We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

361 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 358: English reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Great service from the staff My room was a basic single, but had everything I needed, Free WiFi was a bonus The food was well cooked, very tasty and good portion size Really liked the decor in the Cu restaurant and the bar was comfortable I thought the bookcase in the bar was a great idea

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joolz B
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Hope you return in the near future. I will be re stocking the library soon as well.! Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We booked my parents 40th wedding reception at the Hillcrest and I have to say from beginning to end the experience was exceptional. The functions manager, Louise, catered for our every need, nothing too much trouble. That level of customer service is often absent in the 21st century service industry but here we were made to feel that our custom...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 335craigf
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you your custom i remember meeting yourself and some of your attendees it was a pleasure to service your function and thank you for business. I hope we have the pleasure of your company in the future. I will pass on your positive comments regarding the team at my next meeting, Louise is particular on attention to...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 July 2016

My first and last time I will be staying here. The sound proof is horendous in this hotel, got to be the worst I have stayed in. The premier inn rainhill is better than this place. Also who wants to be woken up at 7.30am on a Sunday after being out the night before. Guests need to be more considerate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adele569
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. A fellow guest being noisy is hardly something instigated by the Hotel. It is not in anyone's interest for your sleep to be interrupted. Had you informed us others were not being respectful the night staff would have spoken to the guest concerned. As we received no comment from you we were not...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Location was good for us as we wanted easy access to the St Helens rubgy ground. Bedroom was of a good size although it was next to a function room where there was a school prom and disco carrying on till 11.30 pm - thankfully not later. If you wish to avoid a noisy make sure you are not in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda679
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your overall positive comments i was pleased you were happy with your accommodation. When we reserve accommodation for attendees of functions ,generally their accommodation is near the event as obviously they will retire when it finishes. Other guests in the Hotel we place away from such events to reduce the possibility of disturbance. Room 20...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We would like to thank Sarah, Rebecca, Louise and all of the staff at The Hillcrest for making our special day totally amazing. The service from the day we booked the venue to us leaving the day after our wedding was excellent. Everything was planned perfectly and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. The wedding breakfast, buffet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison G
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest I remember your wedding and i was so pleased to read how you and your guests enjoyed themselves on your special day. It was equally pleasing to read of your satisfaction with the team and those closely involved in the arrangements prior and on the day. Hope to see you again in the future and thank you for...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

stayed at hillcrest hotel Widnes last weekend got late booking, the room was very spacious, bed very comfortable, and very quiet, bathroom very clean with complimentary toiletries, plenty of hot water, and towels, would recommend and stay again. did not have breakfast so cant comment on the quality of food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derick P
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments i hope you return in the near future and perhaps try our breakfast. On occasions we have it on promotion currently when offered it is £6.50 and we think very good value. Hope to see you again. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed in the hotel as we were attending a family event elsewhere in Widnes. Our room was beautiful, lovely silky curtains, walnut and maple wardrobe doors, very comfortable bed, etc. All the bedrooms appear to be decorated differently, as in boutique hotels - our room was 51 (I think) and lovely. Unfortunately there were wedding parties on both of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horabin1
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your overall positive comments. You were in a suite of which we have ten all bespoke. The remaining accommodation is segmented as Executive or standard at a lesser tariff. By law we have to have a sheltered outside for a smoking area, ours is the front of the Hotel. There really is no other practical...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Couldn't fault any of the staff,helpful and very informative,they couldn't do enough for us. Room very clean and modern. The wedding coordinators, they were brilliant, couldn't fault them, couldn't do enough for us, very organised. Breakfast, lovely English, but could do with more choice of cereals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Attended a christening recently at this hotel and what a pleasant surprise. Hotel both inside and out was very clean. Buffet was lovely and very filling with plenty to go round, staff where very friendly with lots of smiles. A very pleasant and lovely day, enjoyed by all. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes I would. I couldn't fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed the event and we reached your expectations. I will pass your comments on to the team. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

England
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed on the 17th June, to celebrate our anniversary and it was exactly one year before we would be getting married and having our wedding reception at the hotel. Having read some of the recent bad reviews I was really nervous about staying, worried that I would be disappointed and want to change my choice of venue. However I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenD123
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. The previous negativity relates to one event here and had no foundation and if you read my replies i am sure you have now arrived at who is factual in conjunction with your own visit. That is not to say we do not receive...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
12.0 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
10.5 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
9.9 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: RM216 - RM404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking if there are any private parties booked.”
 of 5 bubbles Wideparting, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel if they can guarantee a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fortisetlibor, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“book early so not to miss out next year!”
 of 5 bubbles GemmaJ226, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5