard and do their best its good to give them some positive acknowledgement. Kind Regards

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed last night on our way on our "mini moon" and were shocked, the photos online look awful but the place is brilliant, admittedly they are renovating so there are some flaws hence 4 out of 5, there was some loose wallpaper in our room and a smell of fresh paint. However, this didn't interrupt our stay at all....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit, and feedback, We are working in all areas to make improvements, and we all work hard to give a warm friendly welcoming service, your regards will be passed on and once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed due to business in the area for few days some parts dated food was good check in very warm friendly great service from lady called lisa will return due to the welcoming approach good parking too

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happysays
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback we pride our hotel on friendly welcoming staff, renovations are taking place, and look forward to your return visit. Regards

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went here with a friend for her birthday, we were nicely surprised to see how clean, and smart it was. The lovely waitress made a big fuss of us and the food was really tasty, we were offered unlimited tea and coffee. All the food was fresh and the cakes were all soft and obviously baked there. So much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grangie60
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your visit and I m pleased you had a very enjoyable time, the staff do everything they can to ensure a perfect visit; we look forward to your return visit . Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We used a small meeting room for 14 people coundnt fault it at all the room was set up well for us boardroom style with crisp clean white table cloths, paper pens water glasses etc . Very reasonable rate .. afterwards we enjoyed a meal in the restaraunt .. absoloutly lovely many of us had steak which was cooked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jewyjewy3
Henri L, General Manager at Chimney House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for let us know about your day at the Chimney house hotel. I will share your comment to the team and will thank them to the work the delivered. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandbach
7.2 km away
The Alexandra Court Hotel
The Alexandra Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Congleton
286 reviews
6.9 km away
De Vere Cranage Estate
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#2 of 9 in Crewe
2,047 reviews
7.9 km away
The Hunters Lodge
The Hunters Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crewe
261 reviews
39.4 km away
Brook Mollington Banastre Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled within 8 acres of tranquil grounds just 500 metres from Junction 17 of the M6, this Tudor-style Country House offers a stylish restaurant with free Wi-Fi and on-site parking.Ideally positioned between the historic market towns of Sandbach and Congleton, this charming half-timbered Hotel has undergone a full refurbishment, combining original period character with the best of modern comfort. Peace and relaxation exist in abundance, whether it is the scenic beauty of the surrounding gardens and woodland or the friendly yet professional service, guests are assured of a truly memorable stay.The Hotel offers bedroom types to suit all travellers, including Standard, Family and Executive options. Each of the 50 en-suite rooms has been individually designed and decorated with stylish, contemporary furnishings. They all come equipped with free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, radio, hairdryer, Room Service and tea & coffee making facilities. Many rooms also feature spectacular scenic views of the grounds and surrounding Cheshire countryside.The warm and welcoming Patio Restaurant offers a modern brassiere-style dining experience. Open for lunch and dinner, including a traditional Sunday lunch, the extensive menu is complemented by a superb selection of wines from around the world. With its polished wooden floors and high leather stools, the bar is the perfect place to spend an afternoon. It offers a variety of speciality coffees and drinks as well as a lounge menu serving a selection of light meals, sandwiches and snacks.With its convenient and peaceful location, the Hotel is the perfect conference venue. It offers five flexible meeting rooms each designed to provide a traditional, yet thoroughly modern working environment.The Hotel is situated less than a minute’s drive from Junction 17 of the M6 and offers free on-site parking for all guests. Stoke-on-Trent is about 20 minutes away and it is about a 40 minute drive to Manchester, both of which offer excellent transport links to all major destinations across the country. There are also regular bus services to Sandbach, Congleton and Crewe that are all within walking distance from the Hotel. For those flying in, Manchester Airport is a 25 minute drive away.The Hotel is with close proximity to an abundance of fantastic attractions and tourist spots, making it the perfect base from which to explore the area. For outdoor enthusiasts, the Peak District National Park is a scenic haven of unspoilt beauty, perfect for a range of activities including walking, hiking, cycling, rock climbing, horse riding, fishing and much more besides. For family fun there is Alton Towers, Britain’s premier theme park and Chester Zoo, home to over 7,000 animals including some of the most endangered species on the planet. History lovers will surely appreciate the sights at Tatton Park, The Crewe Heritage Centre and Nantwich Museum, and sports fans will be well-served by the nearby Malkins Bank Golf Course. For more urban pursuits, the cities of Crewe and Chester are both easily accessible whilst shopaholics will be spoilt for choice at both the Trafford Centre and the Potteries shopping complexes. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chimney House Hotel

Address: Congleton Road, Sandbach CW11 4ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Sandbach
Price Range: RM282 - RM414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chimney House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chimney House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chimney Hotel Sandbach
The Chimney Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Chimney House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only went for afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles Grangie60, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles stevensonstouring, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ring direct if you must stay here and ask for their best price including breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles 812dirkm, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Winter so ?”
 of 5 bubbles Ken201455, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in Room 37, nice view of trees!”
  • Tired room
 of 5 bubbles markcA6953DV, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5