We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

363 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 360: English reviews
Start your review of The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We attended a funeral lunch and were ushered into the CU bar. Behind the bar was scruffy with dusty ceiling lights, with one light out. The mirror behind the bar had a old banner which had been removed but left the glue residue on a dusty mirror. The bar looked as if it was only used rarely by the was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart170649
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall a decent hotel. Room was clean and neat with usual amenities. Tea/coffee supplied and toiletries. Free wifi provided. Only criticism would be that the bathroom needed a refurb and was showing some wear and tear. Staff were very friendly and helpful on check-in and during the two nights we stayed. Rather than use the resturant we had a bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Howell R
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

Well booked this hotel based on the price, the room is good value for money being clean and functional. Evening menu is limited but the food is good. Breakfast was a buffet style with everything you need hot and cold. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for choosing us for your accommodation. Pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found the team approachable. Hope you choose us again in the future. Thank you for your comments. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently had my daughters engagement party here. We were badly let down by another local pub and the week before the party had to find somewhere else . The hill rest hotel really stepped up and organised food , disco ,room and bar. We had a lovely evening, the food was excellent and the disco was lively. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellishowe
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments so pleased you all enjoyed your daughters engagement party and that we met your expectations. Hope you consider us for your daughters wedding reception we would be pleased to quote and either Jill or Louise would be more than happy to discuss your requirements. Thanks for your custom and i hope we can...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nothing wrong with this hotel. Reasonable price, comfortable bed, clean rooms. Very nicely decorated Maritime bar. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Was pleasantly surprised when we were allowed to bring a takeaway pizza into the bar as they had finished serving evening meals. Thank you

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Camperjacky
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Pleased you enjoyed your time at the Hotel and you thought well of the team.Normally we do not allow guests to bring any food in. Obviously service had finished at the Hotel, like to think we are reasonable and the last few nights have been cold i can imagine as a late arrival traveler wanting something hot. Pleased...

Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as the hotels in Liverpool on Saturday night were just extortionate and you have to pay for breakfast and parking too. This is a clean, efficient and well run hotel with suites which are luxurious and, for £60 are absolute bargains. One of the best value nights I have ever had.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin P
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive views it was a pleasure to read them. We think we are good value for money against Liverpool plenty of free parking very cost effective even factoring in travel to Liverpool. On events for example football when demand in the city outstrips supply we can be a third or half the price against...

Barry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

We stayed over the Christmas period and the staff made us feel very welcome and made us feel 'at home.' Every member of staff, from the front desk, to the waitresses , to the bar staff couldn't do enough and always with a smile. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is the hotel is in need of some...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank nicolaphillips70
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay and that you found the team attentive. Hope you return in the future. In 2017 we will be refurbishing the Executive bedrooms which should be completed by May which includes the bathrooms for that wing of the Hotel. Thank you. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed at the Hillcrest as part of a coach tour weekend. The hotel was nice an clean, looked like the rooms were having a re-fit. On arrival we noticed that a wedding party was in full swing. Thinking that the noise from he disco would keep us awake, but no, very quiet. The food was good for dinner and breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wideparting
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review unfortunately it would appear that you are unaware of the arrangements made for your group. The actual arrangements made with your operator a number of months back were for dinner at 5.00 p.m. due to the function already booked. Unfortunately that wasn't adhered to by the driver whose estimates of journey time to...

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Not bad evening for a Christmas do- carvery, bar and table service was good, nice venue and DJ was good. Reasonably priced and reasonable food- nowt particularly bad about it but nowt special either £20 odd quid for three course carvery and entertainment so not bad I suppose - at least we could hear ourselves talk to each other in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chunkymunky24
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed the evening we like to think we offer value for money. Lots of our competitors are £10/£15 per person more, some for what i believe is less content. Hope to see you return in the future Thanks Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Room 39, a "suite" was all that was available at this hotel. As I checked in I noticed there were signs for a 80th birthday party, complete with a live band. Fantastic for the recipient, not so for the unsuspecting traveller. I complained straight away of the loud music, coming from the hired function room opposite the bedroom and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fortisetlibor
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Why would you expect the Hotel to inform you we have an 60th birthday party or a wedding,conference or anything else ?that is our business and its to be expected. Why should we tell you we have a large group staying? normal business for a Hotel. Every event wedding ,engagement party night, funeral birthday party will have participants...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
12.0 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
4.9 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool (Tarbock) Hotel
10.5 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: RM216 - RM409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking if there are any private parties booked.”
 of 5 bubbles Wideparting, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel if they can guarantee a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fortisetlibor, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book early so not to miss out next year!”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaJ226, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5