We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Tollemache Arms

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 52: English reviews
Start your review of The Tollemache Arms
 Click to rate
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here valentines night as we had been working down the rd at peckforton castle, £50 b&b was fantastic value, the room was comfy and clean and very quiet unlike some pubs we have stayed in, unfortunately we had to leave really early so missed breakfast but we did have a very nice valentines meal in the pub. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 819jenny
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Jenny Thank you for the lovely review. I'm happy to read you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We booked a Christmas lunch with our elderly relative. We had a warm welcome and were shown to a nice table by the open fire. The menu choices were good and a reasonable price. The portions are huge! (The starters were adequate for a main meal!) Unfortunately, because we ate all our starters, we then couldn't eat all of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_H8228
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed the food, you will be pleased to hear we have been reviewing the size and presentation of all our dishes based on all feedback we receive. I apologies you felt the floor was dirty it is mopped twice a day and brushed as needed...

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on New Years Eve and had a very good meal at a very good price. Room was not huge but big enough for one night and bed was comfy and clean. Toilet needed a clean, there was a ring at the water line.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline D
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Pauline Thank you for your review I'm glad you enjoyed your new year with us. Apologies about the bathroom, I have spoke to the housekeeping team regarding the bathroom cleanliness as this is not acceptable. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nantwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

My Sister and I chose this country pub for a family pre-Christmas meal. It's on the main Chester Road at Alpraham and so it's easy to get to and easy to find. I had not been there for many years and was very impressed with the decor. It's stylish whilst retaining the 'olde worlde' charm. All helped along with a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Thank you for your review I'm glad you enjoyed you time with us and that you all enjoyed your food. We are looking at getting Old Tom in as we know how good and popular this iconic Robinsons Brew is. Regarding your food I did call back several times and even left a voicemail but heard nothing back,...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

We visited ad hoc at lunchtime whilst on the Christmas drop off! Wonderful, warm welcome. We've eaten at some top restaurants and and I was surprised to read the review where the steaks were not cooked to liking as my partner is one fussy gentleman and he stated it was the best steak he had in a long time! I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katmaria66
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am glad you all enjoyed your food especially the steak which are incredibly popular. I will pass on your comments to the team who will be made up. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We attended a wedding a Peckforton Castle and stayed at the Tollemanche arms for 1 night. There was initially a mix up about check in time as I phoned in advance but this was quickly rectified. From the minute we were checked in by Michael nothing was too much trouble, the room was small but very clean and as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karuddy
Dave B, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for the lovely review. I'm pleased we met all you needs and provided everything you required. I will pass on your comments to Michael who will be made up. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

London, England
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We went to a wedding at Peckforton Castle and chose this pub to stay the night before and the night of the wedding. Very welcoming on arrival. The room was very tiny but we only needed to sleep and shower and it was very clean. Breakfast included both mornings was delicious and the staff chatted to us while we ate....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whugirl
Mark F, Manager at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you. Congratulations to the newlyweds. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Dave - Manager

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016

My friend was getting married the next day. So I stayed here with him before the big day with my parents. The staff were instantly there to greet us all. The rooms were small but nice and great beds and covers. I was nervous about my best man speech and a member of staff, Courtney, was there for advice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank simonwatson72
Mark F, General Manager at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Simon Thank you for the review, I'm glad you all enjoyed your time spent with us. I'm happy Courtney was able to help you with your speech and take away some of the stress of performing it, she is a great asset to our team. Hope the wedding went well, pass on our congratulations to the newlyweds. Look forward...

Antigua
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Just wanted to say a huge thanks to the wonderful team at the Tollemache Arms for pulling out all the stops to ensure an exceptional memorial event for our lovely mother. We wanted something suitably upbeat as she was such an extraordinary and positive person and we decided to stage it at the Tollemache Arms not just because it has...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
Mark F, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Hi Gemma Thank you for your excellent and kind review. It was our pleasure to host your event at the pub and I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time spent with us. I will pass on your comments to the entire team who take great pride in the work they do. I look forward to seeing...

Reviewed 13 June 2016

what a great liitle pub and b&b. the staff here are amazing, they look after you better than a five star hotel! loved our one nights stay, the room was tiny but the bed was so comfortable! loved it and defo will be back just to let the staff look after us again! thank you for amazing service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
Mark F, Owner at The Tollemache Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review We always aim high to look after you when visiting the Tollemache

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
4.5 km away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
449 reviews
4.2 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
2.8 km away
Wild Boar Hotel
Wild Boar Hotel
#3 of 5 in Tarporley
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
The Cheshire Cat
The Cheshire Cat
#5 of 5 in Nantwich
196 reviews
16.9 km away
Premier Inn Chester Central (South East) Hotel
17.8 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Tollemache Arms is a newly converted 16th-century inn that retains the charm, character and warmth of a family run establishment. We pride ourselves on locally sourced, high quality food and fine real ales. Our restaurant is set back in the rear of the building with a stunning lofted ceiling and exposed beam work. A beautiful baby grand piano sits in the corner and slow burning candles will set the mood over dinner. The lounge areas to the front of the inn contain large comfy Chesterfield seats nestled by roaring fireplaces, perfect for a cognac after dinner. The boutique en-suite accommodation comprising of double and twin rooms, all with flat screen televisions, tea & coffee facilities, water and biscuits. A guide to the local area in also available as we are close to local attractions such as Oulton Park, Beeston Castle & Chester Zoo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Tollemache Arms

Address: Chester Road | Alpraham, Tarporley CW6 9JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: RM326 - RM464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Tollemache Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tollemache Arms Hotel Tarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tollemache Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We didn't stay here so I can't evaluate the accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles Mrs_H8228, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 4 is the one to have.”
 of 5 bubbles suer14, 4 May 2016 | Read review
“rm 1 had lovely views”
 of 5 bubbles rafsa1, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Ask ahead as our room had views of the roof.”
 of 5 bubbles mutchy_9, 30 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Room One over looks the beer garden and open farm land, is also South facing”
 of 5 bubbles 2013R0sie, 1 Jan 2015 | Read review
5 of 5