We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Peckforton Castle

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Peckforton Castle
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,900 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Peckforton Castle
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,893: English reviews
Mold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Peckforton Castle, Nr Tarporley, Cheshire is home to one of Land Rover's Off Road Driving Experience sites. The formidable castle dating back to around 1840 on the Peckforton Estate is host to a multi-activity centre, restaurant, hotel and is a popular wedding venue. The reason for our visit was to learn how to drive a Land Rover along the challenging...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwysaney
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Land Rover Experience! It's great to hear that you have enjoyed your day and I have passed on your fantastic feedback to Martin and the Land Rover Team! I hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle in the near future!

Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for two nights for a pre-Christmas break thinking it would be a nice festive get away. Whilst we did enjoy our stay we didn't feel that the castle looked very festive, apart from a tree and a few decorations in the reception area there wasn't much else which was a shame as it would have looked so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 321skelly
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, although you have felt we are too remote! It's great to hear that our staff have been nice and helpful. Our festive decorations are put up in most areas of the Castle, however we do not decorate the Wine Cellar to preserve it's atmosphere that...

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we arrived the view of the castle just sets your heart racing, it looks fantastic and you can't wait to get in. You can drive right up to the reception to drop your bags off (didn't see the sign saying this until we had parked and walked up) you enter the castle and your not disappointed it's what you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen C
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Stephen for your review. I am pleased that you have been impressed with the Castle itself, and that our staff have been friendly and efficient in looking after you. It's also great to see that you have enjoyed your meals at breakfast and in the evening. The Wine Cellar is occasionally offered as exclusive for certain functions, however...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just had my Daughters wedding here it was 5 star the wedding went smooth the food was perfect and the accommodation a good standard the staff was exelent couldn't do enough for you.was a bit over priced for drinks but to be expected

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Steve for your great review! I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your time at your daughter's wedding, and that you found it to be "5-Star". It's fantastic to hear that our staff provided an excellent level of service and that you found that they couldn't do enough for you. I will pass on your positive feedback...

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived the morning of the wedding to be greeted by wonderful smiley staff who from the off couldn't do enough for us . As the day progressed things got better and better the staff just couldn't do enough , Amy was just every where helping sorting even doing master of ceramonies . The room then had its third change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nellyg186378
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review!! I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your Wedding Day here with us. It's brilliant to hear that the staff have gone above and beyond and you found that they couldn't do enough for you. I will pass on your great feedback to Amy, Peter and Anthony in particular, and I am sure...

Crewe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I took my wife to the restaurant 1817 for her birthday . we had not been before but it had been recommended to us . we were not dissapointed we were met by percy who was ultra polite !! who showed us to our table in this very smart modern restaurant . we were given the table d hote menu...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bryan w
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Bryan for a great review. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your Wife's birthday and meal with us, and that our staff in the 1851 Restaurant have provided you with a great service. It's great to hear that Percy and Annabelle have made your day special and I have passed on your positive feedback to...

Hastings, East Sussex
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights in November on a special deal from an internet discount company and needless to say only had a standard room which was in one of the turrets. We were asked if we minded a long walk with a lot of stairs and agreed to but with hindsight perhaps should have looked at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliveDM
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Clive for your review. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we value your feedback. The nature of the Castle does mean that we have a lot of steps, and it's good to hear that you have appreciated the view! However, our staff are always available to do what they can to best...

North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful location, surroundings & interior! Gorgeous rooms and features. Brasserie offered good selection of dishes & wines. Thoroughly enjoyed & heartedly recommend for a special occasion. You can explore the castle...get lost in the corridors, peer through the windows & wander the grounds!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ted1804
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were pleased with what we have to offer. It's great to hear that you would recommend us, and I do hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle in the near future!

Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This has to be one on the best customer service experiences. All staff are extremely polite, helpful and genuinely want to ensure that guests are having a good time. We had an issue with our booking that was resolved swiftly and professionally. We were also running late due to traffic and the guy who helped show us to the changing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vanillaice132
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff went above and beyond to ensure that you had a good stay. It's great to hear your fantastic comments and I hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle in the near future!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for Christmas eve and day with my mum. The building, decor and grounds are beautiful and the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. The booking team was very accommodating as well. They have a valet service and staff to help you to your room with your bags, which is a good job as it was a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim S
Stefan H, Guest Relations Manager at Peckforton Castle, responded to this review

Thank you Kim for your great review! It's fantastic to hear that you have had a magical Christmas here with us. I'm very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much, and that the staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We hope to welcome you back to Peckforton Castle in the future!!

993 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (965)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (227)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (16)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (511)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
12.8 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
12.2 km away
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
Nunsmere Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakmere
770 reviews
15.9 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
984 reviews
5.8 km away
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
14.3 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
1851 Restaurant
1851 Restaurant
Cuisines: British
2010 Brasserie
2010 Brasserie
Cuisines: British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Peckforton Castle - An enchanting Hotel in the heart of Cheshire. Rising majestically above the Cheshire landscape, the castle is both enigmatic and enchanting. Originally the home of Lord Tollemache and built in the early 19th Century, this Grade I listed building is the only intact medieval style Castle in the country. Over the years the castle has been the location for numerous movies including Robin Hood and Dr Who. Now owned by the Naylor family, the stunning exterior has been complemented by a loving and considered restoration programme resulting in a magnificent hotel and venue offering contemporary luxury and impeccable service. Services include 48 stunning individual guest rooms, conference, events, and wedding facilities for up to 180. Tranquility beauty, on site Falconry and team activities all adding up to a rather magical experience. Dining at the Castle truly is a special occasion, welcoming the public as well as hotel guests. The 1851 Restaurant offers a dining experience fit for royalty. Holder of 3 AA Rosettes and a Taste Cheshire Award. Alternatively the more informal and cosmopolitan 2010 Brasserie, located in the former scullery of the castle, features many of the amazing features of the original scullery including two cast iron cooking ranges dating back to the 1840's. Peckforton Castle's enchanting medieval style beauty and stunning location make it a truly impressive and desirable venue for weddings, christenings, birthday parties, or just about anything that's worth celebrating. Everything plays a part; the fabulous setting, stunning location, the attentive service and smiling faces, the bespoke menus and decorations. A magnificent venue for conferencing and meetings. Within the medieval walls, old and new combine seamlessly to offer state of the art multi media and conference facilities. Captivating on arrival, Peckforton Castle's unspoilt, natural beauty will stimulate and motivate, delight the eye, inspire the mind, tantalise the taste buds and leave you enchanted. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Peckforton Castle

Address: Stone House Lane, Tarporley CW6 9TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: RM783 - RM1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Peckforton Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Peckforton Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peckforton Castle Hotel Tarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Peckforton Castle staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Peckforton Castle staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are gorgeous but bathrooms quite close so bit noisy”
 of 5 bubbles wendy32, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“enquire where it is situated”
 of 5 bubbles 435lynnw, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility issues check if there is a lift to the higher floors.”
 of 5 bubbles SueSouth03, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Wheelchair access is good, they have a good room for disabled and a stair lift for access to main restaurant and breakfast room.”
 of 5 bubbles 113bevp, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid the turret it's a lot of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles CliveDM, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay