We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
See the most recent reviews
Showing 364: English reviews
Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We would like to thank Sarah, Rebecca, Louise and all of the staff at The Hillcrest for making our special day totally amazing. The service from the day we booked the venue to us leaving the day after our wedding was excellent. Everything was planned perfectly and nothing was to much trouble for the staff. The wedding breakfast, buffet and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison G
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest I remember your wedding and i was so pleased to read how you and your guests enjoyed themselves on your special day. It was equally pleasing to read of your satisfaction with the team and those closely involved in the arrangements prior and on the day. Hope to see you again in the future and thank you for...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

stayed at hillcrest hotel Widnes last weekend got late booking, the room was very spacious, bed very comfortable, and very quiet, bathroom very clean with complimentary toiletries, plenty of hot water, and towels, would recommend and stay again. did not have breakfast so cant comment on the quality of food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derick P
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments i hope you return in the near future and perhaps try our breakfast. On occasions we have it on promotion currently when offered it is £6.50 and we think very good value. Hope to see you again. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

Launceston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We stayed in the hotel as we were attending a family event elsewhere in Widnes. Our room was beautiful, lovely silky curtains, walnut and maple wardrobe doors, very comfortable bed, etc. All the bedrooms appear to be decorated differently, as in boutique hotels - our room was 51 (I think) and lovely. Unfortunately there were wedding parties on both of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Horabin1
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your overall positive comments. You were in a suite of which we have ten all bespoke. The remaining accommodation is segmented as Executive or standard at a lesser tariff. By law we have to have a sheltered outside for a smoking area, ours is the front of the Hotel. There really is no other practical...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Couldn't fault any of the staff,helpful and very informative,they couldn't do enough for us. Room very clean and modern. The wedding coordinators, they were brilliant, couldn't fault them, couldn't do enough for us, very organised. Breakfast, lovely English, but could do with more choice of cereals

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren G
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Attended a christening recently at this hotel and what a pleasant surprise. Hotel both inside and out was very clean. Buffet was lovely and very filling with plenty to go round, staff where very friendly with lots of smiles. A very pleasant and lovely day, enjoyed by all. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes I would. I couldn't fault the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your positive comments. Pleased you enjoyed the event and we reached your expectations. I will pass your comments on to the team. Hope to see you again in the future. Thanks again. Duncan Reich A.I.H. General Manager

England
Reviewed 18 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed on the 17th June, to celebrate our anniversary and it was exactly one year before we would be getting married and having our wedding reception at the hotel. Having read some of the recent bad reviews I was really nervous about staying, worried that I would be disappointed and want to change my choice of venue. However I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenD123
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments pleased to read you enjoyed your time with us. The previous negativity relates to one event here and had no foundation and if you read my replies i am sure you have now arrived at who is factual in conjunction with your own visit. That is not to say we do not receive...

Manchester
Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel after a family wedding. The check in service was fine. The breakfast and the service in the dining room was excellent. However I was on the top floor of the hotel in a tiny room with poor ventilation. It was roasting !!! Overall though this was value for money. My main complaint was the all pervading...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tania B
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review. There is absolutely nothing wrong with the ventilation. All the windows by law have to have a restrictor on them for safety reasons. As in to avoid children climbing through them and falling out. With adults only in a bedroom this can be overridden by lifting the restrictor up to allow the window...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

My Sister had a wedding vow renewal ceremony a few weeks ago .After ceremony we had to wait for hours to be seated for the meal . What a let down when we finally did get the meal PRETTY AVERAGE, just slat on the plate no presentation at all .Things didn't get any better the evening buffet looked like it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDee63
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Your comments are totally misleading, lets go to the facts.We take instructions from the client and its contracted, that was for the main meal to be served at 4.00 p.m. As always we try and give the best service. On the day taking account of the arrival time we suggested that the long wait until 4.00 p.m. may...

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

All of it was lovely apart from the food, the food was shockingly bad especially if you are not a meat or fish eater. I thought the selection, even though my sister-in-law had already given them plenty of advance notice was terrible. If their chef thinks serving a pepper stuff with yellow coloured rice is an acceptable alternative, then their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nita g
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest All your comments and others regarding this function are unfounded the quality of the meal was good throughout and the menu content served was as selected by the client. I find it especially unusual that all the other weddings and other functions who have similar or the same menus seem to be happy. I find it equally strange...

Reviewed 7 June 2016

We attended a vow renewal several weeks ago. It was particularly poignant as it had necessarily been postponed due to one of the couple's ill health. The wedding room was beautifully laid out and the 'service' was very moving. It took an age for us to be called to the wedding breakfast. Once we were the starter was delicious but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loulie S
gmhillcrest, General Manager at The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments. The wedding breakfast had a contracted time given to us as 4.00p.m. We have only serviced one wedding vows renewal this year and it was only three weeks ago last Saturday, very strange that i should be receiving a few comments now. We suggested to the bride it would be a long wait...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Widnes
2.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Everglades Park Hotel
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Widnes Hotel
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Liverpool Rainhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Suites Hotel & Spa -  Knowsley
5.6 km away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
201 reviews
4.6 km away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hillcrest Hotel, Widnes is a modern hotel ideally located for overnight stops for those en route to the Lake District or the South of England. Situated in a rural setting the hotel offers access to all motorway networks, bringing Chester, Manchester and Liverpool within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes

Address: The Hillcrest Hotel 75 Cronton Lane, Widnes WA8 9AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Widnes
Price Range: RM210 - RM393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Hotel Widnes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago
Forfar, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Hillcrest Hotel Widnes staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner suites are very nice and have a ensuite balcony”
 of 5 bubbles berglindb2017, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms used by family seemed quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Camperjacky, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“There are some rooms only accessible by stairs so be careful to ask if you have any mobility problems.”
 of 5 bubbles nicolaphillips70, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask when booking if there are any private parties booked.”
 of 5 bubbles Wideparting, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask the hotel if they can guarantee a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles Fortisetlibor, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5