We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Boot & Shoe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Boot & Shoe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

154 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 154: English reviews
Start your review of The Boot & Shoe
 Click to rate
Millom, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the boot and Shoe again to break up my journey from Skye to the south coast and it remains as friendly and expertly run as always. And the rooms are being updated too - with bright colours and very large and comfortable beds. The place was packed on both stays, yet the service and food was spot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krisg207
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to your return.

Nth Lincolnshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As we arrived at the pub firstly we had to clamber over a very large dog in the bar, nothing against dogs in pubs, but bad manners of the dog owner, who was oblivious to us passing through & made no attempt to move the dog to allow us to pass with our luggage. We were then shown to a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twinNthLincS
BootandShoeInn, Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

I have been waiting for this. As part of our ongoing maintenance program, we were renovating the room that you passed on the way to you room. Yes, dust sheets were on the landing floor which is a very sensible precaution in order to protect it. However, your room was not affected and work was only being carried out in...

York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited The Boot & Shoe at Greystoke purely by accident after being intrigued by the village's name as we travelled through to Ullswater in the Lake District. The pub was lovely, very welcoming and with plenty going on. You can even stay there. We visited for an evening meal midweek and were surprised by how busy it was. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HfamilyYork
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and look forward to your return.

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Generally the public are too keen to complain and not praise. We called into the Boot and Shoe Inn without booking for an evening meal but unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked and we were unable to be accommodated. The manager was very helpful and considerate in trying to locate another venue for us including looking up on the web....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank penyap
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this and hopefully we can accommodate you next time .

Burscough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2017

Popped in after a dog walk for lunch and it was rather yummy!! Very tasty pub food. We were the only people in there and the lady working was very lovely recommending places to visit and where we can take the dogs etc. She even gave the dogs a little treat each. My only tiny critique would be that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KLin2015
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Having booked the week before our trip to the Lakes, we were met by charming waiting staff wearing Boot & Shoe uniform and ready smiles. Drinks from a well-stocked bar (a different local guest beer every time we have visited) were brought to our table along with menus that were lengthened considerably by the 'specials' board. We decided to indulge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we are pleased you enjoyed the Boot and Shoe " experience "and look forward to your return.

Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

This is a reminder of what we are loosing all too much of in the UK - a English Pub at the heart of its community. Nothing is spectacular, but it's all solid. Good food, a good selection of beer, a programme of 'stuff' going on and a warm happy welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R0062
Elgol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

I stayed at the Boot and Shoe purely by chance last weekend and was quite simply blown away by the friendliness of the owners, staff and locals. The place was exceptionally dog friendly and my Springer, Charlie, and myself were made to feel at home within minutes of walking through the door. Fantastically run, superbly staffed and full to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
Alan O, Guest Relations Manager at The Boot & Shoe, responded to this review

Thankyou for you glowing review and we look forward to your return.

Diggle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Our second visit to the Boot and Shoe and our last. We had booked a table for six adults with our three dogs. The pub was very busy as it was Sunday afternoon and there was live music playing. However we had booked a table for 630pm after the music had finished. the landlady advised us of our table which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hayley_capener
Lake District UK
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Not a very good lunch experience. Two of us ordered the soup which was described as "cream of onion". We got a small bowl of tepid milky water with some bits of greenery floating in it. It was so cold I had to send it back. Having had it heated up in the mircowave it was still tasteless and every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graney

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greystoke
7.6 km away
Premier Inn Penrith Hotel
7.4 km away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
962 reviews
3.9 km away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.6 km away
Tebay Services Hotel
Tebay Services Hotel
#2 of 11 in Penrith
643 reviews
6.0 km away
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
Thanet Well Lodge Retreat
#1 of 1 in Greystoke
396 reviews
3.4 km away
Herdwick Inn
Herdwick Inn
#8 of 62 in Penrith
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Greystoke is the orginal birth place of Trazan Lord of the Apes. The Boot and Shoe Inn, Greystoke acquired its name because of the strange sartorial habit of a former Duke of Norfolk wearing a shoe on one foot and a boot on the other to ease the pain of goutOpen all day Free Wi-Fi Warm and friendly come and say hello to Jan and BenDelicious home cooked food using locally sourced ingredientsGreat selection of cask ales and fine winesLog fires and friendly locals...The Boot and Shoe is at the heart of Greystoke Village which is centrally situated between Keswick-Lake Ullswater-Carlisle-(Scottish Borders) and Penrith, 5 miles from M6 motorway and 6 miles from Lake Ullswater. Greystoke is a quiet, historic village but still has may amenities.On the Coast to Coast Cycle routeGreystoke Castle ancestral home of 'Trazan'Large medieval village church.Racing stablesHeated outdoor swimming poolWell stocked village shopChildrens play area ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Boot & Shoe

Address: Greystoke CA11 0TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Greystoke
Price Range: RM458 - RM497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Boot & Shoe 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Boot & Shoe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Boot & Shoe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Cannot comment only one bedroom in use at the time.”
twinNthLincS, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel review is based on a stay a couple of years ago. Things may have changed. This is a pub with rooms rather than a hotel.”
jang88, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We did not stay here”
193PLECKYJIM193, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are fairly equal”
Sprites4, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“ask for one not near the kitchen.”
M8707QOangelal, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5