We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,814 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 1,812: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa
 Click to rate
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Hi all this hotel is well worth a stay in for that special treat / business/ golf / Spar break . Nothing was too much trouble even when we arrived and there was a bit of a crisis going on due to the internet being down which contributed to certain operations not working as they should. As mentioned we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joseph g
Chesterfield
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

6th Macdonald stop in the last 12 months and definitely the worst. With a £243 price tag for 1 night expectations were high (we'll stay at The Mere next time, where the price matches the quality). The reception and bar staff were very good. The same couldn't be said for restaurant staff. Nobody greeting for breakfast despite the sign saying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luke S
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I recently booked a night away at this hotel as a surprise getaway for my fiancé's birthday. We arrived around 2.30 and was politely welcomed by the lady at reception. Our room was ready so we didn't have to wait around until 3 to get checked in. The lady was very helpful and pointed out where we could find the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stopped overnight on 14/9/17 and it was a very pleasant stay. The grounds of the hotel are very well kept and the views are impressive and the inside of the hotel is well designed. The room was very large, clean and well furnished. We ate in the restaurant and selected the 3 courses for £25, which proved to be very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDJW55
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear MDJW55, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass on your positive comments in relation to the facilities and service to the team. Breakfast quality is something that typically we deliver very well so I...

Reviewed 1 week ago

So impressed just had to do a review .The drive down to the hotel is stunning . We arrived early for are golf so we decided to have a coffee, we entered the hotel by a restaurant I asked a member of staff if there was anywhere we could get a coffee he replied the lounge i was about to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1A1Visitor
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear 1A1Visitor, Thank you for your review following your recent experience here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and your positive feedback is much appreciated. Barry is a key member of our team here at the hotel and know he'll be delighted to receive this personal recognition. We look forward...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First impressions were ' Great!'. Room was comfortable and in good order. Decided to take a swim, again, fine. A nice drink in the bar before dinner to find the cost of a glass of wine @£12.50!! Then you get to having evening meal and the abismal service in the steak house restaurant. We were staying on a dinner bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dawn, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm sorry that you felt the service you received whilst at the hotel wasn't to the level you expected. Typically here at Portal the feedback in relation to our service is particularly high so it's disappointing we weren't there on...

Reviewed 1 week ago

20 of us from Anglesey Golf Club went for a 2 day golf and stay break. The hotel was very easy to access from North Wales, and the golf courses were both very good courses. The food, service, and helpfulness of the staff were to be commended. Our after dinner golf pro speaker was Exellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Morwenna J
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Morwenna J, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to pass on your positive comments in relation to the facilities and service to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future....

Welshpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed here in the past we have never been disappointed or let down by the hotel, but this time we found that the breakfast and the staff in the restaurant spoilt our stay. It was bad enough the night before with our order getting mixed up, we ordered pepper sauce and it never arrived although we asked two members...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveallen11
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dave, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. I'm really disappointed to read your feedback in relation to the food & beverage offering at the hotel as this is something that typically we deliver very well. The team are fully trained on all aspect of the service and...

Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bought a Buyagift voucher for £30 for the two of us to use the leisure and spa facilities here, although it is a lovely hotel there are a few things that let it down. First of all the lady on the spa reception desk checked us in and began to show us round, basically there's the changing rooms and pool,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank laingykt2004
MacPortal, General Manager at Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa, responded to this review

Dear laingykt2004, Thank you for your review following your recent experience here at The Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa. The Spa offering at the hotel is something that we receive very positive reviews regarding so it is disappointing to read your feedback. I can confirm that our pool is heated to a minimum of 28 degrees so there would...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The good bits: - very nice room - set in a lovely area, lots to see locally - spa treatment good The bad bits: - when we arrived at the spa (at 10.30am) they were hoovering the spa reception area - not really the tranquil music vibes you'd usually see - the pool had a "kids play" time. So when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline F

280 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (225)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (51)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (55)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tarporley
11.9 km away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
24.7 km away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
1.0 km away
The Swan Tarporley
The Swan Tarporley
#1 of 5 in Tarporley
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 km away
Macdonald Hill Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
14.2 km away
Carden Park Hotel
Carden Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Broxton
3,069 reviews
19.4 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the heart of the Cheshire Countryside yet within easy access from the main motorways and towns, The Macdonald Portal Hotel,Golf and Spa is the perfect base to explore Cheshire and its many attractions and places of interest. Whether you are visiting for a pampering experience in the luxurious Spa, a round of golf on one of the two challenging golf courses or indeed a gourmet break enjoying the finest foods in 2 AA Rosette Ranulf Restaurant, Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf & Spa has something to offer for the entire family. Portal is also the home of the first Lee Westwood Golf School in the UK and offers a combination of three golf courses and an onsite golf academy. The conference and banqueting facilities have hosted many a prestigious event and both the Castle and Waterstone Suites offer the most wonderful venue for the perfect wedding celebration. A venue for all occasions, the hotel offers 85 sumptuous bedrooms, a state of the art Health, Fitness and Beauty Spa which includes an 18 meter swimming pool, advanced Technogym equipment and a thermal suite with rock sauna, aroma steam bath, ice room and salt infusion sauna. Why not dine in our fine restaurant with its 2 AA rosettes and views across the Cheshire plains. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa

Address: Cobblers Cross Lane, Tarporley CW6 0DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Tarporley
Price Range: RM487 - RM908 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf Hotel Tarporley
Macdonald Portal Tarporley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 month ago
england
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Portal Hotel, Golf and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay as I am local to the hotel I just visited Spa.”
 of 5 bubbles 202MaryW202, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles rhydwyn, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms from I could tell were spacious with enormous / comfortable beds beds!!!”
 of 5 bubbles 142peterr, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All ground floor rooms excellent, we were in room 219 - Fantastic!”
 of 5 bubbles pcknowles, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask to upgrade”
 of 5 bubbles elainec6, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5